We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite was fanatstic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #24 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had 2 quick nights and 1 day in KL and got a suite as it was the end of our trip and we new we'd have a lot of packing to do. The suite was wonderful - 1 bed with plenty of room for a roll-away as well as a snug little office, breakfast room, full kitchen 2 tv's etc. Stunning layout with a small side room off the main bedroom with another desk mirror - perfect personal space.
I have never been in a hotel or apartment that was so quiet. The apartment wing is separate to the hotel rooms and is so quite, if I didn't have shopping to do I could have sleep here for days with interruption - heaven.
As usual all of the staff were friendly and efficient.
The hotel is located directly across from The Pavilion shopping centre which not only offers designer brands but also plenty of mid range affordable shops as well as a great Illy coffee shop and the food court and supermarket on the b1 floor has everything you need.
Location - perfect, rooms - undeniably well planned, service - courteous and quick, price -very reasonable for a 5star in a big city. It also has a small but lovely outdoor pool which feels very private and offers complementary cold drinking water and fruit icy poles - a hit with our daughter.
I wouldn't bother to stay any where else when in KL. The suites would be great for a long stay for business or pleasure as there is plenty of room to spread out. Well done again Westin.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a suite - you will not regret it if you value quiet and extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Greetings Helen H

We thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are indeed delighted to hear you had a fantastic time.

Do stay with us again whenever you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well




Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,814 - 1,820 of 2,676 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the end of March. Great spacious room, very comfy bed and pillows, excellent bathroom and facilities - toiletries were great quality. Reception and staff very nice - could not have done any more.

Free wifi in the lobby area was useful. Great location. Excellent business centre and wonderful attentive banquet staff.

Had a meal in the hotel restaurant and they made me something special which was great and really tasty. Breakfast was wonderful, especially the hidden pastries room at the back of the breakfast area! Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Greetings CarolPerthWa

We thank you for the great feedback and delighted to hear you had a fabulous stay - this is how it should feel at The Westin.

All of us here look forward to your return soon.

Take care and be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed for three nights for the end of our honeymoon. The hotel is very nice and up market. It's very close to good shopping places including the cheaper, mid range and expensive all within walking distance. The markets and china town are a cheap cab ride too.
Rooms were nice, clean and spacious. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful, a few were even better.
I'd almost give the hotel 5 stars but for the lack of wireless Internet access in the rooms. Free Internet is available on floors G and 4 but you need to pay if you want access within the rooms; and it's rather expensive (and charged per device)
The Italian restaurant is fantastic, the food and service was brilliant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matty_the_fatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Greetings matty_the-fatty

Congratulations on your honeymoon - great to hear you had a great stay.

Your comment about providing complimentary wireless internet charges has been noted and will definitely look into it.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary.

Take care and be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

this hotel was the best we have stayed in kl, having stayed at others before (istana and park royal) your service was first class, we asked for a coffee table to be put in our room, in five minutes it was there. the breakfast was great especialy the deli part with the fillings on bread then toasted in oven fresh also the waffles and pancakes, the buffet at night were surperb especially the seafood one,the staff were so frendly and helpfull.the pool and area around was great and we loved the iceypoles to eat "nice touch". the room was great and the heavenly beds,only one small thing we missed a clothline in the bath room.we stayed 8 nights would have loved to stayed longer, we will be coming back

Room Tip: we were on the 20th floor looking at the petronas tower and the pavillion great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianandpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2012

Greetings brianandpatricia

We thank you for your support and the great feedback, Good to hear that you have branded us as the best hotel in Kuala Lumpur - thank you.

All of us here look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Having stayed at Westin in Sydney before, I knew the standards of the Westin chain of hotels and Westin KL did not disappoint. From the moment we arrived, the service was 1st class, from the greeting at the door, to the seamless check in and delivery of our bags... everything is completely perfectly so all you need to do is put on your Westin bathrobe and slippers - kick back, relax and enjoy your stay.

The rooms are immaculate and hats off the housekeeping who do a FABULOUS job keeping the rooms in beautiful condition. There are plently of towels and the white tea Westin branded toiletries are gorgeous. Air con is cold AND quiet (which I can't say is the same for all air con in every hotel I've ever stayed in). Heavenly beds..... three words - like a cloud.

Pool area is so relaxing and quiet considering the bustle of KL. There is complimentary iced water and apples along with magazines to read whilst you are kicking back.

Directly across the road is the Pavillion Shopping Centre which is so big you need all day to walk around it. The best thing about the location of the hotel is that you can quickly duck back to the hotel, drop off your shopping and then go back over to the shops again!

We had an in-room massage which I would have to say was ok however, the lady who did the massage used all the towels in the room for the massage and so we didn't have any for our showers. Luckily a quick call to Express solved that right away, so the only thing I would suggest for the hotel is that the massage therapists come with towels so they don't have to use the room ones. We also booked another spa at the Donna Spa which is next door inside the JW Marriott hotel which was AMAZING. For the same price as the in room massage, you also get refreshments and the overall experience at Donna is absolutely worth the money (though still cheap against the AUD) you can see why they are award winning.

The next time I'm in KL. I won't stay any where else but here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces the Petronis Towers if you can. The view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Greetings debsopinion

We thank you for supporting Starwood hotels particularly the Westin brand. Extremely delighted to know you had a fantastic experience - this is how it should feel at The Westin.

Your comment about having the massage therapists bringing their own towels has been noted and we will definitely look into it - thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This hotel is just across the road from the Pavilion Shopping Mall on Bukit Bintang Road and practically next to the Starhill shopping complex. Great location and very convenient to many shops and restaurants.

We stayed in the Club Floors and enjoyed the spacious room with view of the city & Petronas Towers. We go to the club lounge quite often, they serve great coffee there.

Service was excellent and the buffet breakfast was great with lots of choices.

The thing I like about this location is the shopping and the many restaurants and variety of food, from 5 star dining to fast food in the food courts like the ones inside the Pavillion Mall. Even if it is raining, you will not be stuck inside the hotel room.

Compared to our last stay in the junior suite at the Marriott next door which is a lot more expensive, I would stay at club class in Westin again when I next visit. I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in club floors as the rooms are higher and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlleyOopDinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Greetings AlleyOopDinosaur

We thank you for staying with us and the great feedbacks. It is always good to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves - this is how it should feel at The Westin.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

You can't go wrong checking into a Westin hotel because there is a certain consistency in its room amenities and service standards. I found this to be true of the Westin KL when we were there recently for a niece's wedding. The ceremony was held at the Ritz Carlton, just behind the Westin, and we could have taken advantage of the wedding package to stay at the former. But I was not hugely impressed when I had stayed there a couple of years ago, and so we thought we would check out the Westin instead.

We were not disappointed. It was like slipping into a pair of familiar bedroom slippers. I did think that the room was slightly smaller than I'd imagined a Westin room to be, but then again, this was a hotel property in the prime-est of prime commercial space in the heart of the city, and it was understandable that the lobby and rooms seemed to be smaller than customary. The best thing about the hotel, to my mind, was its location. The very happening and huge Pavilion shopping mall built on the grounds of the former Bukit Bintang Girls' School, was almost in your face across the road from the hotel. That is a huge selling point for the Westin, notwithstanding that the Ritz Carlton is connected seamlessly to the Starhill Gallery's upmarket shops, particularly useful on rainy days.

What did not work so well for us was the lack of a convenient lobby lounge where we could have drinks with friends. On the evening that we tried, the lower lounge which was set up as a bar did not have any service staff, and when we adjourned upstairs to the restaurant area, we still could not get attention when we were sitting on the fringe until we moved right inside to where a handful of service staff were. This is where the Westin loses out to the Ritz Carlton which has a conducive lobby lounge area. On the other hand, we were pleased that the hotel's deli remained open on a Sunday whereas the gourmet deli in the latter does not. We knew this because I needed to pick up a birthday cake that Sunday that we were there.

Overall, I'm glad we made Westin the choice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilacfields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimPowley-TWKL, General Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Greetings Lilacfields

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it's always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Meanwhile, we apologize that there were no service staff at the lower lobbyduring your visit. We have communicated this to the Manager and please rest assured that this will not be repeated.

Once again, thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back when you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Kim Powley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
980 reviews
0 mi away
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#48 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,996 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,753 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
Le Meridien Kuala Lumpur
#12 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#18 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £88 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing