We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced”

Hotel Star Town Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Star Town Inn
Ranked #241 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Jalan Aloor is overpriced food that is not very delicious, but there are side street options that are 7rm.
There are far better hotels for the same price but not in that area. Just take the monorail if you must go to that area from a better hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We ask for a kettle to boil water and was told they DO NOT have it!
We ask for water and told to buy mineral drinking water at RM4 each!
PLEASE TAKE NOTE:
there are NO FREE DRINKING WATER AVAILABLE IN THIS HOTEL!

NO hair dryer, no fridge, no safe box in the room!

ROOM has a bad musty smell with insecticide spray scent.
BED seem to be full of sustained as our bodies itch so badly after just a night sleep!
TRAILS OF ANTS are found on the floor!

It's too noisy at night for a good deep sleep as the police station was just opposite this Hotel and located along a main busy road, We can hear cars zooming, bikes screeching and ambulance siren throughout day or night.

WIFI is only available at PUBLIC AREA, they claim! and disasterly, the WIFI was temporarily out of Service when We try to connect while at the lobby!

We have stayed at numerous budget hotels in Asia, this is the WORST EXPERIENCE WE EVER HAD!

STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enaj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuala Lumpur hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
328 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Basic budget hotel, rooms are partly renovated, so clean, bed is comfy & not too kuch noise: u just hear doors of other ppl come & go..
Interesting layout that allows the bed to be far from entrance.
The hotel reception & entrance & premises are in a cheap nn welcoming area of the city, breakfast room is in disarray..
With a oittle effort the hotel could get 3 stars.. The property has potential, if thr complete the refurb.
Overall is good value if you not too picky

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristiano C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Malaysia was a random decision whilst back packing in india so wasnt sure what to expect whn we arrived..taxi driver took us to this hotel..is not the most fanciest of hotels but we wer very grateful to get a cheap room that was clean an comfortable after travelling for weeks..he staff wer nice enuf an pointed us in the right direction.the room we got didnt have a view it looked out to the back of the building..but we only used the room to sleep.its a great location for walking distamce to all the shopping centres an trains..rooms are abit bland an basic but if ur planning on getting out an about its good.i would definately go back for a stop off..kl is an amazing place i loved it! Thank you star hotel for ur hospitality an hope to come back one day ;-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shabba19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

its a good plc just for sleep. it is conveniently located to travel anywhere as the train stn is just a min walk. The room is clean, staff's attitude acceptable. good for $$. located opposite the KL police HQ, Berjaya Times Square, Imbi station, Bukit Bintang just a few minutes walk or 1 train station away from Imbi.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MohammadAzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.0 mi away
Metro Hotel
Metro Hotel
#75 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
V'La Garden Hotel
V'La Garden Hotel
#250 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Simms Boutique Hotel
Simms Boutique Hotel
#135 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Times Service Suites
Times Service Suites
#185 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Kuala Lumpur
Melia Kuala Lumpur
#44 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bintang Warisan Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Star Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star Town Inn

Property: Hotel Star Town Inn
Address: 198-200 Jalan Pudu, Kuala Lumpur 55100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Star Town Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Star Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing