We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rewards Points”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Ranked #35 of 345 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Rewards Points”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I joined the Marriot Rewards programme a few months ago, and got a Marriot rewards credit card also. Unlike many such programmes whereby it seems you need to save for a lifetime in order to receive any form of 'reward', I stayed here for 2 nights for free as I had accumulated sufficient points to do so. Worth joining their rewards scheme, then, nothing to lose!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    1,277
    566
    183
    120
See reviews for
733
1,234
219
734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (847)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I took a group of family members to the Vogue Cafe, Renaissance Hotel KL for dinner on 31.8.14. We were extremely disappointed with the buffet dinner which costs RM 125 nett per pax. Mind you it is really overpriced due to the lack of variety of food which is not commensurate with the price they are charging. Surely I didn't expect such poor variety from a 5* hotel who charges 5* prices for its food. Choices are so limited- curry chicken, vegetable, soup, fish. and a few more dishes. I think the variety of food offered by some kopitiams are more than those offered by Vogue Cafe. There is not even ice cream (no stock) nor ice kacang for dessert. Fruits were just limited to papaya, pineapple and melon. I have experienced far more superior variety of food from 3 or 4* hotels which charge lesser that Vogue. I definitely will not come back to this restaurant until they have made improvement on their food.
The rooms are very dated even the ones at the west wing. Definitely not a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RenaissancePR, Director of Marcom/PR at Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear johnjklim5

Greetings from Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We were disappointed to read about your dining experience with us and have taken the opportunity to address the matter with our Executive Chef who will look into it.

In the meantime, we are pleased to inform you that there are plans in place to refurbish the hotel and the refurbishment project will be done in stages in order not to create any inconvenience to our guests.

Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and please accept our sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit.


Best Regards
Sharon Lim
Director of Marcom/PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sirsa
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

As you enter,the well behaved and courteous staff is there to help you in every aspect.The ambience is par excellence.Rooms are having no comparison as every facility is provided on your one call.The most important part is the location,it is at stone throw distance from the Petronas twin towers and Telecom tower.Lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Prefer rooms with view of Petronas twin tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanjeevG0yal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a week ... the staff and service are wonderful, as one comes to expect in Malaysia. They tended to our every need.

I must add that the pool here is the best pool I've used in a hotel. It's huge and decorated very well. Plus it's outdoor which makes it all the better !

Overall, the hotel is well situated, but not as fancy as the JW Marriott.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aftab T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Travelled to KL on business for a week and stayed at this hotel due to its location close to the office. I booked a club room, which was in the west wing, as my wife travelled with me and neither of us had visited Kuala Lumpur previously.
We had a room on the 25th floor, which was convenient for the club lounge facilities.The room was of a good size however as with the whole west wing building it is in need of renovation. The room overlooked the pool area and also the adjacent tower block building sites. The service provided overall was good without being outstanding with the exception of the manager in the Mezzo Bar, who was always attentive and accommodating towards all requests, whether it be food and drinks, sports channel viewing or suitable restaurant recommendations in KL.
The pool area is pleasant with adequate pool side seating and sun beds, which in late afternoon was a pleasant area to return to from work while the sun went down.
The Chinese restaurant in the east wing was temporarily relocated due to ongoing renovations, The food and service offered was good, but the temporary location does nothing to say come back again. We did not dine at the Japanese restaurant on site, as each time we “took a look inside” it was devoid of any customers.
Overall an acceptable place to stay for a business trip, which could be a 4 star rating once the west wing building is renovated

Room Tip: Try avoid rooms in the west wing until after renovation work completed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OilandGas_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance_KL, General Manager at Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that overall you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, however, your feeback is invaluable and will help us to improve on our service delivery.

We have shared your feedback with our owner and shareholders concerning the hotel product and pleased to let you know that there are plans in place to upgrade and renovate the hotel.

Your business is important to us and we are truly sorry for not being able to meet your expectations on this occasion and sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and make it right for your next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Robert Frager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days for a conference there
The rooms were old and the fittings weren't working well
Stringent smell in the rooms just didn't go
Breakfast too wasn't upto the five star mark not was the lunch with limited options

The courtesy and hospitality weren't up to the mark either
I wouldn't recommend going to his hotel

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Eshaq J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renaissance_KL, General Manager at Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you for your review and your comments concern us tremendously. Please accept our sincere apologies for having failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and I can assure you that it is not the service standards for which we aspire to provide to our guests.

We have shared your feedback with our owner and shareholders concerning the hotel product and pleased to let you know that there are plans in place to upgrade and renovate the hotel.

Your business is important to us and we sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service to you and make it right for your next stay.

Yours sincerely,
Robert Frager
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I stayed there for one night and the service is very good, the one who serve me called Florence. Fast response and helpful. Location also prime because it is just walking distance to KLCC. The room i get also having the good view which is facing KLCC. One of the best hotel i lived. Can be recommend to friends who will visit kl next time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Impiana KLCC Hotel
Impiana KLCC Hotel
#39 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
3,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Concorde Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
Fraser Place Kuala Lumpur
#22 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 345 in Kuala Lumpur
9,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel

Property: Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel
Address: Corner of Jalan Sultan Ismail and Jalan Ampang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#23 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#28 Romantic Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#31 Business Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#34 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 910
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the heart of Malaysia while enjoying a wide range of exceptional amenities at the Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Collection. Providing an unparalleled location, ideal for business or leisure, our KL City hotel's expansive offering of sophisticated guest rooms and suites feature deluxe bedding, high-speed Internet and marble bathrooms. Filling two magnificent towers, our choice of accommodations includes those with lounge access, picturesque views of the city skyline and lavish hospitality services. Boasting a plethora of dining options, our seven restaurants offer everything from authentic Chinese cuisine to a tantalising all-day buffet, along with outdoor dining next to our Olympic-sized pool. As one of the premier convention hotels in Kuala Lumpur, our venue features state-of-the-art facilities and the largest pillar-free ballroom in Malaysia. And, for the ultimate relaxation, experience our on-site Mandara Spa, with its soothing atmosphere and luxury treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Kuala Lumpur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing