We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the heart of it”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #55 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Close to the heart of it”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The thing that this hotel has going for it is its location in Bukit Bintang - KL's lively shopping and restaurant district. You're just a very short walk away from a really good street foul of hawker stalls and close to a sky train station and a hop-on, hop-off bus station.

The hotel itself is fine if a little impersonal. The rooms are quite spacious with comfortable beds, safety deposit boxes and nice bathrooms. There's free Internet access in the lobby and hotel bar although we found this woefully slow.

Breakfast is quite good for a 3* hotel, with a reasonable choice of eastern and western dishes to choose from.

If I was coming back to KL, personally I'd look for something a bit smaller and personal but the Capitol provided everything we needed for this stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimperleyEarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    549
    240
    54
    32
See reviews for
225
380
127
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Margao, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We visited Malyasia for the first time and after going through the hotel reviews, we opted for hotel Capitol. Our stay was very pleasant there. Rooms are quite spacious and clean. The hotel is located in the heart of Bukit Bintang shopping belt. Walking distance to many shopping malls.

Room Tip: Choose Rooms on the higher floors , with view of the petronas tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMartis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Location is great right in the heart of Bukit Bintang shopping belt. Walking distance to Times Square Jalan n next to Sungai Wang Plaza. 5 mins walk to Jalan Alor food street. Room is spacious n comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Strategically located although the hotel entrance is almost by the street.

This hotel is poorly ventilated that's why the corridors smells like cigarette so even if you get a non-smoking room the smoke coming from the smoking rooms get most hotel corridors. It also has the old hotel smell.

The Petronas can be viewed in my room.

Some staff are helpful and nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kobe89144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I always enjoy staying at the capital. The reception staff are very helpful. The rooms a reasonable size and the breakfast is good. Close to many shopping malls and night life. Thomas , Peter and roll cannot be more helpful and friendly. The rest of reception are very efficient and booking in takes only a few minutes. If any of the hotel staff read this, I had the kangaroo pins.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank patto660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Having been to KL many times, this was our first stay at this hotel. An inexperienced traveller to KL might find the location a bit dirty but don't be put off by this. The hotel itself is well maintained and the staff very attentative to your needs. The hotel does not have a pool and the breakfast is extra (we chose to eat elsewhere). Would stay here again as it's very good value for the rate.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OzTravellerBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A group of us stayed for 2 nights during labour day weekend. The hotel is located in Bukit Bintang which is great for shopping. There is an entrance to Sungei Wang just beside the hotel. Lots of eateries beside the hotel for breakfast & a few steps away from Low Yat IT Mall & Jalan Alor food street. Walking distance to Pavilion, and other shopping malls along bukit bintang area. A taxi ride of about 15 mins to Mid Valley Shopping Mall.

The hotel did a good job in blocking noise from outside the hotel, but not the noise in between rooms. Throughout our 2 nights stay, we could hear doors banging and people's conversation early in 4am+. Seems like partying in the room or preparing to leave. We thought maybe we stayed at lower floors, below 5th. So if you are a light sleeper, just be prepared.

The cleanliness, amenities, toiletries are acceptable. Take note that, as this is a no frills hotel, there is only a pair of slippers for each room even though it is a TWIN room. And no toothbrush set, only a bottle of shampoo & 2 soaps. There are iron & ironing board, no problem with WIFI connection. We were granted 30mins extra for checking out @12.30pm.

Overall, we are still satisfied with the hotel.for its value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, not lower than 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#83 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#52 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#73 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#46 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#50 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#42 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing