We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #28 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked a 4 night stay very pleased excellent staff, about a 20 minute walk to the Towes, buses nearby, hop on and off bus 2 minute walk very good, shopping mall nearby.
Room was excellent very clean, breakfast excellent and coffee the best!
Would recommend... great stay thank you! Kathryn, Karen and Himal beautiful staff. : )
Franca & Joe

Room Tip: Higher floor excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelHarman, Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Greetings Franca B

We thank you for your support and great review - very happy to share these feedbacks with the team.

See you again soon.

Take care



Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,134
    785
    255
    96
    57
See reviews for
515
623
164
665
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Five star hotels are deemed to be so because of their attention to detail and quality customer service. And our initial arrival at the Westin hotel in Kuala Lumpur would have indicated this as a flurry of staff rushed our car to open doors and take luggage. But unfortunately the smiles quickly disappeared. In the cramped front lobby it quickly became apparent our rooms were not ready as we were half an hour early for check in. There was little apology, it was just a statement and we were told to sit somewhere in one of the few seats in the bustling space. Arriving before check in is inevitable in travel; plane itineraries rarely coincide with check in and check out times, but there are a multitude of things hotels and staff can do to distract guests from this, from safe luggage storage, drinks, towels, and moving guests to a quieter space. You don't need to be a 5 star hotel to know this - but the Westin didn't get this right and left us watching the frenzy of reception until we had to ask from staff when we were going to find out about our room. It was a frazzled start to a five day stay.

Check in itself was brusque, where was the famous Malaysian hospitality? No smiles, no chit chat, and a rather ungracious request to block 800 ringgit on our card. Of course we are all used to handing over a credit card at reception, but the manner in which this request was asked made us feel like we looked like the kind that might pilfer 800 ringgit of dressing gowns and mini bar goods! It goes to show how a smile can make all the difference.

We were feeling a bit unwelcome at this stage, so when we were told that the in-room wifi was going to cost 45 ringgit per night we really felt that the Westin didn't value the guest experience. You can buy a SIM card and data for a week for less than that so it felt both cheeky and excessive for a luxury hotel supposed to focus on a guest experience. In shock, I complained extensively to the woman checking us in but my words met a blank wall. There was no commiseration, or personal understanding or even a promise to take it to the manager. We were disgruntled when we left reception.

We checked into one of our rooms and noticed that the carpets were lifting, stained, and the walls had marks. The hotel generally looked tired. If you want to stay at the Westin to entertain and impress you could do a lot better for the same price, indeed for less.

On a positive note, the staff at breakfast were welcome, attentive, and personal. The front desk team could do from spending some time in the company of the breakfast crew to appreciate how to soothe, please and welcome guests.

And finally, when we returned to reception later that day, another woman working the reception area called us over. She had heard we were unhappy and wanted to provide us with free wifi for our stay. It was a resolution that worked for us but the way in which it came about was unnecessary. In a five star hotel, you except staff to anticipate your needs, or head off a complaint, before you have to make one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockyPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelHarman, Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Greetings rockyPerth_Australia

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant arrival experience. We did encounter some challenges on room readiness due to unexpected late check-outs and extensions of stay. However, we agree that the staff could have handled this in a more professional manner. We have already shared this and the check in experience with the team.

Despite our constant efforts to maintain the building, the hotel is indeed getting old. Whilst we agree our rooms require refreshing, our endeavours are subject to our Hotel Owner's approval of renovation plans and available budget. Currently Housekeeping and Engineering Departments are working on a rooms preventive maintenance program and we hope to complete this exercise as soon as possible.

On a lighter note, good to know the team from The Living Room provided personal and instinctive services. I will definitely share your compliments with them.

Once again, we truly appreciate your feedbacks and hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Take care and be well



Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Ideally situated in what seems like the centre of KL this hotel is all about location and service. Good check in at club level, fast and courteous. Rooms are good however I dont know if I would pay extra for a partial view of the towers..It is across the road from a high end mall and only about 30 minutes pleasant walk, under canopy, to the towers. The executive lounge is just excellent, great teas and coffees and nice bites to eat. The breakfast there is particularly good, especially the French toast made by the chief at the egg station :-) the only negative and this has nothing to do with the hotel is the horrendous traffic ! if you can plan around the peak traffic times otherwise you will get stuck in traffick for a long time !

Room Tip: If you can get excutive club level access:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onetrubrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelHarman, Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Greetings onetrubrit

We thank you for staying with us and appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel - happy to hear you had a great arrival experience in the Club Lounge.

You have given me great pleasure to share your positive feedbacks with the team - thank you so much.

Please come back again whenever you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well



Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked a 2 nights stay last month and was disappointed upon check-in when the front desk communicated that my reservations was not captured in their system. The front desk personnel did not offer any solution nor opted to re-check the reservation system. I had to produce the reservation booking confirmation on my iphone as evidence that I have booked the stay. Poorly handled and should be guest focused in their service. When asked why the system didn't capture my reservations, the front desk staff had just informed me that Starwood has offices around the world and sometimes 'these things happen'. I would expect a more professional and service oriented response to this incident. How would I be assured that my future bookings will be captured and confirmed by the hotel's reservations system?

After I had checked into the room, I had discovered that the telephone and TV were not operational and that the air-conditioning system had some problems which resulted in the room temperature being very warm. As a result, I requested to change the room and after 20 to 30 minutes, my request was accommodated and the duty manager was polite to say that he apologize for the inconvenience caused and will look into this incident.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachaelHarman, Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Greetings Amanda C

First and foremost, please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges experienced during check in. We fully agree that the staff who attended to you could have handled the matter in a more professional manner.

To help us investigate how this could have happened, can you please email the Confirmation number to Westin.kualalumpur@westin.com.

Once again, we are sorry and look forward to hearing from you.

Be well

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vadodara, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed in this Hotel for 1 Night, Nice Hotel with everything in close proximity, Petronas Twin Tower is 20 Minute walk from the Hotel (Through Sky Walk). As the Hotel is within CBD, experience huge traffic. overall good experience

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiren_D_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HratchKhatchanian, Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Greetings hirenadhiya

We thank you for giving us an opportunity to welcome you and truly appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel.

All of us here are very happy to know you and your family had a great stay.

Please come back again whenever you return to Kuala Lumpur.

Take care and be well


Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel needs a total upgrade, wallpaper peeling of our walls. Breakfast was OK but not the best we have ever had. Room service was almost inedible, would not go back there again. The Shangri-La offers a much better experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HatchetDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HratchKhatchanian, Manager at The Westin Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Greetings HatchetDarwin

We thank you for your feedbacks.

Despite our constant effort to maintain the building, the hotel is indeed getting old. Whilst we agree our rooms require refreshing, our endeavours are subject to our Hotel Owner's approval of renovation plans and available budget. Currently, our Engineering and Housekeeping Departments are working on a preventive maintenance exercise and we hope to be able to complete this exercise as soon as possible.

We hope you would give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Take care and be well



Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 10 days at Westin Kuala Lumpur .The hotel is located in the heart of the city , the staff are very friendly they always smile and offer you help even if you did not ask. when I arrived tired after a long trip my room was ready It took less than 5 minutes to finalise the check in . The concerge staff, Abu Baker And John were very good .
I recommend the westin that cares about their guest from the door bell to the house keeping that asking you if you need any thing in the room many times a day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Motasem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#10 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
Grand Millennium Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
InterContinental Kuala Lumpur
#11 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Westin Kuala Lumpur
Address: The Westin Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#19 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#24 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Kuala Lumpur is an oasis located on the vibrant streets of Jalan Bukit Bintang. The strategic location of this five-star luxury hotel puts Kuala Lumpur’s best shopping, entertainment and local attractions right at your doorstep, which also includes Petronas Twin Towers, Kuala Lumpur Tower and Pavilion KL shopping mall which are just minutes away. From signature Westin Heavenly® Bed to our fully equipped Westin WORKOUT®, the hotel offers world-class facilities and services that inspire you to be at your best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Westin Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing