We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a miss- THEFT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amigos KL Guest House
Ranked #74 of 332 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Give it a miss- THEFT”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The only real perks is the location to the mall, times square area and the WIFI. Other than that, GIVE IT A MISS. We stayed too long and wished we hadn't. The bathroom had horrible smells coming from the drain, almost to the point of straight sweage fumes, had to block the drain with a towel most days to stop the gases from coming in. The room reeks of moth balls, didn't really realize it at the time (think we were used to it) but after we left and arrived at our next destination realized all of our stuff reeked. Bed ok to sleep on. Worst part was the THEFT by the hotel staff. We went out one day and when we came back to the room noticed it had been cleaned (we didn't leave our key) and all of our stuff had been gone through. They stole cash from us (yes stupid we left it in there, but it WAS buried). Beware, the staff steals AND enters your room from their copy of the key whenever they feel like it. Breakfast was ok, not as promised. Only had HB eggs one day. Wouldn't stay again and wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superiorcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    27
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
22
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights.Placed at the worst end of the street behind the mall and next to empty run down buildings that housed a few tramps.Not a great area.Room stank as did the bathroom.Carpet stank too.Toilet was covered in s*** and had to get staff to clean it as soon as we got in there.Massive ant problem in our room , crawling all over the wall and found in bed sometimes.Bitten by mossies pretty bad too.Bed ok comfort wise but questionable on how clean it was, with many stains and hairs.AC was cool but sounded loud and on its last legs, pouring water outside.Dont expect to use lounge area or tv.The staff or their friends are on it 24hrs a day so you dont feel comfortable to use it.Didnt dare try the included breakfast due to everything else.Staff did seem friendly but not sure how genuine that was and was too little too late considering the state of the place.Wouldnt go back and id say give it a miss.There are other places to stay that are cleaner,better at similar prices. At least our last night was given free after displaying my unhappiness due to the electrics/lights constant failure and having to get ready for a night out in the dark......I cant understand the good reviews. I think who ever owns the place should take the comments on board or soon they wont get much custom.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RIGGSY666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went to Kuala Lumpur last March 2014. We booked for Amigos KL online a month earlier. Booking was easy! The owner even sent me a message through SMS a week prior to our travel to confirm our arrival.

The guesthouse was simple. The owner and the staffs were really friendly and accommodating! They even helped us on how to conveniently travel using the different transportations.

The room was neat and simple. No television (but that was not a problem since we were out of the guesthouse most of the time). The bed was comfortable and clean! The bathroom was clean as well. The shower and the aircon was working well.

The breakfast was light but good! Coffee, toasted bread and jam, and banana. The owner even joined us for breakfast and we had a really nice talk with him!

My only complain with Amigo's was that, it had no elevator. So it is not really recommended for elderly travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelcritic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had a great time staying at AmigosKL Guesthouse. The staff are very accomodating.. Especially Vinay. They have Wifi and the rooms are clean.. Plus, the location is very much convenient.. Near the bus stop and near the monorail.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We arrived at Amigos guest house as our first destination in KL. We were not too impressed as it looks pretty rundown from the outside. We stayed 3 nights in a private on-suite room. The staff is really friendly and helpful, they made us feel very welcome and at home. The room we had however, needs a serious revamp. It was dusty and very moldy (I realize it's a challenge to keep things fresh in the humidity) and the carpet in the room just makes it seem gross. If it wasn't for the great staff and the location, we surely would have left and stayed else where. However...We did have a good sleep there, as they somehow manage to keep the room dark and very quiet. Breakfast was basic but good enough for us-Toast, jam, bananas and coffee.

I'm not sure what the dorm rooms look like, but if they could remove the carpeting from the room, give the place a proper dust-off and maybe replace the old blankets, we would not hesitate to recommend this place. It is really well located, about a minute from a monorail stop. We were able to get around very easily using the public transport.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiskeSchultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Loved the place so much. Reception was ever lovely and the other staffs made a pleasant stay for me, What i loved more was the place so quite in the morning as breakfast was served outside on their lovely garden. Loved the tv channels more. Went back and spend more days only for the tv channels :p

Hot spot location 2 minutes walk to Berjaya Times square and 5 mins walk to monorail station. The rooms were tidy and worth for the money we pay. Linens were clean and fresh towels were given as well. Bathrooms were always clean.

Thank you for the good stay. Will sure recommend to friend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at Amigos Hostel for a week during our visit to Kuala Lumpur. The location is excellent. It is right next to the Times Square Mall which includes tons of shopping, food, and (best of all) a two stops on the monorail. From the monorail station, you can go anywhere you'd like on the great mass transit system of Kuala Lumpur.

When we needed directions, advice on what to do/see, and even help calling a cab, the staff was so incredibly friendly and helpful.

As for the rooms, they're basic but comfortable. The whole place was kept very clean and constantly attended to by the staff. We would recommend a stay here for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhxICON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
1.8 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
9,664 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
3.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
#2 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
2,569 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
6,933 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amigos KL Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigos KL Guest House

Property: Amigos KL Guest House
Address: Lorong 1/77A No. 70 Jalan Kampungdollah | Behind Times Square Mall, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 332 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring budget rooms with free Wi-Fi, Amigos KL Guest House is a 2-minute walk from IMBI Monorail Station and Times Square Shopping Mall. Jalan Bukit Bintang is just a 5-minute walk away. Air-conditioned and equipped with a clothes rack, all rooms have a desk and include slippers. Select rooms come with shared bathroom access. Amigos KL Guest House is a 10-minute taxi ride from Kuala Lumpur City Centre and KL Tower. Attractions including the Bird Park and Lake Gardens are a 15-minute drive away. It takes approximately 45-minutes by car to reach Kuala Lumpur International Airport. Guests enjoy the convenience of a 24-hour front desk and free private parking. Other guest services include luggage storage and laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amigos KL Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing