We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The largest Room I ever Stayed Inn....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #62 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Dharmshala
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“The largest Room I ever Stayed Inn....”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Best view of the city as it is in the city center......Best in class hotel...... Eight Floors of Shopping Complex is Amazing.....You will be tired of shopping but u cant finish going all around the mall in all the floors....

Room Tip: A good hotel to stay in the city center and best place for shopping.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuptaVarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    903
    457
    168
    186
See reviews for
883
650
114
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of out holiday, and 2 nights at the end.

I will start with something that really annoyed me. We booked direct on the hotel website, and when we checked out the first time, I asked could we book in for our return to KL in two weeks time, at the same rate. The staff member just flat out refused to help, saying I need to log onto the website to book. I am standing at the hotel reception and he wouldn't take a booking??? I asked him to ask his manager, and he wouldn't. That experience should have turned me off booking again, but because of the location we did book again..... via the website, for about 30% more than our first stay.

Ok, to the hotel itself. The lobby is very impressive and looks great. Check in was fine, and the bags arrived to our room immediatley. The room was large, with a kitchen area, lounge area and seperate bedroom area. The bathroom was again large, and was quite well appointed, and clearly in its day would have cost alot of money to build. The bed was rock hard (typical in asia).

The cleanliness and general state of the room and furnishings was not great. The furniture was old and tired, with alot of stains. The cupboards were all chipped and the doors didn't all work properly.The carpet was not vaccuumed properly when we got there. There were some mouldy bits in and around the bathroom. There was a blood smear on the TV cabinet (this would have been easliy missed though). I am making it sound like it was filthy.... it wasn't horrible, if it was we would have walked out, there is just some work to be done.

The location is great, as it is above a large shopping centre, so there are places to eat close by as well. It is only a short taxi to KLCC (not more than RM10). A word of warning on the taxi rank outside the hotel... they charge a fixed rate, and this is quite simply a rort. It is price fixing to get more profit, when the actual rate is heaps cheaper. They refer to this as a convenience rate. All taxi's have a sign on their door that "this is a metered taxi, haggling is not permitted".... yet they do blatant price fixing. We would walk out to the street and down a bit to get a taxi that would use the meter. I would say you will pay up to 50% more by using the rank.

The pool is absolutely huge. It is on the 15th floor and has a nice view of the Petronas Towers and skyline.

Overall it was still a good place to stay, with large rooms and in a good location. It would be just nice to see them make more of an effort updating furniture and cleaning the room better.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheClarkeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0NDIMECJA, General Manager at Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
Your comments are invaluable to us in helping us gauge where we stand with our service delivery and product.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us recently. I have since addressed the cleanliness concern with our Executive Housekeeper and she has personally assured me that it will not be repeated.

Rest assured, we will endeavour to provide the best service to all our esteemed guest and fully appreciate the opportunity to do so by esteemed guests such as yourself.

In the meantime, we do hope to be able to serve you again in future.

Thank you.


Sincerely,

Mondi Mecja
General Manager
Berjaya Times Square Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We recently decided to stay 4 nights at the Berjaya Times Square when returning from a wonderful week in Penang.
We had been to KL previously when we stayed at the Renaissance but we decided to stay here on the recommendation of friends and also some good reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't totally disappointed but some things can definitely do with improvement.
Check-in was really slow and so was our check-out. This was really annoying as we had a long wait to clear up a discrepancy in our late check-out charges. I think this bears explanation so that other travellers are forewarned.
We were traveling with my sister and brother-in-law who had made their booking through Expedia. We had booked directly with the hotel. At check-in we both requested a late check-out and were told the amount payable. Because we were checking in together we each knew what the other would be charged. Both of us were told the same amount. When we checked out, I was charged more than my sister and brother-in-law for the late check-out. I queried this and was told that the rate was more because I had booked directly and my brother-in-law had booked online! This just didn't seem right to me and I asked to speak to the duty manager who didn't show but instructed the booking clerk to refund my money. This delay stretched our check-out to 45 minutes in total. So, fellow travellers, please be warned to check and query these "extra" costs.
Other hotels we have stayed at, and paid for a Club upgrade, have all had express check-out and check-in facilities for clients paying for this upgrade. This is something the Berjaya Times Square Hotel needs to look into. Another thing they need to do is create a separate Club Lounge [as per other hotels] for Club clients. Our privileges only extended to drinks in the public Broadway restaurant/bar with a set menu of canapes each day. This was between 6pm and 8pm each day. This was nowhere near as good as the facilities offered at the Traders Hotel Penang, where we had just spent a week [this review is elsewhere in TA].

Our room was really large, very clean and looked like it had just been refurbished. However, there was a large wasted space which was just begging for a sofa or table and chairs for dining. This space just had a large lamp in the corner. My attached photos will give a better idea. The room actually looked like a suite without the bedroom partitioned off. The bed was really comfortable and the free wi-fi was excellent with no drop-outs. The bathroom was huge with a separate shower and bath and two separate wash basins [see pics]. The desk was more than adequate with plenty of room for a laptop and other work-related stuff. There was plenty of hanging space and drawers for our clothes. This is a definite plus for the hotel.
The service, apart from check-in and check-out, was above average. This extended to room service and also table service in the Restaurants. The buffet breakfast in the Big Apple is excellent with an amazing spread laid on each day. The service around the pool is also excellent: and the pool area itself is exceptional for a city hotel. It wouldn't be out of place in any resort.
The location of the hotel is perfect with easy access to the monorail and nearby shopping malls. Times Square itself offers a great choice of shops and eateries. So if you find yourself hotel bound because of a tropical rain storm you don't have to worry - you can spend many hours just exploring the centre and the attached, indoor amusement park without leaving the premises and risk getting soaked.
Petronas Towers and the KL Tower are a short cab ride away or a 20 to 30 minute walk if you are feeling up to it in the heat. Sungei Wang shopping centre is just across the road. Many bargains to be had there and the food is cheap and really good.
So, would I stay there again? Only if they make the changes I mentioned earlier.
In my opinion the Renaissance offers much better value for the Club Lounge client at present - even if they do charge for internet access.

Room Tip: Make sure you check your room carefully BEFORE unpacking. This can save you a lot of grief in the ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swagman_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0NDIMECJA, General Manager at Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write to us. Your feedback and comments are valuable to us in our efforts to improve our standards of service to serve you better.

On behalf of the team, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your stay with us recently.
I have since addressed this with the Front Office Manager and he has assured me that he will ensure that this does not happen again.

We have also taken note of your comments about the refurbishments and the executive lounge and have hghlighted this to our owners as well.
Rest assured, we will endeavour to provide the best service and product to all our esteemed guests.

In the meantime, we do look forward to be able to serve you again in future.

Thank you.

Sincerely,


Mondi Mecja
General Manager
Berjaya Times Square Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandal, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Very nice hotell. The food where very good, the room where nice and big. A good fitness center with a pool.
The hotell have a central position in Kualu Lumpur and the service was excellent. The security where very good

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atlehomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Room rate offer is deceiving. Benefits of guest is being robbed off for deceiving room rate. Unhelpful & unfriendly staff , non smoking room with thick smoke smell that keeps ,emerging after re-entry to room.

Furniture a bit worn out and bed is hard.

Food was no doubt remarkable

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isadora R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0NDIMECJA, General Manager at Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing to us.
It is with invaluable feedback from esteemed guests such as yourself that gives us the opportunity in gauging where we stand with our service delivery.

On behalf of the team, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your recent stay. We are very concerned to hear about your encounter while you were here and would like to ensure that we endeavaour to improve.

As we are unable to trace the room number and the actual booking name from this site, please contact the Hotel directly to enable us to investigate further and thereafter take comprehensive remedial action to ensure that a similar encounter is not repeated.

My team and I are always committed to our guest comfort and satisfaction and look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you.


Sincerely,

Mondi Mecja
General Manager
Berjaya Times Sqaure Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

great hotel location fantastic specially the location and the service..

the breakfast is great when it comes to variety there is alot of halal food of its not all..

the food had a buffet which is the best, too bad it ends in 1030 am.. very early.

through the whole stay, one thing that keep me in this hotel is the receptions ahmad who was can speak different language and can deal with different requirements that we needed, include check in, and alot of city tour explains, he offered us to call him anytime he wishes...

see you times square

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alotaibi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

The location was good. Great shopping mall downstairs, 5 mins walk from bukit bintang for more shopping! The lobby was really grand and nice, hotel room was rather nice as well, got a nice view of KL city from my room. Guess they were really busy, only managed to get to get my keys at around 3pm. Which was fine. However, when i went in, the dustbin was not cleared, it still had rubbish from the previous guest.... There was no toiletries as well ... which must have been forgotten by the staff... I am not really particular about it so it's fine. But i guess i should point out for those who are. Breakfast was included, variety was good. Had a really nice breakfast!
All in all, the only plus point of this hotel is the very nice city view and the posher feel to it.
I have been to couple other hotels in the vicinity with the same level of service, slightly cleaner and cheaper. Guess it depends what you are looking for in the hotel to decide if it's good for you or not.

Room Tip: request for higher floor for a nicer view of KL city !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0NDIMECJA, General Manager at Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing to us. We are glad to know that your stay with Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur was a pleasant one overall.

On behalf of my team, I must apologise for the oversight on the part of our staff for not clearing the bin in your room. This is definitely not acceptable and we certainly do not take something like this lightly. I have since addressed this with the Executive Houseekeper and she has personally assured me that this will not be repeated.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with anything.
We do hope to be given the opportunity to serve you again.

Thank you.


Sincerely,

Mondi Mecja
General Manager
Berjaya Times Square Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#43 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Furama Bukit Bintang
Furama Bukit Bintang
#49 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
2,223 reviews
0.2 mi away
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
PARKROYAL Kuala Lumpur
#35 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
3,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Kuala Lumpur Hotel
0.5 mi away
PARKROYAL Serviced Suites Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
Dorsett Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur

Property: Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Address: 1 Jalan Imbi, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia (Formerly Berjaya Times Square Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
#51 Luxury Hotel in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur 4.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, a five-star hotel under the hospitality arm of the public listed Malaysian conglomerate Berjaya Corporation, is a prominent landmark strategically located in the heart of the city’s banking, commercial and vibrant shopping district. With a total of 650 rooms & suites complete with international-standard amenities, the hotel also houses an extensive selection of food and beverage outlets and recreational facilities built exclusively with a children’s playground, swimming pool, steam and sauna room, fitness centre and two squash courts. Offering a distinctive Meetings Excellence programme; boasts 13 meeting rooms and a grand ballroom, Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur is definitely an excellent setting where business complements leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Prestigia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berjaya Times Square Hotel, Kuala Lumpur - Malaysia Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Berjaya Times Square Kuala Lumpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing