We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Parkes, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Ecellent location 10 minute walk to the towers 3minute walk to the train station 15 ringit ($4) taxi ride to hard rock cafe and various night clubs..Well equipped gym good sized pool.Deluxe room were very nice and spacious. staff were extremely helpfull,breakfast had an array of Malaysian food and western food.we spent 7 nights here and the only thing i could fault was the downstairs bar in the lobby charged 44 ringitts($15) for a pint of Tiger beer and bentleys bar 40 metres up stairs was charging 25 ringits ($9) for the same all in all a great place to stay if you are ever in KL

Room Tip: We stayed on the 12 floor rooms were very spacious and had no problems..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, HotelStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Mike L,

We are very happy to read your review on your recent stay with us at the hotel. We are pleased to know our hotel's prime location and facilities was to your expectations. We look forward to servicing your travel needs at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur should you return to the Kuala Lumpur area.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    886
    211
    58
    46
See reviews for
464
565
179
741
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Myself and my two friends did a girls trip to kl for 3 nights, this hotel is top of the range and absolutely stunning, the staff are excellent and one day while we lay by the pool a thunderstorm came out of nowhere and the staff were straight over covering us with umbrellas and escorting us to shelter. Top class service, rooms are A+ definitely one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, excellent city centre location. Would definitely recommend this hotel. I will be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Niamh3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, HotelStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the amenities of the property to your liking. Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

good location, close to the twin towers and the convention centre, just few minutes walk., rooms are spacious, good food and beverages. good concierge in general but notebly is not the best. spa is average. average breakfast menu. bad service at peak time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saif A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, HotelStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Saif A,

We are pleased to know that you had a great stay and a great time with us. As we continue to strive for excellence and create a memorable stay for our guests, we hope to garner your continuous support and we wish to see you again on your next visit. The issue you mentioned with our service during peak time have been brought up to the front office department as we value your feedback and thank you very much for your patronage.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights. The best deal is the restruarant at the ground floor. The array of choice food for breakfast and lunch is just amazing! Get ready to indulge.
Hotel has shuttle bus to KLCC, pavillion, bukit bintang etc. Though the bus is very small compared to the hotel size/guests. Pool was under renovation at time of visit.
Concierge was ok except not happy he could not find my boy's pyjamas we forgot in one of the connecting rooms when we checked out. We moved to another apartment in KL and went back to the hotel 2days later to check if they could find the pyj. He couldn't after checking with the house keeping... No qualms but he made me wait for almost one hour and was asking me the room number, check out day, missing item detail every now and then. At the end no pyj and the almost one hour wait seemed like eternity....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Babadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Babadee,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay experience with us. It is indeed pleasing to hear that you had a wonderful time at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur and you were very satisfied with your dining experience here. We are very sorry you experienced an undesirable level of customer service and have taken your case up to the Front Office. Once again, thank you very much for your feedback. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elko, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This hotel is very near the Petrona Towers. Obviously the towers are a "must see" but also when you go exploring in KL it is difficult to get lost. The room we had was amazing. The staff was excellent. The buffet in the morning was the best buffet I have ever had in my entire life. This is an upscale property. If you want luxury, this is the hotel that you want. It was easy to get to the Batu Caves also.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szatanek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, GuestStaff at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear szatanek,

Thanks for your gracious comments about your recent stay at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur! Hope to see you return again soon. Safe travels.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Big Room which provides slippers, toothbrushs, toothpastes....

Good location ~ just a few minutes to LRT station and just 3 stations to Dang Wangi & u can get change to take monorail. And u can go to Peronas Twin Tower and Suria KLCC by walk.

The only unsatisfactory is that I can hear the sound from the neighbour room at nite .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eat-eat-play-play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear eat-eat-play-play,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedbacks on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and your stay in our beautifully furnished and spacious rooms. We are also delighted that you are pleased by the services provided by our wonderful hotel team. This is how it is supposed to be when staying at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur. We strive to provide each of our guests with authentic and memorable stay experience through our friendly and helpful service team.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Another great Intercontinental hotel in a great location. Walking distance to KLCC and Petronas towers. Great upgrade as an Ambassador to a suite. Great size and facilities. Club floor was good with a good selection at breakfast and evening drinks. Main Restaurant busy and average quality. Japanese restaurant was very enjoyable. Staff overall friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane-Bruce-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Hotel Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Jane-Bruce-P,

We are very happy to read your review on your recent stay with us at the hotel. We are pleased to know our hotel's prime location and facilities was to your expectations. We look forward to servicing your travel needs at the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur should you return to the Kuala Lumpur area.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
7,081 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,679 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
4,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Property: InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#7 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing