We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but pretty basic hotel”
Review of Swiss-Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Hotel
Ranked #92 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good location but pretty basic hotel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

we stayed for two nights in december. customer service wasnt great, they could do with smiling more! nice builiding and room was nice, not amazing but will do for a few days as price isnt too bad! location is the best thing about this hotel with bukit bintang a short 5-10 minute walk! would recommend for short stay based on location!

Room Tip: good location but look around first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emma n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGHRKL_Latib, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

Once again, thank you & I hope that you will grace us with your kind presence again.

Thank you & kind regards,
Abdul Latib Bin Omar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    531
    324
    135
    70
See reviews for
320
403
88
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I must admit, I expected more from this hotel than I got. First impression is good... smart entrance and restaurant, but the rooms are poor. Old and musty and although they are clean, the do not give you a very clean impression. I was also very disappointed that there is no Wi-Fi in the rooms. Breakfast is however good and the hotel location is ok. It is close to a few attractions, but you will need a taxi to get to the main attractions for Kuala Lumpur.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has recently been re-vamped if possible. Otherwise make sure it has never been a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGHRKL_Latib, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay with us. I regret to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our room condition. For your kind information, we feature 4 floors (Floors 4, 5, 6 & 15) as the smoking floor whereas the other floors have been designated as non-smoking floors.

Once again, thank you & I hope that you will give us another opportunity by gracing us with your kind presence once again.

Thank you & kind regards,
Abdul Latib Bin Omar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

the hotel is in a good location, you can reach a lot of sites in KL in walking distance, the room was very basic, quiet clean, no wifi is ridiculous in the 21st century
for 1-2 nights stay it s ok, but don't expect too much

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lomexito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGHRKL_Latib, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity by gracing us with your kind presence once again.

Thank you & kind regards,
Abdul Latib Bin Omar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel seems well located for the night markets and busy streets as well as the nearby shopping malls. The rooms could do with an upgrade - looked tired. The bathrooms - while big - definitely need some renovation and TLC. We had a faulty safe and asked for it to be fixed but this only happened the next day when I insisted on speaking to the manager. The sugar and tea was not even replaced after the room was cleaned. The walls are very thin and noisy inconsiderate neighbors will keep you awake especially when the doors bang closed. We had an interleading door which our neighbor tried to open and it did - very worrying especially if you not in the room - we had to move furniture in front of it to make sure it can't be opened.The gym is terrible - small, hot and not enough equipment and weights. Staff are extremely friendly which is a plus point. Breakfast was a very good, large selection.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank adhir25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGHRKL_Latib, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur. I regret to hear that you had an unpleasant experience while staying with us. In order for us to make any future stays for you & our other guests as safe as possible, would it be possible for your kind self to let us know the room number you stayed in so that we may make the proper repairs needed?

Thank you for your kind review regarding our team members. As for the hotel location, we are very fortunate to be at one of the most strategic locations.

Once again, thank you & I hope that you will give us another opportunity by gracing us with your kind presence once again.

Thank you & kind regards,
Abdul Latib Bin Omar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Sorry for the late review i just sign up for tripadvisor, i really wanna do this because this hotel is one of the best hotel that we stayed. Me and my Hubby tour KL way back last year of 2013 Feb. However we made a mistake on booking a hotel, we checked out from that hotel and go to Swiss Garden since its just near by. The manager who is in charge on that time assisted us with out any hesitations, he even asked what happened to us with concern. Well anyways after the night mare that we experienced this hotel changed everything. We continue our remaining three days at this hotel. The room superrr!!!! nice bed!!! and the bath room superrr romantic!!!! we enjoy the bath thub and the best also is the break fast. you can have everything in one stop break fast that will help you keep up the day. Its also nearby convenient store and also the Bintang walk at night if you want to look for some variety of food. Also nearby the train station that will make your transfers at ease. Well over all we enjoy our stay here and we will surely stay here again when we come back in KL!

Room Tip: Make sure you try their amenities and the pool we havent checked it but sure we will do it next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biaaattcccchhhh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGHRKL_Latib, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Ms Biaaattcccchhhh B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us. It was a true pleasure to have you with us & thank you for your kind review regarding our manager.

Once again, thank you for your kind review & we certainly hope that you will grace us with your kind presence once again.

Thank you & kind regards,
Abdul Latib Bin Omar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Don't trust the picture provided in their official website.

The swimming pool is just nice for kid - more of a kid wading pool than a proper swimming pool.

The location is quite convenient - near to the Chinatown and famous Jalan Alor and Golden Triangle of KL.

We was given an upgrade to the executive room but the lighting is very dim, as the wardrobe light are faulty and having problem to use the electronic safe provide as we need to use our handphone to see the number.

No provision of daily newspaper and when request, was told they had run out of paper at 9 am in the morning.

Room Tip: If you has a choice stay at other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rahman2, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay at Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur. I regret to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our room lighting condition.

As for the hotel location, we are very fortunate to be at one of the most strategic locations.

Once again, thank you & I hope that you will give us another opportunity by gracing us with your kind presence once again.

Thank you & kind regards,
Abdul Latib Bin Omar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel because it was near the hotel which my in-laws were staying - Ancasa express. And we needed a hotel with car park facilities. I stayed here before and was quite pleased with the hotel but this second experience has disappointed me. One thing that we were happy with was the fact that we were able to get my room earlier as requested when I booked the hotel. We arrived at 10am and was given a room by 10.30 am. Kudos to the guy who served us. Room was ok though the fridge had a weird smell. We had to call for housekeeping as there was no towel in the bathroom. We were told that they will have the towels sent in a while. We ordered lunch and still no towel sent. My husband called and requested for towels again. Same answer given. We waited until we fell asleep and yet, no towels sent. We had waited from 12pm to 4pm. The 3rd time my husband called the housekeeping, they informed us that towels will be sent soon as they needed some time to send the towels (to which my husband told the guy that they needed 4hrs to send a pair of towels!). 15 minutes later, the towels were sent without any apology. We were quite frustrated by then.

The second incident happened when we checked out from the hotel. As I returned the cards, I checked with the guy at the counter regarding complimentary parking. He just nodded and said yes. No other explanation or advice given regarding the matter. When we were about to leave the car park, imagine the horror when we were told that if we did not have the stamp from the hotel, we wld have to pay RM 120 (hotel guests need to pay RM10 only)! I had to climb up the stairs and get a stamp from the same guy (who didn't look apologetic when I told him I needed the stamp else I have to pay that ridiculous amt!!)

My husband and I are not the kind of people who like to complain for every little things. We try to be reasonable and accommodating. But these 2 incidents are just not the small matters that we can just forget.

We told ourselves that we are never going to stay in this hotel again. We do hope that for the benefit and convenience of the other guests, Swiss Garden hotel will improve in future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryhelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rahman2, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Swiss-Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur. I regret to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our staff.

We will investigate the issues highlighted & make sure to train our staff so that they will be more efficient in responding to our guests' needs/requirements.

Once again, thank you & I hope that you will give us another opportunity by gracing us with your kind presence once again.

Thank you & kind regards,
Abdul Latib Bin Omar,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Hotel & Residences Kuala Lumpur
The Residences @ Swiss-Garden Ho...
#103 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#77 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
764 reviews
0.7 mi away
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
D'Majestic Place by Swiss Garden
#101 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
Royale Chulan Bukit Bintang
#221 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,098 reviews
0.4 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#87 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Hotel

Property: Swiss-Garden Hotel
Address: 117 Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Modern Hotel with terraced design, situated within minutes of business & commercial center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Swiss-Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Garden Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Garden Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing