We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location hotel ideal for families and group travel”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #53 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Large hotel just off the main road. Short distance to bars and shops. Easy walk to fantastic malls such as Suggai Wang, Pavilion and BB Plaza. Very close to the famous ,eating street' called Jalan Alor, a world-famous hawker food street. Easy access to monorail transport straight to the airport or main railway station.
Staff were knowledgable, helpful and attentive. The cafe-bar adjoining the hotel served good western food and awesome coctails. I have stayed here a few times so guess I am very pleased. Rooms are a good size and have fantastic views of the Petronis Towers.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArtForAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Without a shadow of a doubt, the strongest point for this hotel is its locality. It's practically right in the middle of Bukit Bintang and only a few minutes walking distance from two Monorail Stations (Bukit Bintang & Imbi but in my opinion Imbi is closer), Jalan Alor, Berjaya Times Square and other iconic places in Bukit Bintang. The room is quite small but nonetheless comfortable. However, if you're traveling on a tight budget, this hotel might be slightly out of range. But if you're on a honeymoon or it's your first visit to KL, then you should give this hotel a try and spend a little bit more. You won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room a little bit further away from the lifts as it could get noisy especially late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel was comfortable enough and close to local food, pubic transport and expat bars and restaurants. There are shopping and local food malls right outside the door and Petronis Towers and KLCC within a 5 minute taxi ride.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our arrival in Malayasia our room was 1803 ,as the first room we were offered was on a Smoking floor ( N/S requested). This side of the hotel gives you great views over the KL skyline with the KL Tower, & the Twin Towers,& Jalan Alor with its outdoor food market.

After a night away in Melacca we returned to Capitol hotel for 3 more nights, and were given 1111 which has less impressive views.

The rooms were identical Deluxe rooms , but bigger than any I've used in Hong Kong, decent sized tv ,with a quite a choice of channels, the bathroom came with a wet room style shower.

Room Tip: 1803 was great for views , & I would guess any room ending **01 to **05 above 6th floor would ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raze1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Rooms are large and clean and although there were a lot of people coming and going the hotel did not seem crowded and there was no problem getting a lift. Staff are very helpful and will help you organise private tours if you want to visit attractions that are not easily accessible. Walking distance to the Big market and China town and little India. Fr homesick Aussies there is an Aussie steakhouse just down the road and for homesick Irish an Irish pub as well. Great smorgasbord breakfast but it is a bit pricy.

Room Tip: There are metro works happening just up the road so try and get a room on the other side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had a good experience with Capitol Hotel. The front office staff Mr.Anuar is a friendly guy & helped us to check in to one of the rooms at 8:30 in the morning even though check-in time was 3:00pm.. The other room was ready by 1:00 pm.. Also, after checkout at 12:00 noon, they allowed us to keep our baggage in the front office till 3:00pm for us to go out shopping. They also gave us connecting rooms without prior request, which was convenient for us. Good rooms & housekeeping & the location. Only problem was the continous sound of the lifts.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tijo_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Overall it was a good experience staying here. Staff were friendly and helpful, hotel location is basically in the heart of Bukit Bintang. Unfortunately my only negative was coming back to our room smelling like smoke as the next door hotel room had guest who smoked and the adjoining door let some of the smoke in. Bathroom was large and the hotel was clean. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richie_b983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#104 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#49 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#41 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#74 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#52 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
2,310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £28 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Splitty, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing