We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starting to look its age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #16 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Starting to look its age”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. Hotel is conveniently located across the KLIA Express which links KL city with the International airport. Will be a good location if here for a conference or just meetings. However, not much to do here and there's a lack of good quality restaurants (unless you fancy having all your meals in the hotels). For better shopping and food, you may want to take a short taxi ride to the nearby Mid Valley Shopping Center.

Rooms looked great when I stayed here a couple of years back but had since deteriorated quite a lot. Looked at Hilton which was connected and it definitely look much better with a nice lobby and more spacious rooms..

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErWei001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear ErWei001,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying with us again. Besides the Hotel restaurant, which we have 3 of them, Level 5 with Latest Receipe and its incredible buffet with 5 live cuisine stations, Prime, awarded Best Steak House in KL and on Level 8, Favola, Italian restaurant. On a walking distance, 10 to 15 min there is actually quite a number of restaurants around Brickfields / Little India area. We are in the process of reviewing the new room concept and I believe that when this is completed the rooms will have a more modern and current feel. In saying that, our focus is to also ensure that the rooms remain high quality and clean and work diligently to ensure that this remains the case.

Again, thank you for staying with us and for the feedback as we hope to welcome you again for a third time.

Warm regards,

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    1,057
    277
    72
    41
See reviews for
440
654
325
859
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Great rooms, service and location. Nice place and easy to get about from here without issue. Not ideal holiday hotel but fantastic business hotel.

Next to KL Sentral station which makes life very easy for people to get about. Good food around as well, the hotel itself has many restaurants and is connect to the Hilton which offers even more. Both has amazing spreads!

Room Tip: Learn the train system and your set, can avoid all the kl traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thivanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Being situated within walking distance to the KL Sentral transportation hub, would mean that easy in and out to anywhere in the city. Apart from the KLIA Express train direct to the airport, there is also the LRT (subway) serving neabry locations in the city. And plenty of taxi at anytime of the day, transportation would NEVER be an issue.

Service wise, it is not bad. When I checked in at 4 pm, all the counters were occupied, and they directed me to the SPG check-in counter, which handled my reservation well. As the room is not ready at that time, so they invited me to the club lounge on Lv 33. I declined that as I need to rush for a meeting. I just left my luggage with them, and later at night when I got into the room, the luggage was not there yet, I was about to call them, and someone knocked the door, and the luggage was finally here.

Later in the evening, we visited the club lounge to have some discussion, I am surprised that they can even remember my name already then, just 3 hours after the check-in.

The room, I got a suite, is pretty big, with a big washroom as well. Can feel that some of the furnitures is aging, but I guess this is a pretty common thing in the hotel. All the things in the room is really squeaky-clean, can see no dust at all. TV is big, I think it is around 46 inch to 50 inch, but the channels are limited, just around 20 channels. But at least they have some sports channel and NatGeo, which is my favourite. The bed is a bit small to call a king size bed, but hopefully, I am only staying alone. And the bed is quite hard. The air-cond can get pretty cold in the morning, so it's better to switch the coldness level before we sleep. Total of 6 bottles of waters is given daily, which is just nice for average personal consumption. Definitely more is needed if we are traveling in groups.

City view is limited due to construction of new buildings right beside the hotel, plenty of new buildings construction is going on around here. We can still catch a glimpse of famous KLCC somehow.

Breakfast spread in Latest Recipe is quite extensive, comparable to the one I had in Shangri-La. Feeling hungry any time of day? There is a 24 hours fast food restaurant right in the KL Sentral hub, and if one is willing to explore further (and walk further), opposite the KL Sentral, nearby the KL Monorail station, there are plenty of food choices too.

Room Tip: Getting a room facing KLCC if possible, though its quite far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kons168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear kons168,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for your detailed review on the service and products of the hotel. We have tried to ensure that our Food and Beverage venues provide a great option for most people and work on keeping this current all the time. In terms of the suite, access to the Club level is definitely an added advantage Thank you for taking the time to share and we will look into the air conditioning challenge (would appreciate if you can private message me the room number you stayed).

Looking forward to welcoming you back

Warm regards,

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Location is convenient, easily accessed via the trains from KLIA. M comments and ratings are based on past Meridien experiences - Plush and luxurious rooms. I've also stayed at Hilton next door and there is really a big difference. The Meridin feels old and tired, and totally out of sync with the brand-name. Go stay Hilton KL.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mozii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear mozii,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and appreciate the feedback, We are in the process of planning our rooms upgrade to be more in line with the direction that the Le Merdiein Barn has moved towards in the last few years and I believe that when this is completed the rooms will have a more modern and current feel. In saying that, our focus is to also ensure that the rooms remain high quality and clean and work diligently to ensure that this remains the case.

Warm regards,

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore River, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Spent 2 nights at the hotel.

- Spacious room with big bathroom. Separate bath area and bathtub
- Comfortable bed
- Huge LCD TV with nice channels.
- Just across the street from KL Sentral and 1 train stop away from Mid Valley
- Breakfast spread was awesome.
- Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerenceLeeWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear TerenceLeeWX,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for the great feedback and hope that you continue to come back to LMKL when in KL

Warm regards,

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Fast , efficient and friendly at check in allows one to explore the hotel and its surrounds.
Being located in the centre of transportation lines helps one gets to destination with much ease, especially the direct service between hotel and the airport in less than 30 minutes.
Clean and comfortable beds with a throwback to the earlier years in the bathroom, with floor to ceiling views is what you can expect in the bedrooms.
Being a member of SPG programme afforded me an upgrade to the next tier of rooms. That was a plus. Will probably return and visit the soon to be completed Aloft hotel located nearby and the shopping mall that accompanies this new locale.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks a park that lights up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Mei H,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur!

Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. I have to agree that the transportation lines available to us at KL Sentral are indeed very convenient. I’m also glad to read that you would be returning to try out our sister property in the future.

Warm regards,

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I had a great weekend stay away with my wife. The hotel is in a good location, lobby is nice and clean.

The room is pretty clean, bathroom is slightly small and no separate shower room, as well bathtub is pretty small. I was surprised by the number of amenities provided by the hotel, which is great as they provide welcome cookies, chocolate and they also provide plenty of water bottles which is nice for a change. As well, dont forget the 2 complimentary coffee that you can enjoy in the lobby, you have to use them before you check out though.

The swimming pool is extremely nice and pretty large, the only let down was my wife dropped her watch in the pool and asked for one of the staff if they can help her, but to the disappointing reply was "it was dropped on Hilton side of the pool, so it was not their responsibility" I think regardless which pool it dropped in both hotel team should help with the guests wherever they are from.

We had in room dining for dinner and breakfast, the service team was very hospitable, fast and friendly. Food was great, excellent temperature was kept, as well as amenities.

All and all, will return again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienKL, General Manager at Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear agoen,

Greetings from Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur!

I’m glad you and your wife had a wonderful time with us. Despite the good all around review, I’m left disappointed at the response you received when looking for assistance after your wife dropped her watch into the pool. I totally agree that both sides should work together to assist guests. I will look into this personally to ensure a situation like this does not happen again. Staying in KL Sentral on the weekend is a great way to rest , just relax and enjoy our pool

I’m glad to read that you will return. Until we meet again, thank you.

Warm regards,

Harvey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#15 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,026 reviews
2.3 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur

Property: Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Address: No.2 Jalan Stesen Sentral | Sentral Stesen, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#14 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#15 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#16 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded by Expatriate Lifestyle Magazine with 2013 Best Business Hotel Excellence Award, Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur is the ultimate place for indulgence whenever one visits Malaysia. Strategically located at the Kuala Lumpur Sentral precinct, the business and transportation hub adjacent to Kuala Lumpur city centre, the hotel is easily accessible through a network of integrated rail connections. The Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA) and KLIA2 are just 28 minutes and 33 minutes from the Hotel via the KLIA Express. The integrated Nu Sentral Mall allows guests the opportunity to discover retail therapy before commuting to the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing