We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Checked in - Checked out” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yard Boutique Hotel KL

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Yard Boutique Hotel KL
Ranked #15 of 322 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Checked in - Checked out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Nice tranquil hotel set near the backpacker area in KL. Down a back street but once inside the courtyard is very green with rooms either side.
After checking in the room was heavily infested with mosquitos. Fly spray solution wasn't enough for us. All other available rooms had the same problem so we checked out and found somewhere else. 2 / 5

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpheywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    54
    21
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
52
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I really liked this rough gem of a place. There is no carpet or tile, but the rooms are clean and the location is the best. No breakfast but plenty of places around to grab a bite at all hours. They were very helpful with printing out boarding passes and getting taxis as well. The gate is locked after hours and the water is hot if you remember to flip the switch. I'd stay here again and you can walk to just about anything worth seeing in the city.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam Center, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Its located just beside jalan Alor in BB. Travel distance between hotel and Pavilion around 5 mins walking. the room is great, love the bathroom and super comfy bed. the staff (malay guy - who work in morning shift) is super friendly.

definitely will stay here again if i visit KL

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tiket.com

Helpful?
Thank starAugusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The room is beautiful but it had lots of mosquitoes. Spotted a lizard too. If you're not the type to be able to tolerate this, then this hotel isn't for you. It was a little uncomfortable trying to sleep while ypu have little things flying over you. Some insect zapper thing but it didn't help. Only stayed 2 days. Left with lots of mosquito bites.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really homy. U just feel like u're staying at home, but in the middle of KL.
Once u enter the gate of the hotel, u'll see the beauty of arts.. First u'll see pattern of tile that we Indonesian usually called "Tegel Kunci". Also u can find it inside the room. U could also seen the courtyard inside the hotel. So green with a bench on the garden. See it at the night, more beutiful..
The room isnt too tiny, but not to large too.. But its enough for relaxing after takin along KL all day long. The ambience makes u feel relax and comfortable. Simply bathrom with a shower on it makes u feel fresh after had a trip.
The location was very strategic. In the middle of bar/restaurant, shopping mall, and the important is near the station monorail and bus stop.
Unfortunately when I stayed here, i smell mount of trash every morning. I'm not sure where it comes, but I thought it came from leftover chinese restaurant at Jalan Alor(behind the hotel).

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Citra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

you might missed this hotel at jl.tengkat tong shin, Bukit Bintang, because the location is in the alley, at the back of hotel Alpha Genesis.
we (me with parents) already loved at the very first sight when we stepped into this hotel. the unique colorful tiles and window glass, big tree in the yard reminds us of the nuance of mostly residence at Central Java, Indonesia (parents hometown).
the aircon is at the perfect temperature, room smell is nice, amenities is great, also with strategic place at Bukit Bintang made me gave 5 stars to The Yard.
too bad i only got one night there.
definitely will recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank deapuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beautiful little oasis in the heart of chaos in the Golden Triangle area. The old school building is stunning with a wonderful yard under an old tree. The room is comfortable with wonderful much-needed air conditioning, the large bathroom with rain-shower is a delight to wash off the grime of the city. All the amenities are great, safe-box, toiletries, etc. Wifi is spotless. Staff is friendly. A true gem!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.2 mi away
Invito Hotel Suites
Invito Hotel Suites
#25 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
The Kuala Lumpur Journal
#24 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Melange Boutique Hotel
Melange Boutique Hotel
#60 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maison Boutique
Hotel Maison Boutique
#38 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
Wolo Hotel Bukit Bintang
#46 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#52 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Yard Boutique Hotel KL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yard Boutique Hotel KL

Property: The Yard Boutique Hotel KL
Address: Lot 623 (51D) Jalan Tengkat Tong Shin, Kuala Lumpur 50200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Yard Boutique Hotel KL 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your The Yard Boutique Hotel KL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing