We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #52 of 341 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
512 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

You are right in the middle of lots of action. Five minutes from Jalan Alor food street, plus several shopping malls. Small cafes and convenience stores nearby.

I arrived at nearly midnight, and there were still plenty of busy outdoor cafes to get a bite.

The hotel itself is adequate but not deluxe. It's not a luxury property, but you don't pay a luxury hotel price. Rooms and corridors were spartan; not much money was spent on decoration.

My room was clean and spacious, bathroom had a tub plus a shower. Minimal street noise. Wi-fi and minibar were included in my room rate (you have that option at the time you make the reservation.)

I though it was worth the money and would stay there again. No complaints. I did not sign up for breakfast since I wanted to go outside and sample the street food. Cannot comment on the cafeteria.

Room Tip: I had a high floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    541
    233
    52
    30
See reviews for
216
370
122
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Capitol Hotel is a 20 storey building situated at Jalan Bulan off Jalan Bukit Bintang. It
is actually between Jalan Imbi and Jalan Bukit Bintang. It is served by Bukit Bintang monorail statio - 3 minutes walk through Sungei Wang mall and Imbi monorail stations - 4 minutes walk.

Sungei Wang mall is just across the road about 30 feet away. Low Yat Electronic mall is on right side when you exit hotel lobby about 70 feet away. If you turn left after exiting lobby, you can walk 2 minute to Jalan Bukit Bintang. Cross Jalan Bukit Bintang and you walk 1 minutes to Jalan Alor - food street. Lot 10 mall is only 5 minutes walk by going through Sungei Wang mall and Pavillion mall is 2 minutes further. Berjaya Times Square mall is only 4 minutes walk near Imbi Station.

Capitol Hotel is compact and squarish looking with several type of rooms from 4th floor upward. 4 elevators with security keycards function serve 20 floors. You need keycard to go up by elevators. There is also a security guard on duty 24 hrs at lobby to prevent unwanted visitors. Counter staffs and bell captains are friendly and helpful with answers to your questions. I had not seen any group checking in here - mainly families, couples and singles on business of all nationalities.

Breakfast is served at M floor if included. Rooms are cleaned and vacuumed daily. Bedsheets and towels are also changed. There is also free wifi in the rooms and lobby. This is my favourite hotel to stay whever I am in Kuala Lumpur - more than 10 times. If you drive, you can park at Sungei Wang mall or Low Yat Electronic mall.

By making use of public transport - monorail, LRT, komuter trains and buses, we could go around many places in Kuala Lumpur. KL Sentral station/NU Sentral mall is only 5 stations away if you board from Bukit Bintang station. Lemon Garden cafe at Shangrila Hotel/Hard Rock Cafe is only 2 stations away near Bukit Nanas station.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is basic but clean. The location is fantastic, walking distance to all major shopping areas in Bukit Bunting. Also close to restaurants and bars.I would recommend this place if all you wanted was a base to go sightseeing and shopping. If you want relaxation and a bit of luxury go elsewhere. It was perfect for what we needed. The only negative was that they basically just ignored our request for interconnecting and non smoking rooms even though we booked our room months before and repeated our request again a few days before and it still didn't happen. Still would stay again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was recommended for a personal stay. The location was good being close to a lot of shopping areas and eating places. Staff were just ok and it hit or miss depending on the day. The breakfast was ok for the price and the room was ok as well. The housekeeping staff were good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steven f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stay for one night. The room is clean and comfortable bed. The hotel is strategically located at Bukit Bintang and close proximity to Berjaya Time square, Lot 10, Sungei Wang, Low Yat Plaza. A working distance from Jalan Imbi Monorail and Bukit Bintang Station. Easily available of good food and night life.

Room Tip: Choose Higher floor for a quiet atmosphere and a great view of the Bukit Bintang area at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churrinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The location of this hotel is great. It's near the Low Yat Plaza to shop for electronics(for guys) and Berjaya Times Square for great shopping experience (for the ladies.. haha). You will have no problem in finding foods (many nearby mamak restaurants here) and for transportation, there is a nearby monorail for people who wish to have cheap transport and wants to avoid KL during its worst traffic hours. They have great services and the staffs are particularly helpful. They even explain on how to use the lift! I was really glad or I will be panic. Their lift have this special safety for their customers as only room card holder can use the lifts. The only downside is that for those who drive to this hotel as they do not have their own parking lot and the traffic here is bad especially on weekends. But don't fret as you can park at the nearby Low Yat Plaza's parking lot which is also part of the hotel services.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dkopsunintended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Upgrade to superior from deluxe, the room is spacious free minibar every day, the room aminities is great. The room is clean and comfort. The hotel located is walking distance from bukit bintang monorel, the famous jl. Alor, and many famous mall. Will come back again here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Winanda26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#82 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#78 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#49 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#38 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#47 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#59 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Property: Capitol Hotel
Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing