We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Hotel Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nova
Ranked #258 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

No house keeping from evening - even I could not get a towel when I needed one in the evening
Not so friendly staff (Except the lady at travel desk, who is very very friendly and cooperative)
We booked a room for 3, but got a room for 2. On insisting alot, all the did was dropped an additional mattress in the room which killed any available space in already small room.
Wifi was terribly unstable
Very dirty and stinky rooms!! Even they cleaned every day but the smell did not go! Very difficult to recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: If you can bear the smell, go for it! it has a very good location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Misbah_Ul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    60
    86
    42
    49
See reviews for
71
65
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unfriendly staff,dirty , bad smell , low quality ,bad shower , i had ver bad experience,bad breakfast , old , not recommended,very bad memory , service is low , noisy , and i never choose this hotel ,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Farshad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Yamba, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Yup it's a three star. And it meets that criteriion easily. Great location - Jalan Alor is the food capital of KL. Comfortable rooms, more than adequate breakfast and the staff are some of the most pleasant we've dealt with in travels through Asia. We've stayed at the Nova on a number of occasions as well as staying at some other four and five star offerings in the Bukit Bintang area. The Nova, pound for pound and value for moneywise, is the pick of the hotels in the area.

Room Tip: WE like to stay on the upper floors overlooking Jalan Alor. Not as quiet as the back rooms, but a pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in room 302 and had a comfortable room with a comfortable clean bed .The shower had strong hot water ,we had complimentary water and the cleaners kept our room clean . I think this is a good hotel for the money we paid . The breakfast is okay not great but we did have some choices . The travel desk staff and the reception staff were helpful and for the price ,we would stay here again .the room we had was large and our airconditioning worked quickly .

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel as this was where our room was and it was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I can not sleep well cause of many bugs on the bed and very noisy of crowded people when it late of night..the service room is very very annoying...i tell you the thruth..do not stayed there...i promise not to go there anymore..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank yenita g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

It was late. The Nova beckoned above the pounding KL streets like a fabled oasis. So when we finally arrived, we didn't care about being given the wrong room.
We dismissed the busted loo. We casually bagged the odd decor. We quietly laughed off the leaking aircon. We rationalized the odd stirrings of sweaty janitors milling around the doorway.
Then, we cringed at the soiled bed sheets. We reeled back from the 11th floor window that opened just that inch too far. We sat in silence as the faint, unmistakable squeakings of muffled sex acts leaked through our walls and into our take-away food containers.
We packed quickly. We left. We didn't say goodbye. We wouldn't recommend you go there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If there was a hell on Earth, the Hotel Nova would be it.

I used to travel a lot for work, and I've stayed in a lot of bad hotels - dirty, smelly, rude places. One I even found human excrement in the bed. But none of them came close to being as disgusting as the Hotel Nova.

We arrived late at night, exhausted. We checked in to discover we, as a couple, had been given single beds. The staff quickly rectified this, so that's a positive. Our new queen room, however, was filthy. The sheets were very gross, covered in dirty marks and what looked like cigarette burns. The pillows were yellowed with age and bodily fluids. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. The air conditioner worked, but poured water out onto the bench for your suitcase, leaving a puddle both there and on the floor. The toilet didn't flush, and had a rather unwelcome nugget floating in it. The bathroom was moldy. You get the picture. My partner went to get food and while he was gone someone tried to break into the room not once, but twice. I had to lock myself in the bathroom.

Once he got back we decided to make a break for it and find a decent place to stay. As we left the room we interrupted a gentleman pleasuring himself in the hallway. There was no one at reception so we left without so much as a backward glance and were welcomed by a delightful hotel around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sagefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpha Genesis Hotel
Alpha Genesis Hotel
#128 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#94 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
Izumi Hotel Bukit Bintang
#84 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alor Boutique Hotel
Alor Boutique Hotel
#225 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
My Hotel @ Bukit Bintang
#116 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova

Property: Hotel Nova
Address: 16-22 Jalan Alor | Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Nova 2.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing