We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service”
Review of Sunway Putra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunway Putra Hotel
Ranked #32 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Service”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed for 6Days 5Nites at this hotel as had to attend a exhibition at PWTC which was direct across the road. The hotel ground is big and spacious but the shopping mall next to it was closed for construction & renovations. With this inconvenience going around the hotel grounds, all hotel guests had some F&B discount(30%-50%) at all hotel CoffeeShop, Jap Rest which I found it good n useful.
Room itself was clean and big and had a good view of KL city. LRT train stn was next to hotel if you have to go to the city if not, one can take a taxi just outside the hotel.
Staff was generally polite and offers good service at hotel lobby.
The hotel is useful if you are there attending exhibition at PTWC but as family staying, it will cause some inconvenience as there are no shopping mall/food around hotel area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear NgGregory, Thank you for spending your time to give us a kind feedback on your recent stay. With the premises undergoing renovation, our F&B Outlets offer varieties of promotions and discounts to our in-house guests. In the hope that our Guests will find these extra benefits useful.

Till then, we sure do look forward to welcome you back at Sunway Putra Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    529
    192
    69
    53
See reviews for
328
435
96
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

i,m first to malaysia.First time visitors to KL. hotel location opposite from PWTC/kualalumpur book fair. near to LRT.
PWTC is right on the opposite side od the street and monorail to city centre just few minutes walk.
my room upgrade to suite/family room. very confortable. thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendrajabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Hendrajabal, I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I am glad to read that you had a comfortable stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you again at Sunway Putra Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

At times this hotel has nice offers and can be booked quit cheap. It's a nice hotel, very nice rooms, clean, good pool. Value for money if you can book it below 250rm a night. The only disadvantage to me is that it's a bit out the loop. You can't walk to town. Having said that , the trainstation is just around the corner. And if you walk for 10/15 minutes you are at the nearest monorail station. That brings you to downtown KL in less then 10 minutes. So it's an luxury recommended hotel, if the price is below 250rm!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank twofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Twofinger, Thank you so much for your encouraging review of our hotel. We sincerely hope to see you again soon at Sunway Putra Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Construction works going on at this hotel, it is hard to find the entrance. Also pretty basic for the price you pay, but the rooms are large. I wouldn't have said it was a five star hotel (maybe three?) breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vivethejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Kelly D, Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast spread. Nevertheless, the current refurbishment is only temporary; once completed, we will be a brand new product.

Thank you for your support and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level Contributor
210 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Check in and check out procedures were fast; all staff was very friendly and kind.
Lobby and pool are very nice; gym is OK.
PWTC is right on the opposite side od the street and monorail to city centre just few minutes walk.
Breakfast is extremely good, couldn't ask for more.
Rooms are quite big but furnitures would need to be renovate.
I could get a shower at the gym facility late in the evening even though I checked out in the morning.
On a free day from work I took a 3 hours tour to Batu Caves offered by the "tour operator" in the lobby but on the way to the Caves bus stopped in two shops; if I may suggest take the train instead.
PLUS
perfect position for PWTC
great breakfast
extremely good staff

MINUS
Rooms furnitures need to be renovate

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Michele B, Thank you very much for your review and support. Your wonderful comments that the staffs are friendly and kind are most appreciated and I am equally delighted to know that you enjoyed our breakfast.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sunway Putra Hotel soon.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

First thing before I book this hotel. Everyone said it's old and small.

When I arrived hotel front upgrade me to suite room that very huge !! very confortable. Every staff take care and very kindness they help me and advice me alot for first trip in Malaysia.

Also there are promotion in Japanese restaurant 50% Discount for customer.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SaLaPaOSiWaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Salapaosiwan, Thank you for the lovely comments. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

We hope to see you again soon at Sunway Putra Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for five days which was probably five days too long. On my previous trip to KL I stayed at the Sunway lagoon resort and had a great experience so when I saw the name Sunway and seeing that it was a 5 star hotel I didn't hesitate to book.

Upon arriving we realised that there was massive construction going on with jackhammering and drilling as loud as could be and no one to greet us when we walked through the doors. Unsure of where to go we walked over to the elevators and saw that the lobby was on the ninth floor. Check in was okay, but when we got to our 'superior' room we were immediately depressed. The room was tiny, with an old TV from the 90's with only one sports channel that worked despite others being advertised as working. The noise from the jackhammering was giving us a headache and the bath tub was dirty. We politely informed the staff at the front desk that the noise from the renovations were not advertised on agoda or booking.com or last minute.com.au and that after being up at 3 am we wanted to sleep. To their credit they upgraded us to a suite on the 23rd floor which was much nicer and we were happy with that, as we didn't want to complain. (There are two separate lifts to catch to get from ground level to the floors which can be extremely time consuming and frustrating)

We ordered room service when we settled in, expecting a nice meal as it was a five star hotel, and when it arrived 40 minutes later we were again disappointed. My burger was half cooked and cold and the carbonara had an old sausage on top of it and looked unedible so we halfheartedly picked at it and left the rest. The next morning we were more optimistic so we went down to breakfast and paid as it wasn't included in our room deal. There were very limited amounts of everything and very little western food other than toast, old scrambled eggs, rubbery potato gems and crusty beef bacon, cold chicken and cereals. The Danishes were stale, the cupcakes old and the toaster burnt one side of the toast and didn't cook the other half. Everything else was curry or noodles, which left very little for us to eat but we made the best of it. Halfway through drinking our coffees the waiters kept coming and asking us for refills, at least ten times during our breakfast which was extremely irritating and resulted in three cups of cold coffee sitting at the table that we didn't want and us feeling guilty for not drinking it. They also cleared the plates as you were still chewing the last mouthful which again felt strange as they were standing there watching you eat.

Much to our delight there was a mosque that sounded as though it was directly underneath our room with people shouting prayers and singing at 5am- and at all other times throughout the day and night which unfortunately disturbed us. There is also a defence convention in the close vicinity which means that army helicopters circled the building and random explosions made us jump, not too sure when that finishes though.

We needed to get money changed so we decided to explore the neighbourhood- don't, unless you want to get robbed or murdered and don't walk around by yourself if you can help it. The monorail station was supposed to be close but was at least a twenty minute walk away, and it was often raining so that option was out. The train station was close, so close in fact that the train shakes the building and keeps you up at night when it goes past every ten minutes. There is no service at the concierge to book a taxi, so you literally have to stand out in the street and wave your arms around like a lunatic hoping that someone will pull over, once we waited up to half an hour before we got one, they don't like stopping there because it's on the outskirts of the city. Another thing we found was that instead of putting the meter on when we told them what hotel we were staying at they charged us 25RM every time no matter how close we were to the hotel, after passing up about five offers from five different taxis we realised that we had to pay that otherwise we wouldn't get home.

If you are a tourist and want to do some sightseeing I would definitely choose somewhere else, even a four star in the city would be better than this it might have been nice in the 90's but stay away at least until the renovations are done which is at least 2015.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayPutra1112, General Manager at Sunway Putra Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Beckie_15, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Sunway Putra Hotel. We are disappointed that in this instance we did not meet your expectations. I have noted on your comments in regards to the massive renovation of the shopping mall, it just baffles me as the website portals showed the renovation notice rather clearly. The arrangements for our Guests to use another lift in order to proceed to their rooms are purely due to security and safety reasons. As for the services at the Coffee House, I do agree with you that my team needs some improvement. Well, rest assured that all feedbacks are well noted and much appreciated. Every single comment is looked into and actions taken remain under the management’s view.

Once again, thank you for your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I may address any specific concern.

Till then, we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again, and restore your faith at Sunway Putra Hotel once our mall is ready.

Best Regards,
Ron Hasni Yusoff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Seri Pacific Hotel
Seri Pacific Hotel
#53 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#42 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
1.6 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
2.1 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Kuala Lumpur City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Putra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Putra Hotel

Property: Sunway Putra Hotel
Address: 100 Jalan Putra, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunway Putra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Putra Hotel is a brand new 5-star hotel in Kuala Lumpur that is perfect for work or play. Located along the Diamond Triangle, the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the central business district of Kuala Lumpur and strategically poised in one of the most vibrant parts of the city. Overlooking the iconic Putra World Trade Centre and adjacent to Sunway Putra Mall, the hotel enjoys superb transportation access and provides an exciting place to stay, shop and dine. We offer 650 completely renovated guestrooms with four classic collection; Superior, Deluxe, Classic Suites and Clubs, a large divisible Grand Ballroom along with 14 other spacious function rooms that caters to MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and celebrated socialites. At Sunway Putra Hotel, we provide fawning service, creative catering and innovative spaces to make your stay not just memorable but also spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunway Putra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Legend Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing