We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good breakfast, but not much else....”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #44 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, good breakfast, but not much else....”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The location of this hotel is very good, literally 20 yrds from the monorail and with a decent shopping mall directly opposite, so very convenient indeed. Breakfast is also good.

On the downside, our room was tired, bathtub peeling, carpet had seen better days, generally needed a refurbishment. The keycard system that worked the door and the lifts is pretty useless, taking at least 3 attempts to open the door and leaving us and several other guests stranded in lifts that refused to move twice (we only stayed 2 nights).

Another downside was that upon leaving the hotel we asked the porter to get us a taxi, and we were ushered into an unmetered taxi with a stroppy driver who tried to overcharge us. I would expect at 4 star hotel, in a city full of licencsed and metered taxis, to be given a metered taxi, rather than a slightly cowboy one, so that was disappointing.

Overall average, surprised by how good the reviews are but maybe we got a bad room. Expected a bit more for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benjamin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    944
    390
    137
    84
See reviews for
534
806
172
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I had a pleasant stay at this hotel from 21 – 28 Jun 14. The ambience throughout the hotel was quiet and peaceful and is conveniently located in the heart of town. The hotel would however be better off with an upgrade of its air-conditioning system. The staff were very courteous in dealing with us especially during Breakfast. The concierges too were very helpful and were only too ready to help with whatever enquiries we had. We will certainly stay at the Melia Kuala Lumpur when we visit the country next.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms away from the main road (Jalan Imbi) for a restful nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ironside36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ironside36,

Thank you very much for writing us your wonderful feedback on tripadvisor.

We are indeed delighted to know that our services met up to your expectation. We greatly appreciate your compliments on the service received from our team especially during your breakfast at The Kitchen and our Concierge team.

On this note, as mentioned in earlier management response, a full refurbishment will be taking place in Melia Kuala Lumpur from January 2015, so that we will be able to provide our guests with great comfort, convenience and unforgettable experience which we hope will meet your expectations in the future.

Lastly, we thank you once again for your kind support and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Melia Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Location Location everything right at the door step of the Melia Hotel KL. We stay here every time we travel to Kl and choose the Levels Rooms .And what great rooms they are everything in the rooms is perfect and in the Levels they turn your bed down at night. We stay at the Levels as we met Anna she checked us in and out several years Ago and we could not wait to see her again . Please don't hesitate to stay in the Melia as everyone is friendly there

Room Tip: The Levels is the place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear phil s,

Thank you very much for your great review and kind support.

We are indeed delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at The Level floor and greatly appreciate your wonderful compliments on the service received from our team especially Anna at The Level.

Your feedback are essential to the hotel, ensuring the hotel team can continually improve the hotel services and offerings, as well will certainly motivate our team further.

We at Melia Kuala Lumpur will certainly look forward to having you back staying with us in the future.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Wonderful location and excellent breakfast. Very helpful tour concierge and Susan, manager at Information Desk was extremely helpful in booking our further travel to Langkawi Island. Wonderful Twin Tower tour and Menara tower tour we booked through hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Ver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Ver M,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us in tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have had a pleasant stay with and have enjoyed the wonderful location of our hotel as well as the breakfast at The Kitchen.

We greatly appreciate your compliments and feedback given on the service received from our concierge team and Susana as well as the manager at tour desk.

Our team and I will definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another pleasant experience with us!

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GOLD COAST AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

hotel is situated in a wonderful location.Easy access to monorail at front door including Times Square across the road for superb shopping. Staff are most helpful and always with a smile. The Level is superb with its very quick checkin.
I always stay at The Melia when in Kuala Lumpur

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIBIEISLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear BRIBIEISLAND,

First and foremost, thank you for have choosing Melia Kuala Lumpur.

We are indeed delighted to know that our services met up to your expectation. We will continue to strive harder so that our valued guests can enjoy only the highest level of hospitality.

We greatly appreciate your compliments and your feedback given on the service received from our team especially from The Level.

Lastly, we would like to thank you once again for sharing your great feedback and your kind support. Our team and I will definitely look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another great experience with us.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is at good location. Easy access to the city centre and the mall across the street. Definately not 4 star hotel. Stuff is nice and polite. Check in last forever. Rooms are not as on pictures and in desperate need of renovation. There is no air ventilation in the room or bathroom, and a/c goes from cold to very cold. Power sockets are just for maleysian connectors. Bathroom is small and crowded. I would not stay here again. The only good thing about this hotel is location!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Vladimir I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Melia for 4 nights and had a very pleasant stay. The location is right opposite the Time Square shopping plaza. and right next to the Imbi Monorail Station.

The first night we stayed we were in the rooms looking out over Time Square, pleasant enough room, but not so conducive to sleep if your not use to the constant noise of traffic. The next day we asked to be moved, to which they obliged. A smaller room, but much quieter.

The rooms that we stayed in were comfortable, clean, but not super fancy, but all that you need for a stay in KL. The pool is small but adequate for a hot climate, could do with some more lounge chairs and some umbrellas for protection against the sun. The gym is well enough equipped for a workout to try an whittle away the calories that you consume at breakfast.

Breakfast provided a good variety, with western and Asian choices. The breakfast didn't vary during our stay, but hey you could pay a lot more at another hotel and not have the breakfast included. My husband was a happy man as they had porridge on offer.

Wi-Fi is included in the rate and was very efficient.

The staff are so friendly and obliging, and there were a few instances we reported some issues with our room and they came straight away - great customer service.

Keep your expectations in check and you will enjoy your stay.

Whilst we were there you couldn't catch the monorail from Imbi to KL Sentral, you had to walk down to the next monorail station, a bit of a pain in the heat and with construction works going on.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the front of the hotel, as the traffic noise is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolynthb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meliakualalumpur_11, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear carolynthb,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to know that you have had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the convenience of our location on the shopping malls and monorail station which are just next to our hotel.

Pertaining to your feedback and suggestions to the pool area of having more lounge chairs and umbrellas have been taken note of and this has been conveyed to the Management for serious consideration. On this note, I am pleased to share that we have completed our hotel renovation plans which are scheduled for January 2015.
We do value your support and thank you for bringing up this matter to our attention as only through our guest feedback that we are able to improve and maintain the level of service our valued guest so expected of us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Kuala Lumpur and we hope the New Melia will meet your expectations in the future as well as assure you of our best services always.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,
Natasha Kamaruzaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Property: Melia Kuala Lumpur
Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#41 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing