We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location and Stuff”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #43 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Location and Stuff”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

we stayed for about 4 days during my honeymoon trip at melia in double standard Room, it was a good hotel with wonderful location in center on Kuala Lumpor , in front of the hotel you will find Golden Mall , really big one, all the other mall and major street and near just few mins to reach. the greatest issue that the monorail (train) is just one step from the main gate of the hotel which can take you to any place you want to go at Kuala.
Breakfast is good and have a lot of varieties as for us Halal food was an important issue to find.
Rooms were Clean and stuff were welcoming.
The negative points were : 1) the Laundry fees were high , 2) Wifi was not free and you gonna pay extra money

Room Tip: standard Room are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Ahmed F,

We would like to thank you for staying at Melia Kuala Lumpur. Great to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind compliments on our team and breakfast.

Pertaining to the laundry charges, we will take your comments into account and just to share that guest who staying in our Executive club room will be entitle for free wi-fi

Anyhow, we appreciate on your feedback and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Thanks you and regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    956
    392
    139
    84
See reviews for
542
815
177
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at Melia at least 3 times a year cause of the location of the hotel and the helpful smiling staff made our stay so pleasant. it is just five minutes away from the mono rail and in front of Times Square mall , sungai wang , Bukit Bintang and Pavilion shopping centres. That's enough for us to see n shop to our heart contents. the room was clean.breakfast was excellence. Except There is no free wi fi in the room. Over all it is good if u r looking for clean friendliest hotel in the center of the city.

Room Tip: 6 floor facing time square
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Rose K,

Thank you so much for yor great reviews. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we have taken note of your positive observations and will definitely share it with our colleagues here.

While my colleagues and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Rooms are a bit dated, but clean. Location is excellent in the midst of things in Bukit Bintang. We were a little surprised that the bell boy didn't offer to take our big backpacks to our room, even though he greeted us when we entered. It was also annoying that the wifi was "being upgraded" so wasn't available in our room for our 2 day stay. I'd recommend this place as a shopping base for those who don't want to spend a lot of time in their hotel room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank youngbutwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear youngbutwise,

Thank you for your reviews. We regret that your stay with us have had not been a pleasant one. Your comments on the services rendered by the bell boy have been brought up to the attention of the Department Heads concerned. Please rest assured that remedial actions will be taken to improve on it.

On this note, I am pleased to inform that currently we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation. However, having said this, there may be certain areas that need more time and effort and we hope that you would bear with us for the time being.

We hope to have you back in the newly renovated room in the future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We booked 3 rooms 3 months in advance and they give us 1 smoking room (when we asked for non-smoking), 1 room with a king bed and 1 room with 2 queen beds (which were in fact doubles) - for couples? They did eventually rectify the rooms after 2 NIGHTS!

Late night Arrival forced us to dine with our Parents in the hotel as food access was limited and the Melia Hotel states 1am close for dine-in but were denied at 11:50am by waitress (Roslin) saying the kitchen closed at 12:30am. My Parents were very tired and hungry and are elderly. We were forced to make a complaint to the Manager finding this odd due to the 1am close. we received dine in as we were right. The food was great apart from my pizza (perhaps a grudge from the chef!?) it was the worst pizza I ever had. I have attached photos.

The Bell Service was GREAT! Only thing really going for the place.

Overall: Will I come back for a 3rd stay? NO! I have heard good things about Berjaya Time Square that has the same location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamrannas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Kamrannas,

First and foremost, Thank you so much for staying with us at Melia Kuala Lumpur.

We regret that your stay with us have had not been a pleasant one. Obviously on this occasion, we did not live up to your expectation. Pertaining to your request for the room accomodation, I am pleased to informed that all request are subject to hotel availability. However, we will always try to provide the best for our guest.

on the other hand, your comments on the services rendered by the kitchen staff have been brought up to the attention of the Department Heads concerned. Please rest assured that corrective measures including a review of our training programmes has been taken so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

Pertaining to the quality of food, we indeed take a very serious view on this matter and assure you that remedial actions will be taken to improve on it.

We do value your support and for bringing up this matter to our attention as only through our guest feedback that we are able to improve and maintain the level of service our valued guest so expected of us. We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Meliá Kuala Lumpur and assure you of our best services always.

Thank you and regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Mélia hotel 4 nights. Unfortunately the room where i stayed in was just another soulless room like so many in Kuala Lumpur, no charm, no style, the deco outdated but the room was clean. The staff was very friendly and when i asked about something they were helpful and i appreciate that.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank EatAndTravelWithMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear EatAndTravelWithMe,

Thanks for reviewing us and we're so glad to hear you were happy with our team for their friendliness and helpfulness. We will ensure that the team will continue to strive harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

Pertaining to the shortcomings on the condition of the room, obviously on this occasion we have failed to live up to your expectation. However we will take corrective measures to address them in the shortest possible time. Having said this, there may be certain areas that need more time and effort.

Anyhow, we wish to thank you for your kind patronage and hope to see you in the future.

Thank you and regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

we stayed for three nights at Melia KL in December, check in took time nad we were only given our rooms after 3pm. The location of the hotel is just perfect, a few minutes from the monorail and Berjaya times Square is right across, Sungei wang plaza around the corner and it is close to Pavilion Mall and many restaurants.We were disappointed that the room was dated and there were stains on the carpet, howver it was clean. There was a damp smell when you come out of the elevator.The pool area was also very disappointing, it was not well maintained. There is no free wifi as well. We hope that the hotel can make some fresh refurbishments because it is the ideal location from where one can explore the city of KL

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fatima K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Fatima K,

Thank you for your review. It was with much regret that we learned of our shortcomings and sincerely wish to extend to you our most profound apologies for the inconvenience and frustration caused. We take your comments here very seriously, and I am pleased to share that we have plans for a complete guestroom renovation. Having said this, there may be certain areas that need more time and effort and we hope that you would bear with us for the time being.

However we thank you for your feedback and we hope to have you back in the newly renovated room in the future.

Regards and be well,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We spent three nights in melia and they weren't enough to explore the amazing kulumpour city.the location of the hotel is amazing.it is just five minutes away from the mono rail and in front of Times Square mall and two streets away from Arab street.the room was clean.breakfast was good.the pool isn't large. There is no free wi fi . Over all it is good if u r looking for clean hotel in the center of the city.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Radwasalah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Radwasalah,

Thank you for have chosen and for staying with us at Melia Kuala Lumpur. We're so glad to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate on your generous commendation : )

Lastly, Thanks for reviewing us and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you and regards,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#22 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#56 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
1,117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#26 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#79 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Property: Melia Kuala Lumpur
Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#40 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing