We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to Mrt and PWTC, rooms need to be upgraded.”
Review of Sunway Putra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunway Putra Hotel
Ranked #31 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Gotten a free upgrade to deluxe room. But room was big and empty. Hotel staff unfriendly and didnt even offer help to carry the baggage. Pillow and bed sheets were yellowish with stains. Wifi were expensive rm$60 for 24 hours. Have to go down to the cashier and buy. Will not come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear nnsntasy,

Thank you for your feedback. Rest assured our pillow covers are changed each time a guest checks out. Complimentary Wi-Fi is offered for higher category rooms such as the Crest Room & suites. Nevertheless, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

It's a large hotel connected to a shopping mall and right on the metro stop. It is quite far north of the city. We enjoy walking rather than taking the metro (it's about 30/40 mins walk into the hub of KL) so we were quite fit by the end of our stay! We stayed 5 nights.

We were upgraded to a Crest Suite (room only - no extra Crest benefits). It was a huge, modern room with a king bed, desk area and small seating zone (2 chairs & a table). The bathroom was spacious and clean. Our room had a balcony and overlooked the pool with a great view of the city. It was a really dark room - despite large balcony doors, natural light was blocked by the rooms opposite and to the side. The room did have plenty of lights though. The bed was really comfy.

As others have said, if you can't stand being in a smoking room then you may have a problem. Of all the 20 something floors only about 4 were designated non-smoking. We were in a smoking room (non-smokers) but it smelt OK.

You could here the rumbling of the metro but it didn't bother me.

Checking in was fine but after that, service was appalling. We were there at Chinese New Year and so they were exceptionally busy but trying to get anything delivered to the room, from ice (which took 1.5 hours on one occasion) to missing towels from housekeeping was simply a nightmare prospect - in fact usually the towels were missing because housekeeping had run out of clean ones!

Breakfast was average - again hampered by the fact they were really busy. Mostly the experience was ruined by the other diners and their incessant need to grab all the food like it was running out. This of course was not the hotel's fault. The food was varied - the usual mix of continental European & Asian. Towards the end of our stay some foods did appear to run out - fruit gradually disappeared until it was bits of brown sliced apple, nice bread was no longer available and pastries became a bit random (not a bad thing!). But there was still enough to eat! We didn't eat in any of the hotels other restaurants.

The pool was a good size but again overrun with lots of CNY guests and their kids. There is no free internet. . .unless you happen to be in a room with a LAN port by the desk, a cable and a laptop with a LAN connection. . .I say no more. . .Failing that as others have said, Starbucks is just at the base of the hotel with free wi-fi.

Five nights here was too long with the bad service and it being quite out of the city and I would not return for those reasons. A couple of nights would have perhaps of left me considering returning. It's not a hideous place - it's a nice hotel but our overall experience was simply disappointing.

Room Tip: A high room will probably help cut down the metro noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear cvinsider

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. We would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had encountered throughout your stay. We shall definitely look into improving our standard of service to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We booked two rooms from Sunway Putra for four nights for our family of six during our stay in Kuala Lumpur. The price we were getting seemed to be a good deal and it certainly was. During our stay we experienced no disappointments from the hotel and our entire group or two grandparents, two young children and my wife and myself were indeed satisfied with the rooms and services.

Our check in went very smoothly and both rooms that we got were extremely big and comfortable. Our grandparents got a room that obviously just recently gotten a face lift and it was very nice, but ours was nice too even though it appeared to be slightly older version.

The hotel has decent size pool area, nice gym and sauna/spa, small business centre and wireless in the rooms. Our deal included breakfast as well and the breakfast was very international and suitable for a broad variety of dishes to suit most taste buds.

The location is not exactly central, but within 10-15 minutes and about 5 euros (20 local) by taxi. Also, the hotel has a large shopping centre in the same building that has a food court in the basement as well as very nice food market to help the tight budget traveler to enjoy a perhaps more economical quisine options as well.

No disappointments, good service and all the services you could expect from a decent business hotel. Good deal indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Totti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Finnish Fog,
We are glad you had a good stay with us and hope to have you with us again soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I just came back from this hotel today.

Honestly, I thought Seri Pacific Hotel is Sunway Putra Hotel, thank goodness there is a signboard for Sunway Putra Mall -- ok, no more The mall :), and my guts said, Sunway Putra Hotel should be on the same building.. Blame me, I didn't really read the map ..

THE ROOM

We were entitled for Deluxe Room and again honestly, I assumed the room is a normal deluxe room. But when I entered the room... the room was very spacious, really spacious, too big for us - a family of three.. clean and it has one small area with leather sofa!! and yes, the decor was lovely as well.

THE SWIMMING POOL

The swimming pool area is overlooking KLCC, KL Tower, such a breathtaking view. and did I mention - it is big.. with three sections for kids??? with one hot pool area...

THE FOOD

Wide range of food for breakfast. Impressive range of foods to different type of people.. :) From Nasi lemak, noodles, porridge, western breakfast and up to thosai ...

but for tourists, yes, i do agree that this hotel is located outside tourist attraction but it is closed to KTM station and Star LRT Line, and the hotel does provide free shuttle to Menara KL (if im not mistaken).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IbuEmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear IbuEmir

Thank you for staying with us. Your positive feedback will definitely encourage us to continue giving our best services. Be sure to tell your friends about us and come back again soon. Until me meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Good location, just next to metro station. 10 mins to the city. 20Ringit taxi drive from KL Sentral.
No problem during check-in/out, all smooth. Nice pool with view of Petronas towers.
Convinient free bus to Bukit Bitang few times a day. Rooms clean, spacious.
Would stay again. Just next to shopping mall where you can get all food / starbucks / MCDonald etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skopik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Skopi,
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed at the Sunway Putra for seven days early February .There was a large group of us and we were all treated with the highest level of professional standard and accommodating attitude .It really felt like a home from home .Some of us had the privilege of staying in the premier suites and the crest room suites which gained us access to executive lounge .This was definitely value for money given the cocktail hours where all alcoholic drinks are free and the snacks are out of this world.As soon as you walk in you are treated like minor royalty and nothing is too much for them . Congratulations Sunway Putra and the manager shyena you deserve my 5 stars

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room and ask for an upgrade when your there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harveyolikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear Harveyolikh,

Thank you for staying with us. Your positive feedback will definitely encourage us to continue giving our best services. Be sure to tell your friends about us and come back again soon. Until me meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I booked a deluxe room through Booking.com for 2 nights stay, asked for an extra bed. Upon checking around 7pm, they offered me free upgrade to the crest room. The check in was fast & smoothly, but i was shocked when i saw the lift area was congested with about 50-60 person, in a long queue waiting for the lift. The receptionist told me there was a group check in before me. So we left our luggage with concierge & went out for dinner. Luckily the crowd was gone when we returned around 9:30pm. We stayed at the non-smoking floor at room 1917, the room was surprisingly hugh with a balcony to the great view of KL Tower & KLCC. We were very satisfied with all the facilities provided in the room. The carpet looks new & clean. However i was a little dissappointed with the poor reception of my phone's 3G coverage. Also the sliding door to the balcony were spoilt & left unrepair. Overall the hotel is clean & cozy, but one have to stand the sound of the train passed by every few minutes, is not problem for me but some people may not like it. Also my advice is avoid this hotel whenever there is any conference or function at PWTC, as the hotel would be crowded as my last stay. I have to walked all the way from 19th floor to 9th floor in the morning as all the lifts were not stopping at 19th floor due to loaded people inside! Other than that, the hotel is great!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mysfums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2012

Dear mysfums,

We are glad you had enjoyed your stay and we apologize for the less than ideal situation of the lifts. Nevertheless we shall definitely look into improving the flow of guests during periods of high occupancy. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to have you staying us with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#50 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,083 reviews
4.4 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
2.1 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
#77 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vistana Kuala Lumpur Titiwangsa
Vistana Kuala Lumpur Titiwangsa
#81 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
236 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Putra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Putra Hotel

Address: 100 Jalan Putra, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £37 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunway Putra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Putra Hotel is a brand new 5-star hotel in Kuala Lumpur that is perfect for work or play. Located along the Diamond Triangle, the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the central business district of Kuala Lumpur and strategically poised in one of the most vibrant parts of the city. Overlooking the iconic Putra World Trade Centre and adjacent to Sunway Putra Mall, the hotel enjoys superb transportation access and provides an exciting place to stay, shop and dine. We offer 650 completely renovated guestrooms with four classic collection; Superior, Deluxe, Classic Suites and Clubs, a large divisible Grand Ballroom along with 14 other spacious function rooms that caters to MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and celebrated socialites. At Sunway Putra Hotel, we provide fawning service, creative catering and innovative spaces to make your stay not just memorable but also spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunway Putra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Legend Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing