We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel China Town Inn
Ranked #105 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It does the job”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Hotel is almost dead centre of china town and almost hard to find because of all the markets. Check in easy. Avoid room 214. Not only did the room smell of damp, have no windows and a little run down, but it is right next to the room where the aircon generator is kept. It is so loud, it kept us awake all night! We were thankfully given another room the next day. This room smelt fine, was reprinted and was quiet. As with other reviews mentioned, you can hear the neighbours take a shower, and if they speak really loudly, but compared to our first room, it was still heaven. Bad reception on tv channels - which wasn't really an issue for us. Wifi Internet free in room - good! No fridge, no window. Which was also fine, since there was ventilation in the room. Room was small but it did the job. Location of the hotel is good for shopping. Walking distance to bus stations and hop-on-hop-off stop in the next street. You can also walk from shopping district home, as we learnt since our hoho ran out. Not too far. Maybe a 15min walk. Also a quick walk to central market. I believe it wasn't a bad price for what we got. I would stay again. We got a bus from the airport, under 2 hours at 8RM. Starbus was the name.

Room Tip: Avoid room 214
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TyelleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    167
    121
    25
    21
See reviews for
35
138
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nsw
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Booked online approx. month prior to travelling. Requested booking confirmation from China Town Inn 2 days before arriving - confirmation confirmed within the hour. Hotel clean, staff excellent. Free wifi, air conditioning really good. Very central and close and easy for trains and buses and food outlets. Would stay again. Excellent accommodation for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjag279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very nice budget hotel, great location in the heart of Petaling Street, very friendly and helpful staff, room was clean and nicely air-conditioned, WIFI was good, would return........................!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robwaters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lived in this hotel in the start of July that was quite good but after this book this hotel through booking com. They tried to get money from my card and cancel booking when not suceeded. Terrible hotel will not live here anymore

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Colombo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Located in Petaling street.Very close to Pesar sani LRT station, Puduraya bus stand and central market. Staff was very helpful. Good and quiet rooms. Value for money! Hope to stay there again.................!

Helpful?
Thank banmal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel China Town Inn is well located. Food, cafe, souvenir, ATM, supermarket all are just a seconds walk. The hotel itself has a decent quality for the budget we had spent. Clean, tidy, toiletteries and towels included. Wifi didn't work well in our room, which is in 2nd floor and the walls are not soundproof enough, we could hear the noise that our neighbor made.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights altogether after having stayed at another budget hotel just up the street. This one was far better even though a little more expensive than the other, but for the extra 14RM, worth it.
Our room had no window, but that's better for sleeping in and didn't bother us. The air conditioning is non adjustable, but wasn't too cold for me and I usually don't like air conditioners too much.
Front counter staff were very friendly and helpful. There are computers to use in the lobby and you're able to have documents printed at reception for a small fee. This is very handy.
Our room was made up every day and toiletries replenished.
A couple of negatives, the TV was tiny with a bad picture. The only hot/cold water dispenser was in the lobby.
The WIFI was good in our room, but I don't know about the rest of the building as there were always guests in the lobby using it.
The location is very good, as it's right in the heart of Chinatown where you can buy almost anything. There is a really good food court just over the street, that has some excellent vegetarian food and other food as well. It's good for lunch or early dinner, don't go too late, it will be closed.
The LRT station Pasar Seni is in the street behind, where you can also get the free GoKL bus.
We are heading back to Kl soon and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel China Town 2
Hotel China Town 2
#179 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leo Leisure Hotel
Leo Leisure Hotel
#109 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Petaling
Hotel Petaling
#113 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lavana Hotel, Chinatown
Lavana Hotel, Chinatown
#150 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lantern Hotel
Lantern Hotel
#83 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grid 9 Hotel
Grid 9 Hotel
#66 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel China Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel China Town Inn

Property: Hotel China Town Inn
Address: 52-54 Jalan Petaling, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel China Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel China Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel China Town Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing