We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melia is great”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #42 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Melia is great”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel has nice comfortable rooms. The breakfast is great and there was a menu change for my 2nd night stay which was pleasant. The staff is friendly and superb customer service, especially the lobby personnel.


  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Md Fathi I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Md Fathi I,

Thank you for your great reviews and feedback. Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for your great compliments on our buffet breakfast.

Our team definitely will endeavor to work even harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality. We at Melia Kuala Lumpur, will be happy to welcome your return.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    964
    395
    140
    84
See reviews for
551
824
177
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pattaya
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just spent few days at Melia Kuala Lumpur with my wife and we had a great time as usual, Excellent service with Smile, from the Check in to the room to the Level with a special Thanks to Anna and all The Level and management Team. We really enjoyed breakfast and Cocktail time.
For us, Melia KL, is home away from home.
Elyes Ben & Hyun-Ah Seo

Room Tip: Must book and Stay at The Level, value money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elyes_Ben_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Mr. Elyes and Ms. Hyun-Ah Seo,

Thank you so much for making us your second home. Greatly appreciate on your generous commendation.

We will be happy to welcome your return at Melia Kuala Lumpur! =)

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Louis
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

My stay at Melia, KL will definitely be memorable.
We checked in late in the night, and they let us have dinner in the Melia Kitchen even before all procedures were over.
Hotel personnel are very friendly, always greeting guests with a warm smile.
Breakfast is very varied and tasty.
The International Buffet on New Year Eve was awesome.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean.
The only disadvantage could be that Wifi was available only in the lobby, but that gave guests good reason to go and have a drink in the bar/restaurant.
The location is also a definite advantage with many malls e.g. Berjaya Times Square, Low Yat Plaza,etc situated within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nab41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Nab41,

Thank you for have chosen and staying with us at Melia Kuala Lumpur. It was glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and celebrating New Year eve at our hotel. We are indeed delighted to note the generous commendation that you have given us and will definitely be shared with the Department Head.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future! =)

Best regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at melia 2 times last year, great location if you have entertaiment and shopping in mind. The room looked a bit old but thats ok i had a great stay there, value for money!. I am looking forward to stay there again this coming march :). P/s the hotel has a very hot blonde receptionist hehe

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mkf154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear mkf154,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

Our Team will definitely look forward to welcome you back in March! =)

Thank you and regards,
Natasha kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Melia in December 2013. The location is excellent - right opposite to Times Square, walking distance to all other shopping centres and the Lot 10 food court. The rooms are clean and although slightly old, it was good enough. The only downside is that the WIFI only worked in the lobby which was not made specifically clear during booking. Otherwise, I would gladly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Noel F,

Thank you so much for your great reviews. Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your comments on the internet connection, I am pleased to informed that currently we are in the process of upgrading our facilities and we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation.

On this note, we would like to thank you once again for sharing your feedback. Hope to welcome you back in the future!

Regards and be well,
Natasha kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My watch got stolen in the hotel room during my stay in this hotel last year and the hotel staff never give me a solution until today. I am so disappointed and upset with their service towards their hotel guest.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
7 Thank Lim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Mr. Lim,

Warm greetings from Melia Kuala Lumpur. Let me introduce myself, my name is Natasha Kamaruzaman – Guest Experience Manager of the Hotel.

First and foremost, with regards to your comments, I believe that I have personally send you the feedback with regards to your watch via e-mail which was send to you on the 13 January 2014.

However, should you not received my email, I am pleased to informed you that our Security Manager has personally went through all the documentation investigations conducted e.g.(CCTV cameras, lock readings etc.) however your watch has not been found in our Hotel premises.

We fully understand your concern since it is a valuable item to you. We have conducted all the necessary actions in order to find it. With all our due respect, we can assure you that our staff did not take it, we are very strict in our hiring policy and we count with a highly professional staff, perfectly trained under the principles and value of our company, Melia Hotels International.

Trust the above is clear and your kind comprehension is highly appreciated.

Very best regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Melia Kuala Lumpur is located directly across the street from the mega-shopping mall Berjaya Times Square and the Imbi monorail station. Bukit Bintang is a few minutes' walk away, as are Plaza Low Yat and several other shopping and transport opportunities. In other words, the location is perfect for a first visit to KL. It is worth upgrading to a level above standard, as this will provide a higher floor with a view, and a larger room. The rooms are perfectly comfortable, although some may consider the fittings (bathroom) to be slightly dated, they are more than adequate, clean and well-serviced.
Breakfast is a generous and varied buffet, and is worth including in the overnight.
Special points are to be awarded for service, as I found it particularly courteous and attentive, with small attentions always welcome and never intrusive. Overall, this hotel is to be recommended for anyone searching for a hotel with the advantages of a large chain establishment, yet with a good sense of hospitality, very comfortable and with excellent value for money. This can be compared to a 3-1/2 star to 4 star hotel in Europe, though with large rooms and an ideal location. This hotel would be suited to all sorts of travellers, from solo to families, although perhaps it is not the most romantic of hotels, would be perfectly fine for couples and for city- or shopping-trips.
A very good choice.

Room Tip: Try and get above the 10th floor with a Bukit Bintang view for a glimpse of the Petronas towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zerosixzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear Zerosixzero,

Thank you for staying at the Meliá Kuala Lumpur.

We are indeed delighted to note the generous commendation that you have given us and will definitely be shared with the Department Head. I am sure the staff will be motivated by your comments and that they will endeavor to work even harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

Lastly, we wish to thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and greatly appreciate your kind patronage. We certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia Kuala Lumpur in the near future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#34 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,308 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#51 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Property: Melia Kuala Lumpur
Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing