We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel at great value”
Review of Sunway Putra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunway Putra Hotel
Ranked #32 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2009

After we travelled in Malaysia for 3 weeks, we stayed 1 night in The Legend. It has exceeded our expectations: very nice room and helpfull staff. For the price we paid, we didn't expect this kind of service and quality. Check-in took a bit long, but that can happen. We had dinner at the Japanese restaurant at the 11th floor, with great view on the city, and choice of more than 60 Japanese menus (buffet!).
The location could be better: if you've just 1 or 2 days, I would recommend to stay in the middle of the Golden Triangle or KLCC. But with the metro you reach that area in a couple of minutes. This hotel is really worth the money.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-ter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2009

The Legend - offers great staying experience at very affordable price. Hotel is very very conveniently located - opposite to business centre, near Metro station and over Mall. Rooms are very nice with all 5 star facilities, swimming pool at 7th floor, bar etc.. Breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DRP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I did stay with my other 50 colleagues and found it extremely comfortable . Rooms are good and staffs too.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DR_APAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

the best place to stay at malaysia, i never forget.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajaAssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Stayed in the Legend on an overnight in KL and felt like we had stepped back in time to the 80's - a big, faceless hotel where you are processed through the system - eveything just felt tired, from the none to special bathrooms with washed to many times towels to the chipped and daggy furniture in the rooms - not a place to stay, just a place to sleep - looked at it's best with all the lights out.

Pool full of children and in the shade for most of the day.

Good location.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank QuailOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

Its is said that Kuala Lumpur has more cheaper 5 star hotels than anywhere else in the world which attracted us to Kuala Lumpur for 3 days. We choose the Legend Hotel and got an excellent price on a Junior Suite.

When we arrived we were actually upgraded free of charge to a Legend Crest room which was huge. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, sitting room with its own sofa and chairs, free computer to use with internet and a great balcony view of the KL skyline including the Petronis towers and KL Tower.

There were fresh towels each day, bathrobes for both of us plus a spare. Each bathroom contained a huge bath and the one a walk in shower which had the most powerful shower I have experienced. The one let down in the bathroom was water took a long time to warm up.

The hotel itself was very nice with a nice lobby situated on the 9th floor which was no problem as plentiful lifts at the entrance got you straight there.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down with what I would call an average selection of foods really for this standard of hotel. The other annoyance was the security guards who seemed to walk around at breakfast past all the tables and the over eagerness of the staff to get you tea/coffee and clear things as soon as you moved; you just did not feel relaxed here.

The hotel is served by excellent transport and the station right.

We were invited into the legend crest lounge for cocktails and nibbles at any time but when I asked what cocktails she was unsure and asked me to name what I wanted. After naming a few she had a blank look on her face and we finally came to a stalemate with a vodka coke. So we did not use this again.

The hotel had an excellent pool, Jacuzzi, and a small gym. It was also served by some excellent restaurants of which we gave the Chinese a try and that was just excellent with a discount being applied due to being hotel guests.

Another little annoyance was security again at night time and the evening as you could here them walk past the room and the walkie talkies going off but to be fair this was not to late.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chocolate-eater666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

Hotel lobby and check in counter, located on the 9th floor. Carpark was dark and old and spooky. The entire hotel looks and feels like Kuala Lumpur in the 80's, we felt like we travelled backwards into time. The lights in the hotel were set dimly even the corridors and room. We booked an Executive Deluxe room and it looked like a 2 star hotel room. At 11.30pm our bathtub leaked while my 6 years old son was taking a bath and my elderly wheelchaired bound mother was in the toilet washing her face. Thank goodness,my elderly mother or son didn't slip and fall. Housekeeping came and a pass ME A TOWEL instead of bring a mop to dry the floor. Told him the situation requires him to mop the floor, with a blurry face he left. Then came the plumber, they wanted to fix the tub AT THAT HOUR!! Then came housekeeping again and brought again more TOWELS. He use his feet and towels to wipe the floor clean..

Executive deluxe rooms comes with internet and with PC provided. But can't use the PC for any office work and the USB port cannot be used to upload anything, it was strictly for internet surfing which they did not emphasis on the hotel website. So i was not able to do my office work..

The mall is not fantastic. Few weirdos who will stare at tourist like we invaded their territory. Not a safe area for woman and children..

That very night I told the reception that I am checking out the next morning..

I travel to KL frequently like once a month and always stayed at the Impiana hotel but since this trip my wheel chair bound mother was with me so I thought will be good to get a hotel with a mall next to it. I really regretted my decision and felt so sorry for my mother that her trip was a nightmare and the standard of the hotel. The legend claims to be 4 star but this hotel does not even deserves to be rated a 3 star.

The next day I checked into Impiana and my mother and son was so happy. It was like they went to hell and then to heaven..

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sheilz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Seri Pacific Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#50 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
1,088 reviews
4.4 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Kuala Lumpur / Malaysia
2.1 mi away
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
Somerset Ampang Kuala Lumpur
#17 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
Pacific Regency Hotel Suites
#82 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,062 reviews
1.2 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#47 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
2,160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oasia Suites Kuala Lumpur by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Putra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Putra Hotel

Address: 100 Jalan Putra, Kuala Lumpur 50350, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#30 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £38 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sunway Putra Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Putra Hotel is a brand new 5-star hotel in Kuala Lumpur that is perfect for work or play. Located along the Diamond Triangle, the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the central business district of Kuala Lumpur and strategically poised in one of the most vibrant parts of the city. Overlooking the iconic Putra World Trade Centre and adjacent to Sunway Putra Mall, the hotel enjoys superb transportation access and provides an exciting place to stay, shop and dine. We offer 650 completely renovated guestrooms with four classic collection; Superior, Deluxe, Classic Suites and Clubs, a large divisible Grand Ballroom along with 14 other spacious function rooms that caters to MICE delegates as well as high profile guests and celebrated socialites. At Sunway Putra Hotel, we provide fawning service, creative catering and innovative spaces to make your stay not just memorable but also spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunway Putra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Legend Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing