We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but still has ghosts of colonial past!”
Review of Federal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Federal Hotel
Ranked #83 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tired but still has ghosts of colonial past!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I moved here after few nights elsewhere in KL to be nearer the centre, and found it to be a very acceptable hotel, yes a little tired and could do with a major refreshment, but it still retains some of its neo-colonial past - which I quite enjoyed. Room was a good size, clean, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water in bathroom, aircon worked fine, location good, central to lots of nightlife & restaurants, 5 minute walk from monorail & covered walkway from nearby to KLCC & Twin Towers, & at least two malls within short walking distance. Did not eat there - got up too late for breakfast & plenty of good choices nearby - so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    307
    218
    82
    64
See reviews for
188
232
73
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Not a bad hotel to stay in
Average
Wouldn't say must go
But if u do end up here it isn't too bad either
Bed is OK, TV is quite small, Aircon is a bit musky

Location is so so
Service is so so

If u have the money, upgrade and stay somewhere better

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have stayed elsewhere in KL and often thought the location was good, which it is. Unfortunately that is all that the Federal has going for it. The hotel run down and even though the room was in the Merdeka Wing they sadly forgot to install noise proof glass so we had to put up with a band from restaurant next door playing extremely loud until the wee hours.Our room was on the 6th floor but they band may have well been in the next room it was that loud!! We had just flown from Sydney so were absolutely exhausted. Complained to the female manager on duty the next morning who really couldn't care less. We asked her if she would make things better for our return stay in 2 weeks and she just looked at us. All she did was say sorry once. Pathetic! We cancelled the return booking and stayed at the Parkroyal instead. A much better option with a lovely pool, good staff & amenities and much better breakfast. Avoid this dodgy hotel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annette790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was disappointing as KL is trying to be seen as a very metropolitan city and this hotel has not kept up. The entrance speaks of days gone by and you could really see how magnificent this hotel once was. Also how glamourous it must have been to stay here. The rooms need updating. The sheets are all off colour. The pool towels are like drying yourself with sand paper. We had no hot water for the first day and our toilet didn't flush properly. On the positive side the staff were all excellent and extremely helpful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here earlier this year. Overall, the service, food and room was great. The only thing that I disliked was probably the receptionist took too long to process the check-in and check-out procedures.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Javier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

i am staying in this hotel for the last 15 years & this is one of the best hotel of kuala lumpur. everything is awesome here, food, ambiance, location, security etc pool area quite big. parking facility.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmoinuddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at the Federal Hotel 2 years ago and liked so much especially the location, the staff and corner rooms with balcony ,that when I was coming to KL last week with 3 other couples I said we have to stay there again.
What a bad start, the check in staff let the hotel down badly with over 20 mins waiting to be checked in, then when it was my turn the man at reception just walk away stood there for another 5 mins and did not come back, my friends and I had just waited an hour in customs at the airport so we did not need this ,so when I got annoyed about the delay I was told to wait and this upset me as I had recommended this hotel to my friends and I was not happy.
We finally had our room key after a 35 mins wait ,I still like the balcony rooms and the staff in the restaurant were great but during the school holidays the reception staff seem to struggle in looking after all of the visitors who are trying to check in.
The key to getting people to return to a hotel is looking after them at the "front door" first impressions are the most important part from our point of view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KathyRBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#54 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Royal Kuala Lumpur
#87 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#90 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#42 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#99 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
421 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#48 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Federal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal Hotel

Property: Federal Hotel
Address: Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur 35 Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Federal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right smack on Bukit Bintang, surrounded by shopping malls and restaurants (Chinese, Western, Japanese, Korean, Indian and Middle Eastern). The famous Alor Street (Jalan Alor Hawker Street - local foods) is opposite the hotel; and two monorail station are mere 5 minutes walk. The largest IT lifestyle in malaysia, LOW YAT PLAZA is besie hotel's rear entrance. For those who enjoy nightlife; there are pubs, clubs beside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Federal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Federal Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Federal Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing