We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sports facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #5 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great sports facilities”
Reviewed 4 December 2009

The hotel is right in the heart of the capital and a few minutes walk from the Petronas Towers. From the pool area (which is fantastic, accompanied by a jacuzzi) you can see a wondeful view of the KL Tower. Lovelly tennis courts are also on the grounds where we were served ice cold water and ice during our games. This was compliments of the hotel. Amazing service both around the pool and in the rooms. Actual rooms were big, well furnished and clean. On our visit we had the Brazil and Argentina soccer players stayin in the hotel (their five a side teams) .

  • Liked — The swimming pool and service.
  • Disliked — Everthing was more than satisfying
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Leyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,153
    1,367
    352
    77
    49
See reviews for
1,289
3,024
427
1,318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria,
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2009

this is a great hotel if you want to visit the Patronas towers or have a look around Jalan Bintang for the shopping as it is close to a monorail station.The twin towers are an easy walk from the hotel although you will have to brave the traffic to cross the road.The KL tower is also within walking distance.The lift that takes you to the top is very fast so be prepared for your ears to pop!KL is a great city to visit as a stopover as we did as it has enough of interest both in the city and in in the surrounding area to make it worth staying for a few days.If you get the chance to upgrade to the Horizon Club do so but only if the price is right!

Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltalesCumbria_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen Island BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

I have stayed at this great hotel many times - and it is one of my favourites anywhere in the world. Great staff and service, excellent location, superb restaurants and facilities. Beautiful rooms and that real test - fabulously comfortable beds and pillows!

The fitness centre and pool are a first class facility in its own right. The staff are tremendous and extremely helpful, the epitome of service.

All the restaurants are excellent, as is the service in all of them. Highly recommended if you are going to be spending any time in KL.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TA1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We checked into the hotel for 2 nights. We arrived at 8pm or so and check-in was smooth. The hotel then made dinner reservations for us at nearby restaurant (Bijan, Malaysian cuisine highly recommended, we went twice!!).

Later on a midnight stroll I discovered that the iconic Petronas Towers were a short walk away (not worth going up though), another observation tower called Menara Kuala Lumpur was even closer (definitely worth going up as its the 4th tallest tower in the world). A number of night clubs were nearby as well.

The concierge desk were very helpful although the tour company the hotel deals with is not the greatest. Avoid the tour to the Batu Caves (which is worth a 2 hour trip on your own), which consisted of nothing more than providing a car and driver to get there, no guide, nothing. The city tour was quite good though. KL itself isn't exactly a sightseeing paradise overall but there is still lots to see. We missed quite a bit like the world's largest open air aviary all worth a return trip.

On the downside the food inside the hotel wasn't great and also overpriced. The Sunday buffet at Cinnamon restaurant had a great selection with good desserts, but the quality of the main courses was not quite there. We avoided eating in as much as possible. Besides vising the excellent restaurant Bijan another place I could recommend is Enak located near the very happening Starhill Mall.

To get some nice shopping in visit the Central Market which is a covered market inside a heritage building. There's quite a selection of crafts, garments and other knick-knacks. You can easily spend a few hours there. Also, seemed to have a variety of restaurants though we didn't eat there.

Overall, our hotel itself was likely quite expensive. We paid a low corporate rate which made us enjoy its substantial comforts all the more. However, the combination of the city and the hotel will definitely have us coming back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

KL Shangri-la is located on one of the main roads in the business district, so it is centrally located in general, but better for business purposes than say walking outside to do some shopping. The monorail passes by in front of the hotel, but it is about a 5-8 minute walk to the nearest station. Taxis in this city are difficult to take since most drivers refuse to use the meter. Fortunately, this hotel has an on site taxi stand for the dark blue taxis which are nicer, newer, bigger, and use the meter, albeit they are much more expensive than the meters on the regular taxis (which refuse to use the meters anyway).

Hotel building looks quite old and dated from the outside, but the interior looks to have been fully renovated not too long ago. Lobby and public areas are immaculate. Service is excellent overall. The breakfast buffet is delicious and well prepared using quality ingredients, serving continental, American, and Asian foods, including local Malaysian specialties. Servers in the restaurant were very slow to clear used plates, however. Concierge tries to be very helpful, but can be a bit slow, due to waiting.

Rooms are well sized and very comfy, with a large flat panel TV. Internet is complimentary, but speed is not the fastest, perhaps because the usage is logged and possibly monitored (there is a disclaimer at login which warns about this). Beds were very comfortable, firm, but not hard. The only thing wrong with the room was that one of the electrical outletts did not work, and the cover plate was taped on (and kept falling off). Housekeeping was very slow to make up my rooms the first day, not getting to them until late afternoon. The bathrooms are outfitted in marble, and have a spacious shower, but no tub in the standard guest rooms. Toiletries are standard Shangri-la. In room safe is also very large and includes an electric supply inside.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This is the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed in! The room was lovely, the position perfect and the view of the Post Office Tower from our room was great. Try the breakfast...everything you could ever want including curry!! Also the Hard Rock Cafe reallt rocks!!

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. The rooms are modern, impeccably clean and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms are all granite with large, walk in showers. The breakfast buffet is huge - anything you could possibly want and plenty of it. They have a great health club and a lovely pool area where you can see part of the Petronas Towers. I've stayed in other KL hotels and this one is indeed Shangri-La.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,556 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: 11 Jalan Sultan Ismail, Kuala Lumpur 50250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#1 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 662
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur, an award winning 5-Star luxury hotel renowned for its consistent extraordinary customer service, culinary and fine dining experience. Located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's commercial, entertainment and shopping district with easy access to most tourist attractions. The only hotel in KL that sits within beautiful lush gardens offering extensive meetings facilities, large multi-divisible ballroom along with wide variety of guest rooms, 101 suites and a Horizon Club that caters to business/ leisure travellers, MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and socialites. It's an extraordinary place to stay, dine and meet in KL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kuala Lumpur
Shangri La Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing