We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value and great location”
Review of Swiss-Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Hotel
Ranked #62 of 356 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for a few nights end of May/start of June to break up trip to Europe. Liked it so much we stayed again the first weekend in July on the way home and it was very busy and a full house !! Great value for money.

Terrific location, very close to Bukit Bintang region for great shopping options, Jalan Alor for the best variety of street hawker food stalls and reasonably close to Petaling Street/China Town markets.

Hotel very tidy and modern. Rooms great, although did have a smell of tobacco despite being a "non-smoking" hotel. Bathroom perfect and bed super large.

Breakfast was a delight - loads of options with fresh eggs cooked while you wait.

Bar on ground floor very cosy and reasonable prices, pool/spa area also very nice.

I would definitely stay here again - no doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mullos1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

We stayed in a family room for 4 nights with our 2 kids ages 3 & 7. The hotel itself is in a great location, walking distance to China Town and Times Square shopping center. The room itself was clean but dated and could do with reno work. Didn't feel like there was any insulation between the rooms and could pretty much hear our neighbours movements, very annoying at 2am in the morning. The hallway to our room did have an old stale smell. We found that the hot water in the shower very erratic with some of us in the family having luke warm showers.
Breakfast buffet offered a good selection but was extremely busy while we were staying there. Staff were helpful when asked and the complimentary bottled water and broadband on offer in the room was great. Probably wouldn't stay in this hotel again with so many other hotels in KL to try.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had been to this hotel in July 2010. Its beautiful at the outset, with a great lounge and beautiful rooms.

The room is well-equipped with the basic provisions well-in-place. The sanitary ware though is very faulty. The flush in our room wasnt working at all, with the water being clogged in the basin and bathrrom as well. When we asked the housekeeping department, it took them more than an hour to resolve the problem!

The breakfast though is simply awesome with a whole lot of variety in there. The service and quality of food is also great. Simply loved the breakfast there!

A nice experience staying at this hotel overall!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshaHegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Stayed at a deluxe room with my wife and kid. Room was spacious and well furbished. Did spot some signs of ageing that others reviewers were talking about (stains on walls, old style furnishing etc) but overall it was ok given that the room is clean.
Lighting in the room needs to be improved though. My kid (6 months old) did not feel at ease with the poor lighting. While the bathroom was well lit, the main area where the bed is was quite dim. Breakfast spread was good but the area seems inadequate to cope with the number of hotel guest but this is not a big issue..
It takes 5 mins to walk to Bukit Bintang so hotel is well located. Nowadays Jalan Pudu is no longer that busy which is good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EastMeetWest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

It was a good hotel, beds were clean and room serviced daily, while the room was not the most modern it had everthing you could want, it was spacious enough for the three of us to stay in for 6 nights and not feel on top of each other, room for the bags and all the shopping. The staff were friendly and reasonably helpful. We were three sisters staying and had booked an extra bed but this was not ready when we arrived which was 12.30pm so were tired after long flight and had to wait 1/2 hr for bed to brought to room and then had to ask for extra towel, cup, glass etc. Only neg comment was that we needed to charge a cell phone and there was no international adaptor available and receiption did not understand what we needed, had to go down the road and buy one at the local grocery shop, really a hotel of this standard should have them available. Felt that there was not enough information in room about where the best shopping etc was especially for european women tourists, we found the best shopping centre "Times Square" by being told by another tourist when out looking at shops and took wrong turn. We passed info on to other people in the hotel. Hotel is very central to shopping and attrations, Central Market and Chinatown all within easy walk. If I went back to KL would definately stay here. Hotel did not recommend budget taxis, but we used them and so long as you get price before you get in then some of them are very helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area. Hotel pool was clean and there were always plenty of towles available in the pool area no matter how many times you went in a day and there was someone watching the pool. Apart from a couple of small problems enjoyed the stay in KL and at the hotel. Would recommend to others. Curry House across the road was cheap and food was good. Did not use internet in hotel so not sure how good it was.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55blonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Location was fantastic.....china town was 10 mins walk.....KLCC is 5 mins from the cabs.....stayed in a superior room.......very spacious room......value for money. Very busy hotel with well trained staff. Cant really think too much negative about this hotel......family enjoyed it....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanj1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

1) Good points:
a) The reservations staffs/ front desk are helpful.

b) Restaurants 'Flavours' amd 'Elements' serve excellent, mouth-watering westerns and local favourites dishes.

c) Captains, waiters and waitress are friendly, polite and responsive.

2) Improvement areas :
a) Housekeeping department 'arguementative' attitude
Issue: 2 rooms having only 1 pair of room slippers (short of 3 pairs)
Hsekeeping staffs : Over the phone insist that standard room has 2 pairs of slippers
Solution : They gave us juz 2 pairs, still short of 1 pair (we juz accepted total 3 pairs of slippers)

b) Issue : Due to bed bugs, 1st night having sleepless night
Solution : hsekeeping use anti-bug spray

c) Room carpet and wood flooring feels dusty

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppg1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur
The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Ho...
#107 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
710 reviews
2 mi away
Ambassador Row Hotel Suites by Lanson Place
0.8 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#46 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
2,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Suites Kuala Lumpur City Centre
1.3 mi away
PNB Perdana On The Park
PNB Perdana On The Park
#66 of 356 in Kuala Lumpur
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Hotel

Address: 117 Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £40 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Modern Hotel with terraced design, situated within minutes of business & commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss-Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Garden Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing