We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #53 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you plan to spend a fair bit of time in Bukit Bintang, this hotel is perfect. It is a few steps away from Sungei Wang plaza, and almost on the door steps of Low Yat plaza. All taxi drivers I met knew exactly where it was. We found a small cockroach in our room one day, called reception and complained and they quickly moved us to another room. Overall, for the price I payed, I am satisfied by the balance between, quality and location. It is also walking distance to the Bukit Bintang monorail station. We could also see the Petronas towers from our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    543
    236
    53
    32
See reviews for
220
377
125
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in the hotel for two nights on our way to Bali. We arrived straight off a 12 hour flight at around 8.30am and considered ourselves lucky to be allocated a room on the 6th floor. However, on entering the room, it became clear it was a smoking room which absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke. After half an hour or so, we decided we couldn't take the smell, so asked to be moved. The staff were very obliging and moved us to a room on the 18th floor which was much fresher and far more pleasant. Apart from this, the hotel was great, it was a short walk to several shopping areas and there were plenty restaurants in the vicinity. It absolutely chucked it down one morning and one of the staff lent us his own personal umbrella until we could purchase our own, so we had no complaints about the helpfulness of the staff!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paloma34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My room on the eleventh floor was spacious and clean. WiFi is included. The breakfast is outstanding for a hotel of this caliber. The location is great with the monorail nearby giving easy access to the train station and other sites. The hotel shows its age, but I would not call it rundown,.

Room Tip: A high floor is probably a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottchamberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We spent already three stays at the Capitol and every time we were very happy about our choice.
The rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and the Deluxe rooms have a great view! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The inhouse breakfast is also very nice. The hotel is well located close to some great shopping and dining opportunities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iligan, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I was staying in the hotel for 3 days. The personnel were calm, kind and of good service. The location of the hotel is perfect for our itinerary and its facilities are awesome. I love the food, perfect! My overall rating is excellent and I am proud to come back with the same hotel and am proud to recommend to those who wish to come.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel_Bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I will never forget the good service that this hotel rendered to us,the location is excellent, near to Bukit Bintang where most of the shops are located,near to Jalan Alor where the night food market is located the Chilli Crab is the best.well recommended!!!!, we stayed here for 2 nights, the rooms were so clean especially the toilet,they have a wide glass window where the KL tower can be seen and the famous Petronas Twin tower can also be seen on the left part of the window of the room we stayed in, they serve a wide array of western and Malay dishes during breakfast, this hotel is surely a wonderful place to stay in for a vacation..

Room Tip: Request for the rooms on the left side of the building,you could see the Two towers on this side.Enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAYUHAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I knew that I wanted to stay in Bukit Bintang, since it would be accessible to restaurants, malls, and public transportation. Hotel Capitol's location, just off Jalan BB, was exactly what I had in mind. It's two blocks off the monorail, and just one block from Jalan Alor, where I had many delicious meals. I stayed on the fifth floor, looking towards the two malls, so I had quiet, which was also more important to me than the views of the towers.

Room was sparse, but clean and utilitarian. Bathroom was modern and had great water pressure for the shower. There was a small fridge, ironing board, coffee maker. Wifi was a bit spotty at times, but since I only really used it to check e-mail and maps on my phone, it was fine. Didn't sign up for breakfast since there's enough food places around the area.

Would stay here again. Hotel satisfied my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aptobias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#84 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#57 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#79 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#47 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#38 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing