We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location!”
Review of Melia Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #41 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

If you're coming to KL as a tourist and to shop, this is the place to stay! Central location in the Golden Triangle, Monorail station right outside, access to Berjaya Times Square across the road via a covered walk way. Our room was surprisingly big, and although not brand new, was clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. My only recommendation would be to stay away from the taxi desk that operates in the lobby. The guy there organised us a taxi to the airport, and what showed up certainly didn't keep with the four star image. The car looked like it was barely roadworthy, and the boot (containing our luggage) could only be secured with an occy strap! Made for very interesting ride to the airport, wondering if we, our luggage...or both, would get there in one piece! You're better off hailing your own taxi off the street, and it will cost you less too!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NatashaW_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,252)
There are newer reviews for Melia Kuala Lumpur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 2,252 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at the melia in June. We have stayed in KL many times, it was our first visit to the Melia. On advice from other reviewers we booked a room at the level. It was excellent. We got agreat deal through the hotel's own website with a number of excellent inclusions. our room was large, quiet and comfortable. The housekeeping staff were were very efficient. We had a number of meals in the restraunt - the food was tasty and well priced. The happy Hour and associated convenience of the lounge was a delight.

The position of the hotel was very central to all of the shopping that Kl has to offer.

Room Tip: Stay on the Level
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The positives:
============

1) Great location; situated in the city center, close to major shopping centres like Berjaya Times Square, Sungei Wang, Low Yat Plaza, Pavilion, Lot 10, etc. There are a lot of good food outlets all around this area and inside the malls.

2) There is a monorail station just outside the hotel which allows you to get around the city very easily.

3) High speed Internet - the best I've personally experienced at a hotel, with speeds above 1Mbps.

4) Great bed; a comfortable king-sized bed.

The negatives:
=============

1) The decor needs an upgrade / refurbishing.

2) Bed bugs; we had a case of bed bugs during our second night - informed the reception, but the receptionist shrugged it off saying they will take care of it (it was almost as if she didn't know what bed bugs were or did not believe us). But the next night again we saw some bed bugs; this time I took a couple of bugs in a tissue and showed to the receptionist. This time they immediately changed our room - upgraded us to a room on The Level floors, with complementary breakfast.

3) No Muslim-shower (bidet shower) in the bathroom.

4) There was a good TV in the room, but with a very few international channels.

=======
Overall:
=======
Apart from the issue of the bed bugs, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Definitely would consider staying again - mainly due to the great location.

Room Tip: The rooms on The Level floors are almost the same as normal rooms - except an addition of a sofa, la...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Naseeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location is great, shopping center just over the Street, jalan alor only 5 min to walk (great places to eat on that road). The rooms were big, the clenliness was not the besteht, especially the floors in the rooms and the bath could perform better. The breakfast was good, a lot of different meals from all over the world. The pool was nice too. The overall service could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goofy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hotel maintenance is very poor- no ventilation in the rooms, fridge doesn't work well, you can see the costs are cut in every possible way, compromising the convenience of guests. Internet connection is also very poor, they say it is limited for two devices (for a twin room) but in practice, once one devise is logged in, the other automatically logs out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Vladimir713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Check in problems, shower hot water problems and a/c problems.....
Wasn't a nice and smooth stay like our time in March!
Quiet disappointing actually, however maybe we caught them on a bad week??
Still has potential to provide a nice stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
3  Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hotel has an excellent location situated opposite to Berjaya Times Square mall. People manning the lounge including the security staff are extremely helpful. They helps you with every support for a stress free vacation in KL. Breakfast is also good. But management should try to keep away the smell of smoking from the lounge of this beautiful hotel or should make the lounge a no - smoking zone. Finally use of card in the elevators are unnecessary.Overall, an excellent hotel for vacations.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IGTF I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#36 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#53 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,256 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Kuala Lumpur

Address: Melia Kuala Lumpur 16 Jalan Imbi | Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#39 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £50 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the city's prime location, among all the prestigious business addresses, stands the Melia Kuala Lumpur. Right at the heart of the city's 'Golden Triangle' and commercial district, the hotel occupies an unbeatable location. With the iconic Petronas Twin Towers reachable in 3 minutes by monorail, popular shopping attractions footsteps away, and cultural attractions such as the Bintang Walk and Little India nearby, Melia Kuala Lumpur is the perfect address for business or leisure. The hotel features spacious, well-appointed rooms that are bathed in warm sunlight. A range of dining options, filled with the flavors and diversity that define Malaysia, is served daily within the hotel. Gym are available for leisure while a business center and host of functional meeting rooms stand ready when work calls. With an outstanding location, top-rate service, facilities that delight, and a dedication to sustainability, Melia Kuala Lumpur is perfect for any traveler looking to be at the center of all the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melia Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Sol Melia Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing