We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great price”
Review of Capitol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capitol Hotel
Ranked #54 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I was in hurry that day,not in the mood of searching for a place to spend a night so i just went in..and ask the reception for a room. Since it was around school holiday, a few room available. Luckily i got a room which cost me RM262 located around 13th floor. The room was great..cosy and make me feel regret i have to leave on 5.00 am..to catch my flight..how I miss the room..haha..well great place to stay ..nearby some great attraction.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank denkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

455 - 461 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

Well positioned for the shopping centres, monorail and transport links, lovely comfortable and quite spacious room with a good view of the city (we were on one of the top floors though). Friendly staff with good English and local info

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for only a few nights in february 2014. We were so impressed with the location, it was only a street away from Bukit Bintang and there were numerous bars and restaurants even closer. We loved our room, it was very comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous. We paid to have the buffet breakfast which was great, there was heaps of options and the food was lovely. Lots of the staff had trouble talking english but they were still really helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kaysee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We only stayed here for a night and the hotel was quite nice. The hotel shares the carpark with Lowyat Plaza (which can be annoying if you have alot of luggage to carry) and you basically have to park your car and cross the road to the hotel. The reception staff was friendly and we were allocated a room with a very nice view of the Twin towers, KL towers and the surroundings. The room looked very clean and tidy and the bathroom was up to the mark. However, AC in the room was very low/weak and a technician came to fix this but was not really successful in it. However, If you are in bukit bintang for food and shopping, this hotel is ideally located close to Jalan Alor (the food street), BB plaza, Sungei wang, Lowyat (for electronic needs), Berjaya times Square and also Pavillion shopping Mall. There is also a Starbucks Coffee outlet just across the road. Just a word of advice; Please be careful in selecting the restaurants and food around this region as there are some food places that look very dirty, unhygienic and unhealthy. It is always good to pay some extra cash and select a healthy restaurant than go with cheaper food, then fall ill and spend more money on your health issues. Good luck folks. Enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cooldemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at Hotel Capitol in Malaysia for a few days - I wasn't impressed by the hotel as a whole. The room was average - it looks like it has been renovated but you can see areas where shortcuts were taken. The duvets were simply two flat sheets wrapped tightly to the bed with a duvet inner between them. Breakfast didn't cater much for a European taste. Overall if you're a tourist wanting to experience a bit of Kuala Lumpur, rather go closer to the Petrona's Towers as that's where you'll feel safer and less like you're living in a street fare.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rasza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Had a wonderful Iftar here at Capitol Hotel. The food was excellent with good choices of local cuisine. The menu really fits for buka puasa with the masakan kampung. The variety of food is sufficient, not TOO MUCH for you to not know what to eat and over eating. Should check out the fried stuff. All you can eat CEMPEDAK GORENG!!! Although space is quite limited but the service is pretty good. A huge thanks to Mr Jikar and Ms Kathy for the good hosting. Will definitely recommend to come to this place for dining.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LiquidDream869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

You are right in the middle of lots of action. Five minutes from Jalan Alor food street, plus several shopping malls. Small cafes and convenience stores nearby.

I arrived at nearly midnight, and there were still plenty of busy outdoor cafes to get a bite.

The hotel itself is adequate but not deluxe. It's not a luxury property, but you don't pay a luxury hotel price. Rooms and corridors were spartan; not much money was spent on decoration.

My room was clean and spacious, bathroom had a tub plus a shower. Minimal street noise. Wi-fi and minibar were included in my room rate (you have that option at the time you make the reservation.)

I though it was worth the money and would stay there again. No complaints. I did not sign up for breakfast since I wanted to go outside and sample the street food. Cannot comment on the cafeteria.

Room Tip: I had a high floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#102 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#49 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#41 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#75 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#51 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Hotel

Address: Hotel Capitol Kuala Lumpur Jalan Bulan | off Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#35 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#37 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £28 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Splitty, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Capitol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Kuala Lumpur
Capitol Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing