We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunbow Hotel Residency
Ranked #57 of 349 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This is a true budget find,OK so it does not have all the big hotel facilities, but who cares. The 10th floor location is interesting, but the other residents of the building are friendly and ready for a chat.I found the staff helpful and engaging, still my partner spoke Cantonese which helped. Great new ibathroom 32 led TV great aircond and all for around $40 a night what is not to like.

Room Tip: Choose one with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peejay40219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Checking in process for this hotel were pretty fast, all i need was to show them my passport. The room we got was the Superior queen. The washroom was squeaky clean and big compare with other budget hotel near the area that i have stayed before. comfortable bed with great air conditioning, TV, free Wi-fi, Fridge, Hair Dryer. it is a new hotel so i assume everything is still new.
The location of the hotel was just right beside Low Yat plaza. I love that its walking distance to the main city shopping area & lots of great places go eat. Just tell the taxi driver to turn to his GPRS and key in Sun Complex, It should be behind federal hotel, the taxi driver might not know where is Sunbow Hotel.

The down of this hotel is that they don't provide ramps for their guest to roll their luggage up and down the fleet of stairs to reach the ground floor of the complex. If you have heavy luggage like me you should ask the taxi driver or strong man to carry it for you up or down the stairs. it takes forever to wait for lift if you want to go down. i waited for 20 minutes when i checked out with my heavy luggage because whenever it opens its always full because the lift is shared with all residence in the building. however you can go one floor down (9th Floor) by taking the stairs on the right and take the other lift down, the waiting time is shorter because one of the lift serve up till 9th floor only. i think there is no problem going up to the hotel.

Personally i think it's just very good for the money you pay.

Room Tip: In order to save time go one floor down (9th Floor) to take the other lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

After reading all the reviews for this hotel, I decided to give a try and booked this hotel during my recent stay in Kuala Lumpur from Sept 9-12
All that I read about this hotel is true .. This is a small, clean, comfortable and cheap hotel in a great location, except the lift to the hotel. But since I went out a lot and only come back at night, I didn't really have problem with it. The most important for me is cleanliness and they absolutely have it.
But there is very important thing that I want to add for their plus point, the staffs are helpful and honest. By accident, I left my stuff behind. Their cleaning service found it, keep it for me and then the staff and even the manager help me to arrange sending it to indonesia.
I was touched by their care and kindness to do that .. Thanks everybody in Sunbow .:)).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

the hotel is near to Imbi monorail station,has TV, Fridge but the washroom was terrible, so disgusting even my friend couldn't take shower since the water was overflowed in the bath room. We afraid to take shower because of the excessive water coming to inside the room. Slope of the tile was toward the room instead of drain through drainage...............I will never go back to this hotel since was dirty.

Room Tip: I think is better to go and find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahmed500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Pros : clean room, comfortable bed, powerful water shower, easy access to shopping mall around bukit bintang (such as Times Square, Sungei Wang, Lot 10 , Low Yat Plaza) , near public transport (Imbi Monorai),

In term of pricing, this hotel definitely win it in Bukit Bintang area! It's cost only RM108 / US35 (including tax) for a superior queen size bed room.

Practically, there is no lobby. There is a small check-in counter and the staffs are polite and friendly. No hassle / long waiting check-in period and I was allow to check in early upon request being made.



Cons : Shady people / foreigners staying on the same building, long waiting time to use the lift, very noisy at night and to make the matter worst, there is renovation on top of my room, at night!

I am not being informed that this hotel is located in the "red district area"!
There is a night club on the entrance of the complex and the hotel is located at 10th floor.
Obviously this is depend to who and the purpose staying in the hotel, if you are a person looking for fun... perhaps this hotel is a heaven for you.

There is 3 security guards (at the entrance) that look at me from top to toes and laugh among themselves! To make the matter worst, shady looking people / foreigners are occupying this complex too !!

The waiting time for the lift is very long and the stairs seem very scary and dangerous to me since I travel solo. I cannot take it and check out by early morning!!

Room Tip: ask for room with windows. Do not take the room that near the entrance of the hotel. The wall is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lero_Lero_Lero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Let's start with the good points :
1. Good location, located in the wellknown Bukit Bintang street and 2 minutes walk into Alor.
2. Easy to find foods and meals, no need to worry
3. Near from Monorail Imbi, 5 minutes by walk.
4. Receptionist are friendly and helpful
5. Room is clean with minimalist design
6. Bed is pretty soft and they provide extra pillow

Everything always has good and bad points...And for me the bad points are:

1. The hotel and building is not popular,many locals even didn't know it. You have to mention other popular hotel which is located near Sunbow Residence then locals people will recognize it.
2. Room is small (what you paid is what you got,right?) also the bathroom do not have ventilation.
3. When I was there, every night someone who lived on the floor above me was very noisy. Thrum sound was my lullabies for 4 nights. I complained to the receptionist, he said people who lived on the floor above me cook every night. what??
4. Lift waiting was long enough because the lift is shared with all residence in the building.

My conclusion, the hotel is good enough for budget hotel. Easy access, clean room and helpful receptionist. You could try if you'll travel to KL and look for hotel budget with strategic position

Room Tip: Ask quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

If you go to the some place, and you dont care about the hotel facility, i think you will like the hotel.
I make a big mistake, when i stay in this hotel with my wife and son, because this is not family hotel.
The hotel only at 10th floor, they have 38 rooms and thats it...please check my foto, maybe it can tell you more...

Room Tip: There is no Better Room then else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddy2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
Sky Hotel Bukit Bintang
#106 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Federal Hotel
Federal Hotel
#80 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#78 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
0.2 mi away
Golden Suites Hotel
Golden Suites Hotel
#56 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imbisuka Suites
Imbisuka Suites
#52 of 283 in Kuala Lumpur
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbow Hotel Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbow Hotel Residency

Address: 10th Floor Jalan Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 349 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbow Hotel Residency 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbow Hotel Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing