We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your room isnt nice - complain 1st room terrible then received a lovely rm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #44 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We were given rm 1108 on arrival, walked in and killed 2 cockroaches!! Gross
Then there was a half used shower gel in bathroom and thankyou card on table for some returning guest ( not us) room was dirty, worn , broken fridge and lamp, just yuck! Went down to reception and told them how dissapointed I was, the lady was lovely and swapped us to a diff room on level 21 straight away. Next room was perfect, clean and lovely totally different to first room, even a stocked mini bar first rm was just a broken fridge. Dissapointed hotel thought first room was ok but happy for easy swap.
Great location and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faye001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Faye001,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered with the room assigned to you. We are glad to know that you liked the second room that was given on a goodwill basis. The service shortfall and inconvenience caused are sincerely regretted. We always strive to provide the best service and your feedback will certainly help us to improve on our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

The location close enough to pavillion, lot 10, klcc by walk. For those who likes to walk.

The room is quite spacious and comfy. Good bed. Good pressure of hot water.

Rather outdated though.
But the price is ok considering the comfy ness and location.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ms_ayu96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Ayu,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

In my humble opinion, the average reviews on here are the most accurate ones.

This was the first place we stayed in for 3 nights after a lengthy flight from the UK. As backpackers this was somewhat of a splurge and out of the normal budget. We were hoping we would enjoy a little luxury before roughing it.

No complaints about the friendly staff or location. As has already been stated your really in the busy heart of the city here.

The rooms however have lost their lustre. There was indeed a funny smell in our room on arrival. To us it smelled of disinfectant. The next day it did not smell so bad. There were stains on the carpet, marks on the walls, and general signs of wear and tear both in the room and landing leading to the floor.

Everything is nice enough, it's just had its day. We hoped our money would have gone a little further.

Some extra points:-

The wi-fi is poor.
On arrival we found the hair dryer broken and a bedside lamp out. The hair dryer was replaced on request but nothing was ever done about the lamp.
We asked for a room with a good view of the Petronas Towers. We got put on the 16th floor where the view was OK. We could see both towers but not the Skybridge which connects it. Not sure if a higher floor would have allowed us to see it though.
Finally on departure the safe would not open and we had to request assistance!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJK1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear DJK1979,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur. We are in receipt of your comments and we would like to thank you for pointing out areas that need our attention. We are glad to share that we do have renovation plans for the hotel which will take place soon.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur again in the near future.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was not the first time we have stayed in this hotel, nor will it be the last. To us, the Dorsett Regency hotel is in the ideal location. An abundance of shopping centres lies within just a few minutes' walk. If that is not enough, then taxi fares are cheap enough to visit any other shopping centre that a visitor desires.
For whatever reason, the last time we stayed in this hotel, some money was taken from our credit card three days after we had checked out. Although we eventually had the money returned, we had to resort to notifying our credit card company. This time, we left a cash deposit.
Being a mainly muslim country, Malaysia has really gone to town with Christmas decorations. This hotel is no different. Christmas decorations greet a guest when they arrive, and the hotel reception area is tastefully decorated. Decorations hang from the dining room ceiling, and they are not over the top. The management appear to have got this right.
One thing that we have frequently noticed was that the rooms are starting to look tired and dated. A lick of paint would work wonders. Another thing that surprised us was that we did not get free wifi this time. That was disappointing in that most Asian hotels offer free wifi.
Just about every member of staff we encountered were polite and treated us extremely well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Ianb111,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

We would like to thank you for the positive remarks on the hotel and also for pointing out the areas that we need to improve. We are glad to share that we do have renovation plans for the hotel which will take place soon.

It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Old hotel but clean, between Imbi and Bukit Batang station. The only thing made me disappointed is wifi, it's not standard or included in rate, you have to pay for it and they charge per hour per device!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Lan T,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for staying with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you encountered with the wifi charges being imposed. There is an option for guests to select packages which comes with complimentary wifi and a 'room only' option when making room reservations with the hotel. Nonetheless, the service shortfall and inconvenience caused are sincerely regretted. We always strive to provide the best service and your feedback will certainly help us to improve on our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

stayed at this hotel for 1 night, and was not very impressed with the staff, rooms were ok had a normal standard room ( which was out dated) location is excellent close to all tourist attractions, the entertainment in the lobby of the hotel was awesome and the pool area was well looked after
Breakfast was great with a variety to choose from, as all meals are halaal ( kosher). this is a typical 3 star hotel with 3* service. would recommed to take a room with a tower view, which gives and amazing view of the Patronas towers.

Room Tip: Take a tower view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777Mrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear 777Mrp,

Greetings from Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur.

Thank you for your recent stay at Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur and taking time to post your review on Tripadvisor!

We are glad to learn that your stay at the hotel was good and that you also enjoyed the surrounding attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Kuala Lumpur.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I did not stay at Dorsett, only went for the buffet.

We went there to celebrate two of our friends' birthday, because there was a RM55/pax deal. We went on a Friday night. There were only 3 or 4 tables that night. The waiter and waitresses were very efficient, refilling our cups and replacing our plates very frequently. They also offered to snap photos for us, and were polite.

For RM55, the buffet was definitely worth it. There was a wide selection, complete with fresh oysters, mussels, a salad bar, a comprehensive dessert stand, Japanese, Malaysian, etc. The highlights were the fish, the fried beancurd, kaya pau and marshmallow-chocolatedip. The miso soup was way too salty, and the baked (I think) chicken was too dry. I also wish they served salmon sashimi, which to me is a must at any place serving Japanese. For drinks, bottomless plain water is served, other than coffee and tea. Anything else had to be ordered from the menu. I wish they had at least fruit juice and mountain dew in the buffet as well.

Nevertheless, it is definitely a cosy place, and if you're looking for a private session with your friends, this is a great place to chill, because there isn't much noise (we made the most noise actually, and talked all night - even video called a friend in France). Would come back again if there is another deal, unless the food mentioned above are improved and the menu is upgraded.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DorsettKualaLumpur, Public Relations Manager at Dorsett Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Joanne L,

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your kind support towards Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur. We are in receipt of your comments and glad to know that your friends and you are happy with your dining experience at Checkers Café.

We would like to assure you that we are looking into your points highlighted in terms of the taste of the dishes and food selection. It is our fervent hope that the commendation will act as a motivational tool to our employees to further improve their level of service and efficiency while addressing guests’ needs and requests.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you to dine with us in the near future.

Regards,
Kavitha Parthiban
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
3,432 reviews
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
Royale Chulan Kuala Lumpur
#22 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuala Lumpur City Centre Hotel And Residences
0.5 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
2,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
ANSA Kuala Lumpur
#69 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorsett Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorsett Kuala Lumpur

Address: 172 Jalan Imbi | Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £44 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorsett Kuala Lumpur 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur is located in the heart of Kuala Lumpur's Golden Triangle, a stone's throw away from Malaysia's finest shopping malls, eateries, tourist and entertainment spots. A short 5 minutes' walk will take you to the doorstep of Pavilion, Starhill Gallery, Fahrenheit 88, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Berjaya Times Square and Low Yat Plaza. The KL Convention Centre and Petronas Twin Towers are also within walking distance from the hotel through an air-conditioned link bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorsett Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorsett Regency Kuala Lumpur Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Regency Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing