We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the heart of Bukit Bintang!”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #56 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Right in the heart of Bukit Bintang!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Without a shadow of a doubt, the strongest point for this hotel is its locality. It's practically right in the middle of Bukit Bintang and only a few minutes walking distance from two Monorail Stations (Bukit Bintang & Imbi but in my opinion Imbi is closer), Jalan Alor, Berjaya Times Square and other iconic places in Bukit Bintang. The room is quite small but nonetheless comfortable. However, if you're traveling on a tight budget, this hotel might be slightly out of range. But if you're on a honeymoon or it's your first visit to KL, then you should give this hotel a try and spend a little bit more. You won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room a little bit further away from the lifts as it could get noisy especially late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    554
    248
    54
    33
See reviews for
231
385
131
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel was comfortable enough and close to local food, pubic transport and expat bars and restaurants. There are shopping and local food malls right outside the door and Petronis Towers and KLCC within a 5 minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our arrival in Malayasia our room was 1803 ,as the first room we were offered was on a Smoking floor ( N/S requested). This side of the hotel gives you great views over the KL skyline with the KL Tower, & the Twin Towers,& Jalan Alor with its outdoor food market.

After a night away in Melacca we returned to Capitol hotel for 3 more nights, and were given 1111 which has less impressive views.

The rooms were identical Deluxe rooms , but bigger than any I've used in Hong Kong, decent sized tv ,with a quite a choice of channels, the bathroom came with a wet room style shower.

Room Tip: 1803 was great for views , & I would guess any room ending **01 to **05 above 6th floor would ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raze1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macksvillle
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Rooms are large and clean and although there were a lot of people coming and going the hotel did not seem crowded and there was no problem getting a lift. Staff are very helpful and will help you organise private tours if you want to visit attractions that are not easily accessible. Walking distance to the Big market and China town and little India. Fr homesick Aussies there is an Aussie steakhouse just down the road and for homesick Irish an Irish pub as well. Great smorgasbord breakfast but it is a bit pricy.

Room Tip: There are metro works happening just up the road so try and get a room on the other side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a good experience with Capitol Hotel. The front office staff Mr.Anuar is a friendly guy & helped us to check in to one of the rooms at 8:30 in the morning even though check-in time was 3:00pm.. The other room was ready by 1:00 pm.. Also, after checkout at 12:00 noon, they allowed us to keep our baggage in the front office till 3:00pm for us to go out shopping. They also gave us connecting rooms without prior request, which was convenient for us. Good rooms & housekeeping & the location. Only problem was the continous sound of the lifts.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tijo_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Overall it was a good experience staying here. Staff were friendly and helpful, hotel location is basically in the heart of Bukit Bintang. Unfortunately my only negative was coming back to our room smelling like smoke as the next door hotel room had guest who smoked and the adjoining door let some of the smoke in. Bathroom was large and the hotel was clean. Would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richie_b983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at the Capitol Hotel in Kuala Lumpur for three nights as a stop over on a trip to Bali. We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, there was nothing to complain about at all. We were on the 15th floor and had a lovely view of the Petronas Towers both day and night. The room was large and the bathroom great. It had all the facilities we needed ,seperate bath and shower cubical, hair drier even an ironing board. We were also supplied with bottled water and tea and coffee making facilities. The Capitol is centrally situated in K.L.and is only a few minutes walk from the shops with all their sales and lots of restaurants. We walked around quite a bit and used the monorail to visit the street market in china town, lots of bargains but you must haggle over the prices. We also visited nearby the magnificent Hindu and Chinese Temples. It is worth taking a day trip to see the sights. "Hotbeds" took us around visiting The Old Railway Station, Independance square, National Mosque and a Chocolate Factory. This trip was booked at the hotel reception.
Happy Travelling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#86 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#49 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#51 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#77 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#42 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing