We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guest & Climbing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Guest & Climbing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed in Birdnest few nights. Besides a really nice atmosphere and clean spaces I fastly knew a lot of people. I meet also Willy, the owner of Birdnest, who is a climber and he's always willing to go to Batu Caves! It's only a 15 km from KL and there is an option to borrow the materials so no problem if you don't have them with you. Great limestone, many routes and nice view! Good luck!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    56
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
3
61
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The owner Willie is already a reason to stay here! He's absolutely great, helpful and fair. There's not an issue he wouldn't help with. The place itself has everything you would wish for a pleasant stay. The location is perfect and facilities really good. Definitely top choice for staying!:)

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Saara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We found this place after few nights in the area and we were pleased to discover this guesthouse right outside the bus station. Being cheap (35MR for double bed w fan) it is still very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed there two times already and I would recommend it to anyone planning to stay in the chinatown area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

This guesthouse looks like one of the most cool in the area, and is one of the cheapest (35 ringgit aprox. for a double room). We were really happy to find it, until we asked to the staff: do you have bedbugs?

The face they made was a poem, but of course they said "no, no bedbugs. New mattress".

As we had bad experiences before with bedbugs in Malaysia, we started to check the mattress. As we were taking out the bed sheet, the cleaning woman was pulling it in again, quickly, to avoid us from seeing the "new" mattress. It was very old, and had a big hole, so we could see that it was filled with straw! So it was at least 200 years old! But they insisted that they don't have bedbugs, so we wanted to believe, and we decided to stay.

The bed sheets were actually full of different type of hair, and smelled pretty much like dirty sheets, so we asked them to change it. As the cleaning woman was angry taking out the pillow cover, a bed bug ran out from the pillow. We pointed at it, and the woman took it, at threw it to the floor without even killing it! The best plague control ever!

The receptionist apologized, and recommend us "Bird nest 1", and said "we have new mattresses there". As we never learn, we went there. The mattresses look old and disgusting too, and they insisted in the fact that they don't have bedbugs. So we made the question that now we always ask:

"If tomorrow we wake up with bedbug bites, will you give us the money back?"

The receptionist (that came with us) and the cleaning woman looked at each other hesitating, with a weird smile that said "oh crap", then she said "no", he said "yes", and we said "bye".

After this and other similar experiences in this and other malaysian cities, we really recommend to politely ask them, first, if they have bedbugs (they always say no, but the face usually says something different), and then if they will give you the money back in case of bedbug bites in the morning. After all, you're paying for a place to sleep, and it's difficult to sleep when a ton of parasites are feeding on you, so seems quite fare that at least you don't pay for the nightmare.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 times overall when passing through KL. One of the cheapest places to stay in the area and very decent. Rooms are comfortable although a little bit small and can sometimes get uncomfortably hot! Bathrooms are kept clean although with only two, both containing the toilets and the showers you can sometimes be left waiting for a while! Common area is comfortable and sociable and wifi works well enough. For the price you pay, in Chinatown, you really can't complain about this place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very nice place to stay in K.L.! I got a simple and double room simple but just what I need! The common room was perfect to chill and meet people! everything is clean and the team is just perfect! the location made my stay in K.L. easy because near of food transports and anything you need!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FramboizLajuteuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Because of an internship I stayed at the nest for nearly on month. Didn't regret it. Location is convenient, one stop to the main station. A free bus stops right at the guesthouse.

Many places close by to get good food.

The Nest itself is nice. Rooms very simple but clean. Lobby to hang out and meet people. Strong and fast wifi.

The only negative thing: it can get really hot. Some days the humidity is really bad.

Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timbel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#51 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.4 mi away
BackHome KL
BackHome KL
#1 of 248 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 248 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
Reggae Mansion Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 248 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
1.0 mi away
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
PODs The Backpackers Home & Cafe
#11 of 248 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
Suzie's Guesthouse and Hostel
#15 of 248 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birdnest Guesthouse 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birdnest Guesthouse 2

Property: Birdnest Guesthouse 2
Address: 1st Floor, | 64 Jalan Hang Kasturi, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 248 Speciality Lodging in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Birdsnest 2! After the success of Birdsnest 1, Willi has decided to open a second guest house in Chinatown KL, The new nest opens in July 2012.Birdnest provides backpacker’s sanctuary in the heart of Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur. Willi opened the doors in 2009, and thousands of travellers have passed through since. Birdnest 2 is located on Jalan Hang Kasturi, right in the middle of the atmospheric Chinatown district. It is close to tons of great restaurants, shops, markets and bars.Birdnest is a labour of love, and is a safe, friendly and welcoming place for travelers to relax and meet like-minded people in Kuala Lumpur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Birdnest Guesthouse 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing