We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“InterContinental Kuala Lumpur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“InterContinental Kuala Lumpur”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

good location, close to the twin towers and the convention centre, just few minutes walk., rooms are spacious, good food and beverages. good concierge in general but notebly is not the best. spa is average. average breakfast menu. bad service at peak time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, HotelStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Saif A,

We are pleased to know that you had a great stay and a great time with us. As we continue to strive for excellence and create a memorable stay for our guests, we hope to garner your continuous support and we wish to see you again on your next visit. The issue you mentioned with our service during peak time have been brought up to the front office department as we value your feedback and thank you very much for your patronage.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,386
    887
    212
    58
    46
See reviews for
466
566
179
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. The best deal is the restruarant at the ground floor. The array of choice food for breakfast and lunch is just amazing! Get ready to indulge.
Hotel has shuttle bus to KLCC, pavillion, bukit bintang etc. Though the bus is very small compared to the hotel size/guests. Pool was under renovation at time of visit.
Concierge was ok except not happy he could not find my boy's pyjamas we forgot in one of the connecting rooms when we checked out. We moved to another apartment in KL and went back to the hotel 2days later to check if they could find the pyj. He couldn't after checking with the house keeping... No qualms but he made me wait for almost one hour and was asking me the room number, check out day, missing item detail every now and then. At the end no pyj and the almost one hour wait seemed like eternity....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Babadee,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience with us. It is indeed pleasing to hear that you had a wonderful time at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur and you were very satisfied with your dining experience here. We are very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service and have taken your case up to the Front Office. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is very near the Petrona Towers. Obviously the towers are a "must see" but also when you go exploring in KL it is difficult to get lost. The room we had was amazing. The staff was excellent. The buffet in the morning was the best buffet I have ever had in my entire life. This is an upscale property. If you want luxury, this is the hotel that you want. It was easy to get to the Batu Caves also.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szatanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, GuestStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear szatanek,

Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur! Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Big Room which provides slippers, toothbrushs, toothpastes....

Good location ~ just a few minutes to LRT station and just 3 stations to Dang Wangi & u can get change to take monorail. And u can go to Peronas Twin Tower and Suria KLCC by walk.

The only unsatisfactory is that I can hear the sound from the neighbour room at nite .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eat-eat-play-play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear eat-eat-play-play,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedbacks on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and your stay in our beautifully furnished and spacious rooms. We are also delighted that you are pleased by the services provided by our wonderful hotel team. This is how it is supposed to be when staying at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur. We strive to provide each of our guests with authentic and memorable stay experience through our friendly and helpful service team.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Another great Intercontinental hotel in a great location. Walking distance to KLCC and Petronas towers. Great upgrade as an Ambassador to a suite. Great size and facilities. Club floor was good with a good selection at breakfast and evening drinks. Main Restaurant busy and average quality. Japanese restaurant was very enjoyable. Staff overall friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane-Bruce-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Jane-Bruce-P,

We are very happy to read your review on your recent stay with us at the hotel. We are pleased to know our hotel's prime location and facilities was to your expectations. We look forward to servicing your travel needs at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur should you return to the Kuala Lumpur area.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Loved staying in the Intercontinental in Kuala Lumpur. Staff was super friendly and very professional and always ready to cater to our every need.

The breakfast buffet is a real treat. We stayed for seven nights in the hotel and I never succeeded to taste it all. It was copious. I loved it.

Our room was very clean and spacious, with bath robe and slippers provided. The view wasn't that much, but the room itself was beautiful with a king size bed.

Location of the hotel is fine, just a ten minutes walk from KLCC and the Petronas Towers and metro.

The complimentary internet connection on the other hand is dreadfully slow. I just can't find this acceptable for a business hotel, especially not since the main goal of our stay was a security IT conference. We paid extra for faster internet, but even with the faster internet it just wasn't possible to upload pictures to flickr. Dreadful.

One small complaint: the prosecco I ordered at the pool had no bubbles whatsoever. I should have sent the glass back, especially since I had to wait a while before the glass arrived, but didn't bother. A shame though, because the rest of the food and drinks in the hotel are absolutely delicious. I can recommend Japanese restaurant Tatsu which serves very good food and the buffet restaurant is also very nice if you like tasting lots of different courses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolienBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear CarolienBAC,

We appreciate your feedback regarding the speed of our wireless internet service. We apologize that it did not work well during your stay. The problems you mentioned with our internet speed have been addressed to the respective department. We understand that you were disappointed with your prosecco, we have brought your comments to our culinary team. Your patronage and support to the hotel are very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a much needed break and enjoyed the hospitality. Staff were very helpful, friendly and polite. The room we occupied on the smoking floor was spacious and the housekeeping was excellent. The food was of excellent quality but a bit pricey for the buffet. Breakfast was included and offered a great selection that would satisfy any nationality. All in all we have enjoyed the stay in a central location. We would recommend this hotel to any traveller including families, Thank you so much.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank QueenNef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear belly-dancer13,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Hope to see you return in the near future. Safe travels…

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
7,097 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,696 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
4,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing