We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Rooms Need Refurbishing!!”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #42 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My fiancé and I stay at the Melia in December 2013. Overall this is a well priced hotel and Awesome location! We stayed in a standard guest room on level 11 with a King Bed - Daily breakfast was included in the overall price.
Pros:
1 Very good location - opposite times square shopping centre and walking distance to other major shopping centres.
2 Amazing buffet breakfast in the morning - there is a dedicated chef making omelettes to order which was a fresh change. Wait staff and kitchen staff were very attentive and professional - Job well done!!
3. Lobby staff seemed friendly most of the time - by no means outstanding - but professional and helpful as to be expected.
3 Reasonable toiletries provided each day by house keeping
4 We ordered room service 2 night in a row and thoroughly enjoyed our meals whilst watching the cable movies.
5 Their turn down service was a nice touch.

Cons
1 The first thing we noticed about this room is how worn and tired it is. This hotel is definitely in need of a make-over/modernisation. This goes for the hallways to the room and the lobby. Im not overly fussy but when wall paper is starting to peel from the walls, their is cracks in the bathroom tiles (needed re grouting) and the room smells like cigarette smoke (after specifically asking for non-smoking) it is not ideal. I believe however that the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment in the near future - so hopefully things will improve!
2 The swimming pool is small and the water temperature is too cold. I would expect the pool temperature to be cool given the climate - but not cold enough to take my breathe away when entering and make my man-hood go north.
3 Although we got a high level room (level 11) you could still hear street traffic clearly - it was very noisy at night!
4 The beds in this place are rock solid hard - not the most comfortable nights sleep i've ever had!
5 No free wifi in the room
Overall a reasonable hotel - perhaps I would try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry12389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Harry12389,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We believe it is only through listening carefully to the comments and suggestions of our customers, that we will be able to achieve the constant improvement, guest satisfaction and quality service that we strive for. Such information indeed enables us to monitor the application of our service standards while simultaneously allowing us to rectify any shortfalls.

On this note, I am please to share that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation by this year unfortunately unable to let you know the exact date.

However, we will definitely look forward to welcome you back.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Big room - a bit old though. Nice breakfast very varied. Conveniently located to all major malls. Wifi is not free for certain room type. Hear the monorail if you are on the lower floors. Staff is helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovyna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Lovyna S,

Thank you so much for your reviews and Thank you for have chosen us, staying with us and for trusting us!

On this note, I am pleased to share that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation in the middle of this year and having said this, there may be certain areas that need more time and effort to improved.

Anyhow, Thank you for sharing your feedback and will definitely look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I like to stay at this hotel because the rate is value for my money and the location also intresting area. All the staff including room service and maintenance staff are friendly and helpful. I'll recommend to all my friend about this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Farizal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Farizal S,

Thank you so much for your reviews and Thank you for have chosen us, staying with us and for trusting Melia Kuala Lumpur.

Great to know that you have enjoyed staying with us and we will definitely look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you once again for supporting us and have a great day!

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very accessible as its located beside Imbi LRT and opposite Berjaya Times Square KL. Friendly and helpful staffs and rendered help when needed. Room was above expectation. 24hrs foodstall nearby (1min walk)

Room Tip: Higher floors to avoid getting disturbed by the vehicular noises if your room is facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MohammadAzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear MohammadAzry,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We gald to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive observation when shared with our colleagues would certainly motivate them further to fulfil our mission of completely delight and satisfy our guests.

Our team and I will definitely look forward to welcome you back! =)

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 7 nights based on opinions given by our friends. We stayed in a standard double room - pros: they gave us mini desserts in the room on the first and last days of our stay, cons: the furniture looked dated, and the toilet stank even just after the room service was done. Our friends, who joined us for the trip, also stayed in the same hotel and room class – they were given a “showroom”, which was much nicer than ours (turned out that there is only one such room, and the hotel uses this room to show clients how all the other hotel rooms would look like after the refurbishment). As such, I would say that the current standard room looks akin to a 3-star hotel, rather than a 4-star hotel, until such time all the hotel rooms are refurbished to the same level as the showroom. Outside the room issue, the hotel staff seemed really polite, welcoming and helpful. We were also given MYR60 credit to be spent per day for food and drinks at the hotel – food is approximately five times more expensive than those sold outside the hotel, so the credit is in itself worth approximately MYR10. The hotel is superbly located in the city centre, with several shopping malls located around the hotel, and there is even a tube station within walking distance from the hotel. As there are many shopping malls, we did not pay for any breakfast at the hotel, but instead went across the road to get a cheaper breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Netrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear Netrin,

First of all, Thank you for your reviews and for the great feedback. Such information indeed us to monitor and improved our hotel sservice and facilities.

Pertaining to your feedback with regards to the room condition, I am pleaseD to share that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation in the middle of this year. However, having said this, there may be certain areas that need more time and effort and we hope that you would bear with us for the time being.

Anyhow, we really glad of your kind feedback. Hope to welcome you again in the future! =)

Thank you and regards
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A great place for friends, couples or families! Hotel room is extremely comfortable and well-furnished. Hotel staff are also super friendly and always ready to assist you with a big smile. Hotel is directly opposite Berjaya Times Square which is awesome for shopping and has lots of good food!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Kai Xiong Ronal... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Kai Xiong Ronal... S,

Thank you so much for your great reply. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Greatly appreciate your kind patronage. Our colleagues and I will certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia Kuala Lumpur in the future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This Motel is of a fine standard, staff speak rather good english and are very helpful, nothing was to much. The location of this motel is central to major shopping areas and mono rail. You would not regret booking this motel

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Barbara D,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Melia Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

I am sure the staff will be motivated by your comments and that they will endeavor to work even harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

My Team and I will definitely look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Thank you and regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
3,492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#55 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,175 reviews
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £50 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing