We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location...plus Good Club Set up”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #43 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Biased we may be. Trip 7, more booked. All in The Level...battling to find better Club Room value, with the position to shopping, transport (Imbi Monorail literally outside the door) and eating. Yes, we are all aware it is getting dated...but, upgrades are planned.
The Club facilities offer either brekky in the Club or the the recently renovated "Kitchen". Tried both, and more than satisfied. Plus 2 hours of drinks and finger food, with views of the city. Designated Check in on the 18th Floor...and delightful staff led by Anna.
The rooms are clean and tidy, and beds are very good. Choice of pillows, plus Non Smoking rooms...fabulous. The bathrooms are a tad tired...but, we have never had cold water, or supply issues. Personally...it's top value...and we have always been treated respectfully and as valued clients. And if you are in the hotel much longer than eating, drinking or sleeping...you aren't shopping hard enough!!!

Room Tip: Try the Club Room and the asscociated facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Gary D,

Thank you for have chosen us!

Glad to know that our Level Team has provided you with the good service and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Greatly appreciate on the great feedback. =)

On this note, I am pleased to share that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation in the near future - unfortunately we are unable to let you know the date and hope you understand.

Thank you for supporting us and will certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia Kuala Lumpur.

Regards and be well
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,194 - 1,200 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Awful stay from check in onwards!!!
Firstly I never leave negative reviews for hotels anywhere but in this case I think I need to let other families know what to expect from the Melia. Firstly we were kept waiting at check in for 30 mins with a tired small child while they told me they didnt have a room for me and tried to find me a room (same story to the people next to me trying to check in) they then apologised as could only find a room on a lower floor, I gratefully accepted not realising this meant super noisy room right on the traffic and monorail line, after being kept awake the whole night by traffic noise and with a grumpy 4 year old not able to sleep I asked to be moved to a new quieter room, I had called at 3am to advise them, also spoke to the manager at 6 and 8am, 12pm it took them until 2pm that afternoon for them to find us a room. They also had us move all of our luggage out into the hallway and wait there while the cleaned our first room so they could check someone else into it.

Eventually they gave us another room and I was very grateful until rain started coming in the closed windows and wind whistling straight through them as they are not sealed so nearly as noisy as the first but slightly better. This second room was also right next to the lift well so really noisy with people coming and going at all hours.

So our first night in the second room after having been awake for 36 hours straight we thought we'd take the easy option and ordered room service was told 20 mins it arrived an hour later and was only half the order 2 more phone calls and we had our meals.

The following morning water started dripping (a lot of water) out of the light fittings it took 2 phone calls and a visit to reception to get it fixed (the lift broke on the way to tell reception).

I have stayed in thousands of hotels and if this was a budget hotel then I would excuse it and expect its downfalls but it is not. The rooms are dated which you can deal with if the hotel is quiet or otherwise makes up for it but in this case it doesnt. The enamel in the bathtubs is all cracked off, half the lights werent working. Stay at the Melia if you are paying $50 a night for it DO NOT stay here for the 100+ a night we were paying. I ended up leaving the hotel after 3 nights despite having paid for 6, my 4 year old was crying asking if we could leave. It really was awful. :( Please dont waste your money there are many better options in KL.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheWanderingMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear mumandone,


First of all we would like yo thank you for staying with us and for giving us your feedback. Feedback is essential for the hotel to improve our services and facilities.

Regarding the check-in procedure, we would like to apologize for the inconvience. However we have to inform you that we run on high occupancy which means the rooms are not always ready for check-in due to our cleaning process. This does not mean we try our very best to find a room for you which is available. Besides that, I would like to inform you that our room moves are always in the afternoon, due to our cleaning process.

On this note, we would like to apologize as well on our roomservice and the bad quality of the light equipment. This is not our standard and I will personally take note on this matter and discuss this with our Kitchen and enineering staff.

We are pleased to share that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation in the near future which will help us better cater to the changing needs of our discerning guests and allow us to stay competitive against new hotels - unfortunately we are unable to let you know the date and hope you understand.

Last but not least, we would like to apologize for not being able to meet your expectations. Hoping that the inconveniences that you may have experienced during your lasty stay do not change your mind to stay again with us.


Regards and be well,

Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I spent one night at this hotel and it's an average hotel to stay a few days on business for example.The location is good next to some shopping centres,service was ok but not breakfast which was poor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Filston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Filston,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback on your recent stay with us. Customer feedback is essential to the hotel, ensuring the hotel team can continually improve hotel services and offerings.

With regards to your comment on our buffet breakfast, we will review your feedback with our Executive Chef so that we could improved more in the future

Last but not least, The team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards and be well
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for 6 nights in October, lucky enough to stay in the club room, the room was large however the bathroom quite small and a little dated but not a problem.
The club room was very good, food good and the selection of drinks was more than enough.
The staff in the club room were excellent, would help you with any problems and nothing was a problem.
Overall all the staff at this hotel were very helpful and very friendly.
The location is great, opposite the very large times square shopping centre with many centres just a 5 minute walk away. Buffett breakfast also very good with a wide variety of food.
The monorail is right outside the hotel so transport was great with taxis in abundance everywhere

Room Tip: rooms facing times square have a much better view if you don't mind a little noice at night (not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanty_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Wanty_11

Thank you for your review and for your kind compliments. Your positive observation when shared with our colleagues would certainly motivate them further to fulfil our mission of completely delight and satisfy our guests.

Great to know that our location was very convenience to you and glad that you have enjoyed your stay. Our colleagues and I will definately look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Chose this hotel on basis of location and low price. I would class it as 3 star. I was in the standard room category which was a decent size but rather old fashioned and tired, however. Declined to upgrade to superior as told the rooms were the same, just on a higher floor

Pros:
- excellent location, with monorail station just outside
- good water pressure in bathroom
- comfortable bed
- staff mostly kind and helpful

Cons:
- wifi chargeable and had some problems until router installed in room
- lifts must be operated by key cards and many guests found the card readers often didn't work properly
- some street noise in room
- decor and furniture in room very old and tired looking
- breakfast below average compared to other international chain hotels

Room Tip: If you want a really good room go elsewhere, such as Traders
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear savvy_dave,

First and foremost thank you for have chosen Melia as your destination in Kuala Lumpur.

We would like to thank you on your positive comments and this feedback will surely encourage our team to fulfill our mission to delight and satisfy our guests.

On the other hand, we are greatly appreciated on your negative feedbacks - this level of detail is important for us so we know exactly how we can improve for future experiences.

Just to share with you that we are currently in a process of upgrading our hotel facilities especially on our wifi connectivity and we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation in the near future - unfortunately we are unable to let you know the date and hope you understand.

We have further noted your comments on the internet charges, kindly be informed that it is a norm for the 4-star hotels in the city to impose a charges. However, guests who stay with us at the Executive Club Floor will enjoy the benefit of complimentary internet access.

With regards to your comment on our buffet breakfast, we will take into account so we can continually improve the hotel services and offerings.

Last but not least, Thank you for your kind petronage and look forward to welcome you back.

Regards and be well
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were a group of 15 staying at hotel. We had stayed before and I was a bit hesitant to go back......but we got a good deal that suited our party. We were pleasantly surprised with the new look of the restaurant....last time we stayed it was very small and we had to wait a long time to be seated. The service throughout our stay was very good. We had booked through the hotel vans to take us around, they were always on time and good value for a group. Its a great hotel for the shopping nearby.....didn't take the group long how to workout the area.
We had booked the LEVEL it was great, we could relax in a more exclusive lounge area. The food & drinks were very good & you could ask them anything in the LEVEL and they would be of great help. On our last day we had a late flight so they organised a shower room for us to freshen up before we departed. It was our anniversary while staying at the Melia on our arrival to our room we were thrilled to receive a lovely cake.
would return happily......great service.

Room Tip: Book The LEVEL so much better to relax in after a hectic day shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickos7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Pickos7,

Thank you for have chosen Melia KL and staying with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you back and great to know that you did enjoyed your stay with us on your recent visit to KL.

Your positive observation would certainly motivate them further to fulfil our mission of completely delight and satisfy our guests.

Once again thank you and look forward to welcome you back!

Regards and be well
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Nothing was too much trouble here. Loved the 18th floor for breakfast and for the evening happy hour. Very helpful staff. Handy to shopping malls - walk across the road to Times Square which is open until 10 pm. Pavilion Shopping Centre a short taxi ride away. Very good for traveling solo can arrange sightseeing tours in lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Margaret C,

Thank you for your review and greatly appreciated on your kind compliments towards our Level team.

We hope the true memorable moment during your stay at Melia Kuala Lumpur is with you always!

We will definately looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#51 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,173 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#41 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £51 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing