We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Environment ok but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Yard Boutique Hotel KL
Ranked #15 of 328 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Environment ok but overpriced”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Location is ok. Near to Alor street. You have to pass through an alley from the main street. Didn't seem to be that dirty and dark and dangerous as mentioned by others. There's a sign board on the main road. However, it is indeed much more easier to identify the Alpha Genesis Hotel in front of it first.

Staffs are nice and polite.

Room size is relatively small but ok. Shower area is very big. Some liked the 'open' shower area but I think it's kind of weird. It's outside the air-con zone. It's connected to the shower area of the neighhbour rooms. The wall is not till the ceiling. There's a 'fence' at the upper part. One can't go through but I guess if you climb that high, you can see others showering in the next room. That also means you can hear what others say there. I don't appreciate this kind of privacy in shower area.

The room facility is ok, with all necessary amenities.

For cleanliness, there's room to improve. There're strands of long hair in the shower area before we use it. Ants coming in from the yard. A real problem of mosquitoes, we killed three. There's stain of blood on the wall, obviously from a dead mosquito (or to be exact, from some travellers). They had mosquito repellent but that didn't seem to work.

The little yard looked nice but furnitures a bit dated.

Overall speaking, given that ok quality the rate is overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    54
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
52
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great little place in the centre of the action. This place is tucked away but easy enough to find. It is 2 minutes from the bars but you don't get the noise and 2 minutes from Jalan Alor, the famous chinese food street. Within walking distance are Bukit Bintang Malls and the tiwn towers is also walkable. The rooms were interesting, grey concrete floors and walls with a unique design to the shower area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumpyoldpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The photos on the website are pretty but the one i checked in like an old room without renovation. The wall painted in marl and the overall is not boutique at all. It is a very small hotel with only 12units and located in a quiet backyard of busy main road. Still can heard the disco techno sound in the mid night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Yard is a very cosy place to stay.
The room is pretty clean and has a very retro with with a touch of modern to it.There was 1 particular staff (a middle aged malay uncle) was very nice, we were just sitting in the garden chilling for awhile when he lit a mosquito coil and placed it under the table we were at. I thought that was very thoughtful.

it was hard finding the place as it was tuck away in 1 of the alleys.
i would not recommend lone female travellers to stay here though,
esp when night falls there are many ppl loitering ard and hanging ard outside.(however, there are surveillance camera ard the hotel,but I'm not sure are there anyone surveilling it though)

Heres the worst part of the whole stay,
we were going to sleep when we cld hear alot of commotion going on outside (it does not help that the room is not sound proof) we cld here ppl shouting, cars honking,door slamming.and all this happened on a Monday night, imagine if its a weekend.
1 more thing, wifi is only available in the lobby and garden area, and if u are lucky u get a room near the lobby u can get it there too.

okay, on the bright side its close to good local food and a couple of popular shopping malls.

Room Tip: get a room close to the hotel lobby for better wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackfruitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

My second visit this year, the hotel's name already changed to THE YARD BOUTIQUE HOTEL,
Quality no different , still the same friendly staffs. surrounding area feel more clear then my last visit.
just few minutes walk easily to find local foods and also got western foods and Bars nearby until midnight especially on weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 89898989ILOVEKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The room is reasonably big. Nice shower area. Staff are friendly. Overall, it's a pleasant stay.
BUT the location is tricky, difficult to locate if travel by car. Perhaps it's the hot and humid summer, lots of mosquitoes in my room!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edztasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Found this place on Agoda.com & after browsing through traveller photos on Tripadvisor, decided to give it a go.

We reached Times Square and managed to find this hotel by foot. Right outside was a 24 hrs Indian coffee shop, really convenient. Just at the side, on a lamp post there was a small sign with Courtyard Hotel written on, you will probably miss it if you weren't detailed enough.

The hotel's entrance was in a small alley just next to the coffee shop. We made our way in and the checking in was efficient & fuss-free. You will need to deposit some cash when checking in though I couldn't recall the amount.

The courtyard was next to the reception and the whole ambience was indeed cozy and welcoming. The hotel entrance and walkway uses geometric design papers which I was really fond of & adds that vintage factor to the interior feel of the place.

This hotel had limited rooms as they only had a level. I was indeed satisfied when I walked in to my twin bedroom. I major love the minimal design, the grey cemented walls that adds some rust to the minimal yet modern interior. The outdoor shower was pretty spacious though, they didn't have any blinds for privacy. Occasionally, I could hear the neighbour's talking in the outdoor shower but as long as you blast the tv volume up, it should not be a problem.

The downside was definitely the attack of the mozzies but it was alright as long as you come prepared with mozzie body spray. Otherwise, there is a 24/7 supermarket nearby, you could get some mosquito coil too.

The front gates are locked from 1 am & if you are back late, just inform the counter about it. The amazing thing about Courtyard is its venue that is walking distance, about 5 mins walk to all nightlife in Changkat area. You don't have to waste cash on cabs charging midnight fares to travel around if you are partying out. What more, if you are back in the wee mornings, just opposite the small alley heading back to Courtyard, you can find a little burger Ramly stall that is worth trying at dirt cheap price too!

Overall, Courtyard Hotel is great for fuss-free travellers and recommended for young travellers too who are in KL to unwind with the cheap food & nightlife.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadispeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#24 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#23 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#41 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#51 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#54 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#46 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Boutique Hotel KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Boutique Hotel KL

Property: The Yard Boutique Hotel KL
Address: Lot 623 (51D) Jalan Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yard Boutique Hotel KL 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Yard Boutique Hotel KL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing