We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bug problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raizzy's Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 331 Kuala Lumpur B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bed bug problem”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The new wing of the property (in the shop unit adjacent to the older wing) is outwardly nice and clean. New showers, sturdy beds, spacious 6 bed dorms, good air conditioning. But I spent a night there and came away with 14 bed bug bites on exposed areas of my body. I had a much, much worse attack in my stay at the older wing in September 2013. The bed bugs have spread.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    161
    62
    27
    15
See reviews for
26
122
124
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
in a backpack
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here with our 1 year old baby for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay.
It is a little more expensive than the el cheapo KL accommodation we usually stay at, but we had a lovely clean room with a comfortable big bed, very clean shared bathrooms, free breakfast and VERY friendly and accommodating staff.
It was worth the extra money.

My only criticism is that all rooms are AC. We don't like AC.. Especially with the baby, it made all of us cold at night, and stuffy in the head. The option of a fan only room, or even to have a fan in the room aswell as AC would have been nice.

Room Tip: On the internet booking sites you have the choice of a "2persons room". This is a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

When the person enters the upper bed it's all shaking, but that's a small problem.
The showers and toilets are very clean and all working fine.
The receptionist is very kind and you can leave your luggage there when you go on a trip, they'll look after it for you.
So all in all a good stay! :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Steffen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Cost us 40RM a night each for twin room with double bed, towels, air con and breakfast included. Staff are very helpful as my phone wouldnt connect to wifi so the dude at the reception did it for us! Nice rooms and showers/toilets down the corridor that are shared. Conputers here to use and washing machine which I presume cost. Whilst we are going out for the day you can also leave ur backpack near reception (at ur own risk) but free of charge!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Pros - they have dishes and utensils to use, a hot plate and supply of hot and cold water for cooking. Wifi internet is fast. Sufficient amount of toilets and showers for use on both floors, excellent location.

Cons - Noisy. Moldy smell. Worn, flat Mattress. Dishes maybe clean, maybe not because guests clean them themselves. Free Breakfast is only bread, butter and jam. Only shared facilities. no fans (only aircon) in the first floor rooms. Essentially nothing en-suite and no way to generate any white noise to muffle outside noises other than running the aircon. Did I mention it's noisy?

I've stayed all over SE Asia and I've come to know what to expect when staying at guesthouses and that they do not compare to any kind of star rated hotel in terms of overall state of repair, cleanliness or amenities. All I want is comfortable sleep, not an all inclusive entertainment package. Unfortunately Raizzy's does not fit that bill. I also expected more overall for the price but I'll chock it up to being spoiled by Cambodia and Thailand at getting more bang for my buck there.

I had reasonable hopes the first night I stayed but maybe I was just thoroughly exhausted. Off the main strip so I figured it would be a bit quieter, it was. Nearly no-one on the first floor the first night, some noise but not bad. The next morning that all changed as more people arrived and those already there congregated in the lounge. The layout of the rooms and materials used in construction of the place are conducive to transmitting noise instead of muffling any of it. Long bare concrete corridors to reflect sound, plastic hollow core doors that might as well be left open in terms of noise stoppage and the practices of the staff all = lots of noise for at-least the first floor. They open the door to the Lounge/Reception/Kitchen area around 0630 then start to bang away at dishes, trash, whatever. The door chimes to get in from the street echo down the hallway. Any kind of conversations carry clearly. When it comes to "free breakfast" time just double this. And you get up to shut the door and they open it right back up. Normally I use amenities in the room to generate white noise to help with this as I don't use ear plugs but there aren't any.

On top of this humans just being humans without regard to others. Slamming doors when there is no need. Skype conversations that consist of yelling in hallways that have to be told to be quiet. People stomping for laps on the 2nd floor for no known reason.

1st floor windows and doors are all kept open when un-booked I assume to help with the musty/moldy odor. There is some sort of moisture problem for sure. The mattress is either completely dead or purposefully purchased with minimal softness like a low quality futon. If you're tall (5'11/180cm+) the beds are a bit short and you can easily touch the raised metal "headboard/footboard". My room did have a very small night stand from all places Ikea. So at-least there was somewhere to put things.

Maybe my expectations are just too high compared to other SE Asian locations but for less than what I paid for a room here I've been used to bigger rooms with tv, private toilet/shower, mini-fridge in the room with some furniture and quieter accommodations. I stayed here because I specifically did not want the Hostel experience, just a standard guesthouse one. Lesson learned though. In KL Chinatown upgrade to a Hotel or higher end guest house. Thankfully it was only for 2 nights.

They'd probably do well to cut out the "free breakfast" and drop the room price 10RM. You're in Chinatown, get out and eat something good!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatglobalinternetgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

> solo traveller, stayed in 6- and 4-beddorm

Plus
- nice common room w/ free tea and coffee, hot water for a fast noodle meal. Adds for a nice atmosphere
- staff friendly and relaxed
- room ok but small, dormbed has electricity plugs closeby
- wifi ok, good reach on each floor
- 7-11 closeby
- good location: close to metro, next to chinatown
- showers and toilets fairly clean
- small breakfast (toast+jam) in the morning included
- you need entrance code to enter, adds to the feeling of safety

Negs
- they were doing a big clean-up (anti-bugs spraysmell, mattrasses were put outside in the sun) after the busy period of chinese newyear, the smell was annoying and I wondered if it was because they had problems with bedbugs. Anyhow, they were doing a thorough clean-up, so I wouldn't be frightened.
- ask for the dorm with window, the one without had a musty smell.

It's a good hostel to stay in as a solo traveller, there were a lot of people around as well. Will go back when I'm in KL!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

As a family on a budget we were more focused on travelling than a luxury stay, Raizzy’s proved to be competent in accommodation and conveniently located just around Chinatown. Walking distance to LRT Pasar Seni and bus terminal. The place reminds you of a dorm where you share bathroom with fellow travellers, it has cold and hot showers and it is fairly clean. The room we got was a family room, it was spacious enough for us with high ceiling. The room has no chairs or tables, only the beds and a mirror, it is really just for comfortable sleeping. If you plan to stay indoors, their wifi is fast and they have this cozy lounge where you could relax on their sofa, watch tv, read books mingle with other travellers. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast is a simple toast, jam and butter, simple as it is I have no complains since it was unlimited. Unlimited jam and bread for breakfast, unli coffee/tea 24/7, no complaints from me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DD0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
0.1 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 341 in Kuala Lumpur
993 reviews
0.4 mi away
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
1000 Miles (Thousand Miles)
#1 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rain Forest Hotel
Rain Forest Hotel
#6 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Step Inn Guest House
Step Inn Guest House
#12 of 331 in Kuala Lumpur
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Explorers Guesthouse
The Explorers Guesthouse
#4 of 256 in Kuala Lumpur
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raizzy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raizzy's Guesthouse

Property: Raizzy's Guesthouse
Address: 165G Jalan Tun H S Lee, Kuala Lumpur 50000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Raizzy's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raizzy’s Guesthouse is a brand new guesthouse in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. We understand the backpacker’s needs. We do our best to serve you well. Affordable Price includes: quality mattress, pillow, blanket, towel, soft quilt cover. Individual electrical sockets, air-condition, security locker, FREE high speed internet, FREE Desktop Computer for use, FREE simple breakfast, a cup of premium coffee or tea FREE, FREE shower foam, Hot & cold shower, FREE hot and cold water refill, FREE use of iron and ironing board, FREE use of hairdryer. Central Location, provides convenience and cost saving to our budget backpackers. We are located next to Sri Maha Mariamman Temple, one of the traveller’s hot spots in Chinatown, Kuala Lumpur.(So you may leave your shoes in the guesthouse and walk into the temple without paying for shoe locker fee ;-) Petaling street, one of the Malaysia’s heritage spots where you will find endless antique stores and delicious local foods, cafes, clothing, souvenirs, cultural performances, temples, hundred year old buildings and so much more all from your doorstep.Our neighborhood’s famous reggae bar recommended by Lonely planet, just a few steps away from guesthouse. Public Transportation. Less than 1 minute walking distance to Pasar Seni LRT Station, where the 1st LRT station in Chinatown right after the KL Sentral Station. Less than 5 minutes walking distance to Masjid Jamek LRT Station, Plaza Rakyat LRT Station & Pudu Sentral Bus Station. Less than 1 min to Klang Bus Station. International bank ATMs, Money Changer and local post office for your convenient mailing services are within our location area.Comfort like a home away from home. You will enjoy our cozy lounge with LCD TV(FULL HD) DVD player, mini library for book exchange, great communal area for backpackers, small yet natural garden with grass and flowers, clean toilet. And most importantly our friendly and helpful staff, who are ever ready to serve you better, with enquiries about travel in Kuala Lumpur, discount ticket for KL Tower, Bird park and more. Security, 24-Hours CCTVs in the building, Door Access with security code only available for guests. No curfews. Clean room, clean toilet. Dayshift housekeeper available to take care of the cleanliness of the guesthouse with our executive monitor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raizzy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing