We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect for sight seeing”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #42 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We really couldn't fault the Melia. We had a 12th floor room which was spacious, modern,well equipped and with a large, comfortable (firm) bed. Excellent location by the monorail, and only a few minutes walk to a host of cafés. hawker food locations, bars, malls. Unlike some other reviewers we found the buffet breakfast to be perfect - better than just about anywhere else we have stayed! There was great range of fresh fruits, freshly baked breads and pastries, an excellent egg cook, juices, local dishes, just about everything you could ask for. Of course there is no "real" bacon, but that's not unreasonable given the culture and chicken bacon is too bad! We didn't need to use the internet (and there are plenty of hot spots around KL) though it did look expensive. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main city road, so be prepared for some early morning traffic noise, but no worse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABsChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,468 - 1,474 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed here for one night, can't fault the staff, such friendly service and couldn't be more helpful. Great location for exploring and lots of places nearby to eat or shop. Room was clean, large, modern and well appointed with everything you would hope for. Breakfast was gorgeous, wide selection and lovely coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Good: locación, price, facilities. Next to monorail station and across the road to one of the biggest shopping centers in KL . 

Bad: dated rooms, had to move 3 times to get something acceptable, do not get a room in levels 1 and 2 as they are very old and they do not have a safe. 

Ugly: Internet cost at R58 a day! which is almost half the price of a room. Also no free Internet in lobby, costing R10 for 45 min at the bar.. Oh! and smoking is allowed in the piano bar.  
They also label all drinks in the mini bar, so you cannot drink one and think you can replace it the next day. How desperate really!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Albertito65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

For our first stay in Kuala Lumpur we were extremely impressed by this hotel. Location is excellent, opposite the Berjara Times Square which will cater to your every need with its 9 floors, cinema, mini themepark, shops and eateries galore. It is barely a 10 mins walk to the 'action' centre and is directly outside the monorail station. There is a starbucks next door and opposite, and a Krispy Kreme also which does a breakfast special of a coffee and 2 doughnuts for 5.5RM (just over £1)....... Unbelievable. The prices throughout KL (apart from starbucks) are very cheap.

The rooms were large, clean and of excellent quality. It has a nice swimming pool and a great gym with all the latest equipment which we used during our stay. The beds were extremely comfortable.

The service was fantastic as we arrived very tired from an overnight flight and we were able to check in at 8:30am which was massively appreciated. We were also given two welcome drinks in the hotel bar.

Getting to and from the airport is fairly straight forward given that KL central is around an hour from the airport. We caught the direct bus from the LCCT (low cost carrier terminal) for 9RM to KL Sentral and then the monorail 5 stops to the hotel which was 1.2RM each. Takes about an hour and a half in total.......but not bad for around £2 each.

Apart from the Petronas Towers which we walked to in around 20mins and the numerous new shopping malls there is not a great deal to do in KL. We however were grateful to have chosen such a great hotel. We would return here and recommend to others especially at the price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sazkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel is well located in the heart of Kuala lumpur.It has easy access to most shopping complexes and hawker style eating places. The shopping is good but one has to see that there is value for money before purchasing.
The Low Yat Plaza will be the place to go for most of your modern life style requirements like ipad, iphone, computers and any other electronics requirements.
Public transport is also a thing to try out as the overhead rail transport may be the way to go to see more places of interest.

Room Tip: Non smoking floor with room at higher floors to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DURIAN10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice before - both times with different groups of people, but this last time with family members - 8 in all. We booked October 2011 for 3 nights in early July and again 2 weeks later, for one night. We also requested to be accommodated on the same floor if possible as we had younger family members accompanying us. The greeting on arrival is pleasant and the staff in general are always cheerful. The check in was quite slow and the girl seemed to be unsure about procedures with multiple guests (family) booking in on the same reservation number. We had booked 2 King Bedrooms and 2 Twin rooms for the younger members. We were informed that we would be getting 1 King and 3 Twin rooms and not all on the same floor. That was not off to a good start. We advised that we would be returning a fortnight later and again requested to be on the same floor. There are 4 lifts and 2 were not working for the first 2 days (school holidays - so a very busy time) and with people checking in and out, having their luggage in the lifts left little room for people just needing to get up or down to their floors. On day one after waiting 10minutes, we, and an unknown huge group of guests elected to take the fire escape, which eventually leads you through the kitchen to get back to the lobby. At breakfast the next morning, there was little thought given for parties bigger than 4, so younger members at one end of the restaurant and parents at the other, although the service could not be faulted. We found we had to be there by 8.30am to be accommodated. Food was hugely disappointing, compared to when I was last there in 2009. Not as good a range, most hot foods were just lukewarm and not plentiful, with people waiting for them to be replenished. When juices and fruit ran out, you had to look for someone to ask if there was more. On the upside, the location is fantastic with Berjaya Times Square shopping mall across the road and the monorail at the front door. The hotel arranged transfers for us from LCCT and that was 180Rm each way - divided by 8 is pretty cheap and without the hassels of the Airbus and taxis. I would not choose to stay at this hotel again unless I am sure that at least the restaurant had improved with the variety and quantity of food offered to it's guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Used to stay in this hotel many years ago and just recently revisited Melia. It has been refurbished so the rooms look very new, clean and roomy. Great entertainment system with options for purchase of streaming movies. The buffet breakfast has a wide selection. The service is good. No complimentary mineral water though although coffee and tea bags are available

The location is great,opposite Times Square and behind Bukit Bintang Mall and Low Yat. So food wise and shopping, you have all the conveniences. The monorail station is almost in front of the hotel so you can avoid using the thieving taxis who try to avoid using the meters.

The main drawback I feel is the costly Internet > RM 50 per 24 hours and even then I had issues with performance and intermittent failure. I think with smaller hotels now offering free wifi, this is an added cost which is unreasonable especially with business travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realfatfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#55 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,175 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £50 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing