We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #11 of 355 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was recently on a business visit to Malaysia and stayed in Intercontinental Kualalampur. The hotel is located at the city center. Eating joints, taxis, public transport is easily available. Service was prompt and good. it was was a very comfortable stay. Most recommended.

What I did not like is the breakfast served, it was the same for all days. I would suggest the hotel management to look into this part.

Other wise it deserves a 5 rating, except for the breakfast part.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vishu_82_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IC_KualaLumpur, General Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Vishu_82_85,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us your feedback. We'll definitely be taking your comments on the breakfast variety seriously. It is through our guest feedback that we can further improve to serve our guests better.

Best wishes,
Phil Riley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,788)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 2,788 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Overall, the hotel can be recommended, - a typical Interconti!

The rooms are large, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is in good shape. Most of the service personal is friendly and works professional. I arrived in the mid of the night, got a warm welcome and the check in was done within a minute or 2.

The things, which spoiled my stay:

- The "gate keeper" at the breakfast restaurant appears unfriendly and aggressive. Roughly 20 people were waiting for their breakfast, he refused to let them in, for what reason ever (max 50 % of the tables were occupied). After he noted my room number, he did not want to allow me to join the table with my friend, who was already sitting there - no idea, what was wrong with this guy, seems, he was new in this position.

- I did not put my clothes in the drawer in my room; all of them were simply dirty.

- I stayed until around 4 in the afternoon, but checked out in the morning. The hotel took care of my luggage (no problem), but when I wanted to change before starting to the airport, the only location they offered was a small room at the pool - none AC, several stairs - no fun to walk there. I changed at the airport; the restroom there was more enjoyable!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vor N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Vor N,

Thanks for staying with us and leaving us your feedback. We apologise for your less than satisfactory experience during breakfast. We will look into this matter to ensure there is no repetition. Hope to see you soon!

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hotel is located near to twin tower/klcc. From outside it doesn't look like a hotel and it may be over looked with all the tall building surround it. Inside, more of modern design. The room was rather relatively spacious with all the necessary equipment.
The breakfast is really recommendable with variety of meals.
One thing that deserved compliment is the customer service it provide especially at the reception and the concierge.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Nik71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Nik71,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us your comments. We're glad to read you found our room spacious and the equipment adequate. We will definitely forward your comments to the reception and concierge team as we're sure they will be delighted to read your comments.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Really good hotel! the room was huge and cozy. Location was also very centrally located.

Petronas Twin towers and Suriya Mall was a short walk.

We took a HOHO bus from front of the Hotel which took us to all the good touristy spots.

Breakfast was excellent. Dinner was expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear s4n48,

Thank you for the short and excellent review. We couldn't have said it better! Hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We lived in a premier room on the 17th floor. room was ok with ordinary facilities. No surprise for the room at all. The house-keeping service was substandard. Rubbish was not cleared away and they just simply double-folded a large blanket and put it inside a single blanket. The blanket was then very thick and I was very hot. I was shocked about this stupid action. I called the house-keeping to change it at 11pm and they came at a hour later after I informed the duty manager about the issue. This kind of service should not be found in a InterCon hotel and i was quite disappointed about it. The toilet bowl in the room could not flush well even I asked for a few times of repairment. The lights in the bathroom is out of order upon my arrival. The bathroom was old and simple. The room is not too good.

The breakfast is the best thing about the hotel, it offered a large variety of food, including Indian roti, local Malaysian food, etc. You may have freshly-squeezed fruit juice. The food was fresh but the restaurant was a bit crowded with people.

The pool was large among the nearby hotel, the pool-side service was fine. We were treated fruits everytime when we arrive the pool. The pool was wide, it would be better to have a great view of the patronas towers.

The hotel is located at the Ampang area, where 10 mins are required to KLCC by walking. It was good that there was a complimentary shuttle service to KLCC and the Pavilion every hour.

Generally speaking, this is a very good hotel with a few points can be imroved such as room matainence and house-keeping.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Mr T,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your comments as we look to further improve on our product and services.

Best wishes
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Well the InterContinental Kuala Lumpur has quite nice rooms and great food and it is in a close proximity to the twin towers. The hotel really looks like the Nikko (the previous operator of this hotel) but with several face lifts making it more modern. Even though I had enjoyed my stay, it didn't really meet my expectations for an InterContinental. The staff are quite helpful, especially the nice concierge. It's quite far away from Bukit Bintang and the famous Jalan Alor. I wasn't really pleasantly surprised when I realised that only pencils were provided for the stationery at this 5 star hotel.

Stayed here at December 2011

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear raymondhong,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving us your feedback. We regret to read that your stay with us was not up to expectations and we apologise for that. As we strive to improve, we hope that you will return in the future and give us another opportunity.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here between 26 Feb- 3 March 2014 and couldn't find anything wrong with this hotel. Location next to Ampang Park MRT is ideal if you don't want to walk anywhere. If you do the KLCC is about 10 Mins away, the Pavilion Mall around 20 mins and Bukit Bintang/Jalan Alor 25 mins Rooms are big and clean. Only had breakfast there and everyday that was excellent with plenty of choices. The staff I encountered where friendly, helpfull and well turned out

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christopher W, Manager at InterContinental Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Jerry H,

Thank you for your comments. We're glad to read how we met your expectations. Do come back the next time you're in Kuala Lumpur, it would be a pleasure to be of service to you again.

Best wishes,
Christopher Wichlan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#7 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
10,224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
7,462 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
4,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#3 of 355 in Kuala Lumpur
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Kuala Lumpur

Address: 165 Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#8 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#11 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £91 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 473
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in the heart of Malaysia, InterContinental Kuala Lumpur offers one of the most sought after locations in the city, making it an ideal urban retreat for both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is just steps away from the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre and within walking distance to countless other shopping and entertainment activities. Choose to work in comfort or luxury in the 473 spaciously designed rooms, including 110 newly renovated Grand Premier Rooms that feature modern, earth tone furnishings and state-of-the-art enhancements. Wine and dine in style with a selection of restaurants including the award-wining Tatsu Japanese Restaurant, Tao Chinese Cuisine, Serena Brasserie, OneSixFive and Bentley's Pub. InterContinental Kuala Lumpur also boasts eight meeting rooms and two conference venues to host memorable events from an intimate group of 20 or a large conference of 600 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Nikko Hotel
Nikko Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing