We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money but noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #223 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Value for money but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Very decently priced, good location, walking distance to jalan alor and changkat. However, hotel is nearby major mrt works and the main road in front is very noisy. Avoid rooms facing the front. Otherwise rooms are slightly tired, but clean

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Navin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    366
    313
    150
    146
See reviews for
272
308
75
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in a suit. The room I had was nice but nothing special. The staff were nice. The hotel is in a good location. Close to shops and the best stalls to eat that I have ever been to. The food was just fantastic.

It isn't an International hotel so if you get a club room you will not get an alcoholic drink. I thought the lounge was very poor overall and I didn't use it.

The pool is ok but nothing special.

There is a lot of construction outside the hotel that is very noisy.

I don't think I would stay here again and would rather look at other international hotels close by.

Room Tip: If you want a good room you will have to get a suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

I've read the reviews on the hotel,before traveling to Kuala Lumpur and wasn't really concern about the negative reviews. It shows, that people who wrote about this hotel and weren't happy, very sad, boring and not ready to embrace the chance to enjoy themselves. Negative attitude=negative experience.My husband and I at the hotel now and all I can say, it is great.
Location is perfect, walking distance to the tube station, jalar alore area is around the corner, China market can be reached in 5 min by taxi (15r) or tube (1.20r), all other malls in also in the area.
Hotel is great, staff is very helpful, kind,warm, hospitable.
Rooms are great, people who complain about the rooms should either stay home or enjoy the Temporary stay,paying attention to the stains or cracks (witch I didn't find noticeable) will not do you good. And if after your winning, you didn't get the warmest attitude towards you....no surprise.
My advice, be positive, kind, happy, enjoy the new adventure and you will attract positive.
It is not hard, because the country is beautiful, people are kind,great shopping, great food.
China market-must bargain, if asked 200 R go down to 40R and then you might end up paying 60R.
Some malls have fixed price.
Enjoy your stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayyali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Good location, nothing very bad to say. Room was good size, with the comforts you would expect in a room of this standard, but not good value at the price. Sheets were clean, but had a few holes. Likewise the carpet had stains and marks, as did the couch. But the room was pristine compared to the main corridor on the floor- dirty marks all over the wallpaper, which was peeling away in numerous places. The evidence of lack of maintenance was shown even more blatantly when I had a swim in the pool. I had been in the water 10 minutes when I noticed a brown stain spreading from the bottom of the pool. There were several small children in the water at the time, so for a moment I thought 1 of them had relieved themselves. But then I noticed that the stain was spreading from all the vents on the bottom and side of the pool. All of us in the pool got out straight away. None of the attendants had any idea what was the problem- just stood around talking confusedly to each other. After several minutes, the stained water stopped coming through, and the rest of it dissipated. I doubt very much if any proper fix was attended to, particularly given the efficiency of the staff in the place generally. I made a call to housekeeping at one stage, but no-one came. And in my overnight stay, I needed to go to the main desk 3 times- to check in, to check out, and to ask a question. I would have queued a total of about 30 minutes in total for all this- I have never seen such a large group of reception staff manage to operate so slowly.

Room Tip: There is construction work going on all night on the rear (Jalan Pudu) side of the hotel- make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Well, location was the only best thing about this hotel. Breakfast was alright, nothing special.Not too many options you will have to chose . Did not like the toilet at all, as it did not have hand sprays and had bathtub that looked a bit old. Since we were most of the time outside, so it was ok for the night's rest.Room wasn't so big in size, it was average. Rooms were clean and staffs were helpful. I would not stay at Royale Bintang KL again. But location was very very good. I would probably stay next time in the same street Bukit Bintang but in an another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Royal bin tang came to stay here for the second time, although we had our room prebooked check in did take time but we had a room prepared unlike all the people shouting and complaining for there rooms not being ready, this happened with us in 2009. For the price its a reasonable hotel but needs renovation badly.
The staff is mostly interns and is not qualified enough to tackle multi lingual guests. The staff isn't mature and confident either. They need to polish the staff and improve on the maintainence the hotel looks spooky.

The location is very ideal to stay in Kuala Lumpur since the bintag street "Jalan bin tang" is the most happening street at night and you can see everything open late nights and roam around easily with all big malls nearby walking distance and easily avalible taxis. Most tourist destinations are at walking distance. Good value for money but could be better. Average $70 a night.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Murtaza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

To be honest I was swayed by price and location because really I thought..how bad can it be. We only needed to stay for a night and a day before our late flight out of KL. Like most others have said, worn looking etc..but I can overlook that. What I did have a problem with was waiting over an
Hour to check in. Staff seemed to not really know what they were doing. We were woken up the next day and asked to check out even though we paid extra to have a late check out and even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door we were bothered by cleaning staff three times. I even went to the reception desk to check everything was alright and they asked me to pay again even though I had already done so. Be warned. It seems a bit like Fawlty Towers. What was good..our room was comfortable and clean and well air conditioned and it's close to the city centre shopping malls.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malibugirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#76 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#90 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swiss-Garden Hotel
Swiss-Garden Hotel
#96 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#49 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur

Property: The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
Address: The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#71 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best 4 Star City Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Kuala Lumpur
Royale Bintang Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Bintang Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing