We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
ParkRoyal Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$248
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westin Kuala Lumpur(Kuala Lumpur)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hotel Istana(Kuala Lumpur)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Furama Bukit Bintang(Kuala Lumpur)(Great Value!)
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7,537)
Filter reviews
7,537 results
Traveller rating
5,541
1,473
379
84
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,541
1,473
379
84
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clublemon gardenarthur's barpetronas towerschocolate fountainlobby loungeour honeymoonupgraded to a suitefantastic hotelbreakfast buffetpool area isfive star hotelclub rooman upgrademonorail stationlate checkbukit bintang
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,252 - 6,257 of 7,537 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon. It was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. I was greeted with flowers on check in and we were upgraded too.
The lobby was very impressive as were the spacious rooms. Everything was very clean and comfortable. But the best thing was the breakfast. The variety was amazing. They even had a chocolate fountain which we made good use of!
We could not find any fault and would definitely recommend the Shangri-La !

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DVS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

... much enough to write our very first Tripadvisor review.

We've been long time readers of Tripadvisor who silently benefit from the resourcefulness of millions of travelers. This hotel turns us from the silent readers / researchers into contributors.

What we are going to say may be an echo of what hundreds of reviewers had already posted, but we're going to say them anyway because this hotel deserves the repeated compliments.

Room (Premier Selection Suite) - impeccable. Recently refurbished. Tastefully decorated. Comfy bed. Not an inch of the room wasn't carefully taken care of. 3 LCDs including 1 good-sized in the bathroom. View out from bedroom is the KLCC twin towers. Spoit with L'occitane toiletries and a plateful of tropical fruits - not only the standard apples and oranges also mango, plum and pear. Has everything we expect in a hotel room, and more - from free internet to printer, walk-in wardrobe, safe big enough to fit laptop, scissors, staples, paper clips, hair bands (trivial eh, but this thoughtfulness certainly exceeded our expectations).

Cleanliness - spotless.

Location - good. Probably a 5 to 10-minute walk to the most happening stretch of Jalan Bukit Bintang where Pavillion, Starhill, Lot 10, Sungai Wang, Lowyat Plaza are. Hardrock cafe is right across the street. Free shuttle service to the Bukit Bintang road, KLCC and Midvalley Megamall.

Breakfast - we ate at the Lemon Garden Cafe (even though cocktail we had at the Horizon Club the evening before was amazing) as we wanted variety and bigger buffet spread. Lemon Garden offered the biggest ever spread we've seen. Taste and presentation were top notch. Only minor gripe is it was very crowded, the gap between our table and our neighbor's was about 10 cm.

Service - this is the most valuable edge Shangri-la KL has. Everyone was polite, humble and extremely helpful. The front office manager, Christian Wolny, went the extra mile and made our wedding anniversary especially memorable.

We used to favour different hotels for different reasons - Four Seasons for its bed and toiletries, Hilton for its breakfast. Now, Shangri-la (assuming all Shangri-las are as good as its KL benchmark) is the all-in-one deal for us.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank uiopqwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

This hotel is designed on a grand scale. The entrance is sweeping, the vast lobby set off by indoor water feature and monumental flower arrangements, and the main lounge spacious enough for the house band to be unobtrusive. It is luxurious and efficient, awe-inspiring yet, suprisingly, not overwhelming. Service is efficient, with business facilities for guests open (and staffed!) unti 2300h. There is fantastic attention to detail - such as the bedroom night light which illuminates your path to the bathroom but at low level so as not to crash you into wake up mode. While I was there the swimming pool was closed in the afternoon (in preparation for a private party that evening) so I was escorted to an alternative facility. Where staff were happy to bring me something that wasn't on the menu, but was just what I wanted. The next day I was in the main pool, and as dusk fell both the pool itself and the Petronas towers were lit up. A memorable moment. All the staff I encountered, from chambermaids to night porters, connected with me as their guest, not just another booking. And that engagment, at a human level, is what makes this not just a grand, but a great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertHerring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Stayed in Shangri la Kuala Lumpur for 3 nights during Christmas for a family holiday and loved the place.

Their service was excellent, great property, excellent location. Just 5 min walk from twin towers, tHE pAVILLION shOPPING mALL and all other major shopping centers.

Breakfast was good, varied options for every one. Everything about the hotel was good and next time we are in KL, this is where we are going to stay without a doubt

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank styledestino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

I'm so thrilled to be able to stay at this Shangri-la hotel i wouldn't wait and i'm writing this review whilst still staying here. Out of all my hotels stays (amongst the 5 star hotels) in 2009, this hotel tops the list. I can't sing more than enough praise about this hotel because it has just made my stay in KL so pleasant.

The staff are friendly - and you will notice this as soon as you step out of your limo/taxi at the lobby - you're greeted with smiles and warm welcomes. Everytime you walk into the lobby - the numerous staff stationed across the floor will smile and greet you - or at least give you a nod of acknowledgment as you're a welcomed patron of the hotel.

The highlight of this hotel is the buffet breakfast! It is the most amazing selection of international breakfast options. You will be astounded by the splendid array of food offerings they have in the morning. I agree with all the other reviews below, and the breakfast is amazing! Likewise, the dinner buffet has a similarly satisfying selection. I loved it.

Again - the customer service of the waiters was impeccable.

Value - this shangrila - probably is the best value 5 star hotel out there giving you 6 star service! Although this stay is on expense account - i took a look at their website and they've got very reasonable rates.

I highly recommend this hotel. You wont be dissapointed. Every aspect of this hotel and my experience staying here has exceeded expectations. Well done to the managment at KL.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgossip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews