We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Hotel Near KLCC and Golden Triangle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Kuala Lumpur boasts a number of luxurious hotels including Mandarin Oriental, Westin, Shangri-La, Ritz Carlton, and Marriott near KLCC (where the Petronas Twin Towers are located) and the Golden Triangle area (Bukit Bintang & Pavilion Shopping Mall). Grand Hyatt is the latest addition, situating right in front of the Kuala Lumpur Convention Center, and it is about 200 meters from the Mandarin Oriental (MO) and connected the KLCC Suria shopping mall by underground.

My family usually stays at the MO for convenience since it is right next to the KLCC Suria mall prior to the opening of the Grand Hyatt. Since I am a Gold Passport member and it is brand new hotel, my family decided to stay there for two nights. Besides, we have always felt that it was the time for the MO needs to refurbish its rooms. Don't get me wrong, the MO is one of the finest hotels in KL, but we just needed to check the new Grand Hyatt out.

There were ample parking spaces in basement. The lobby is situated on the 39th floor as it is now a trend for Grand Hyatt to have its front desk on upper floors (it kind of reminded me of Grand Hyatt Shanghai/Pudong), but there are bell captains and staff greet you at the ground floor once you arrive at the hotel. Once you get to the 39th floor, you would be mesmerized by view of KL through tall floor-to-ceiling windows.

To get to guest rooms, there are separate elevators (different ones from the ground to the lobby) for security control. We stayed a deluxe room, but it still had an amazing view of the city and very modern. The shower and tub are right behind bed and also offer rain shower as well. The room is equipped with a 42" LCD TV, comfortable round sofa, with detachable foot rest, and other usual amenities. My wife and I always travel with our 4-year old daughter and a king-size bed is sufficient for all of us. One thing we realized was the bed was incredibly comfortable. In fact, I thought it was much better than Westin's Heavenly Bed.

Room service menu includes both local and western cuisines and portions were adequate. Breakfast buffet was at its Thirty8 cafe, located on the 38th floor. Breakfast spread could have been better by serving French toasts, waffles and more of local dishes. Since it is a new hotel, I figured the Grand Hyatt KL would improve its service progressively.

If you are visiting KL for conventions/trade shows or even concerts (regularly held at the Convention Center), then this is the place stay. If you are traveling with children, then treat them to KLCC Aquaria, which is located at the basement of the convention center. If you need some caffeines to wake up, then there is a Starbucks at the basement as well. Getting to the KLCC Suria shopping mall takes about 15 minutes by underground tunnel.

The only complaint that I had was, as usual, of its RM 68 (about USD 22) for 24-hour WiFi connection.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PapayaTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,374 - 2,380 of 2,937 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

Not too much to complain about a Grand Hyatt I guess. However, this hotel was pretty new when I stayed here and it seems there are still a few things not running according to plan.

What is very weird is that you have to go all the way to the top floor to check in and then down again to your room. If you want to get out of the hotel, you first have to go up to the lobby and from there down to the street level. While some people think this is quite unique, I actually found it quite annoying.

The rooms are very nice and have a great view thanks to floor-to-ceiling windows. Beds are comfortable and the room design is quite interesting with the bathroom in the center of the room. Amenities include WiFi-internet (chargeable), minibar, dryer, bathrobes, shower and bathtub, etc. Although my room rate was more than 220 USD breakfast was not included (a bit disappointing).

When I woke up the next morning I noticed that most of the lights in the room and as well as the TV wasn’t working. When I called they told me that they have problems with the electricity and that they would call me once the issue is resolved. Too bad I had to check out and couldn’t wait for that to happen. And so I had to shower in the dark.

Couldn’t check out the pool and gym, but it looked very nice.

When I checked out with my colleague I noticed that he was being asked if he wants to become a Hyatt club member. And despite me checking out at the same time and right next to him, I wasn’t being asked as well (ok, I really don’t need another hotel membership, but it I thought it was strange that they ask only certain people).

When we finally took the elevator down to the first floor suddenly everything went dark and the elevator got stuck. Luckily it came back on again right away, but instead of going down it was now going up again. That was scary. After changing the elevator we finally made it down alive.

While I understand that everything is still new and processes need to be fine-tuned, I left the GH KL slightly disappointed. After all, their prices are already up to GH standards and you simply expect a certain service for your money.

Well, maybe next time. I think they deserve a second chance. After all they have a great lobby bar with a fantastic view over KLCC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThePassenger26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel for two nights the first week that they opened. The staff was warm and friendly, all the way from the airport pickup when we arrived all the way through to the check-out. My room had a stunning view of the Twin Towers in floor-to-ceiling windows, and the black-out drapes were perfect on the one morning I could sleep in for a bit. The food offering in the club lounge was excellent at breakfast, and the staff remembered each time I was there what was my preferred beverage. I also enjoyed having drinks at the outdoor restaurant on the ground level. Even though it was street-side, it felt like a little tropical oasis.

The hotel location also couldn't be better, next to two great shopping/dining complexes. I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorldCafeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

very clean hotel in a very good location. Great service from staff, nice size rooms, great breakfast options and amazing views from room of the twin towers in all of their glory...and thats it.

Ground floor is totally empty apart from a front desk manned with around 10-14 people including door men and feels very cold due to its vast emptiness and not very appealing/welcoming despite everyone person greeting you as you enter, not quite sure what the desk is for as the lobby is on the 39th floor, roughly the same height as the Petrona towers walk-way bridge.

Not very populated and at first it feels like VIP treatment as you may be the only guest seen walking around and having at least 5-6 staff to take care of your needs, after a few days this wears off and you actually start feeling the need to see other guests/non employees to make this look like/feel a hotel.

Yes, like the other reviewers its annoying not to get to your floor straight from the ground and having to change lifts puts you off from going in and out of the hotel.

Smoking only possible in the rooms.There's a dress code that apparantly requires you to be smart/casual. As i was the only guest around and there on business, i didnt see anyone wearing shorts and slippers nor was i brave enough to be the first!!

A bit pricey for what you're getting, im told the reason they dont have a bar/club (loud music) or spa facilities (with extras, like most of the KL hotels!!) is due to the fact the owner is the Sultan of Brunei who occupies the top floors when he's in town.

Great spot for Muslim travellers who can afford this but you're really not getting much for your money i think, although you could hear the Azaan (call for prayer) from the KLCC Mosque which when looking from the hotel towards the twin towers, is situated on the right, behind the lake identifiable by the grey dome. One thing i didnt find on any of the forums is that there is a sky-bridge/walk way directly accross the the street and has been designed for people to navigate their way KLCC through to Bukit Bintang. Its purpose? An air-conditioned walkway to escape the heat and humidity similar to what they have in Minneapolis (USA) to escape the cold. If in Bukit Bintang, head to Low-Yat Plaza for IT/Telecoms equipment, the higher up you go in the mall the cheaper things become.

Also, there's currently a free tourist bus which shuttles passengers around the city, didnt get a chance to hop on though.

Great City, with amazing hospitality everywhere you go but you could spend your money elsewhere at a lower price and still have a great time.
Taxi from hotel to Cyberjaya is about 70-80 Ringget and against the traffic in the morning.
10-15 min walk to KLCC LRT train station.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the twin towers are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sid_Kadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012 via mobile

It is still very under occupied so can feel a bit like a ghost town..especially the ground floor..you have to go all the way up to the top floor to check in, only to then get a lift back down to your room.

Not many options for food outlets, only 2 that I could find...,but truly fantastic location with an unhindered view of the Petronas Towers

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MohammedHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This may not be the most stunning hotel from the outside, but the lobby and club level above have an awesome view of KL and the Petronas Towers. Our room was decorated well with a park view, electronic dimming window between the shower/bath and bed, separate room for the toilet and closet. Check in process was fast. They took us right to our room and finished the paperwork there. Not sure if they just do this for gold members. One of the best Hyatt club lounges I've been to. They wait on you and the food selection and taste is very good. The pool is huge and not busy at all. The spa had a lukewarm hot tub but nice showers and changing area. Overall, nice stay, but kinda pricey at $270 since the Mandarin Oriental is very close at cheaper rate and they are building a St. Regis nearby. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The architects who created this glass steel Hotel Tower perhaps never really have experienced true 5 Star Hotel Spirit and Architecture. A 5 star Hotel should be irresistible charming yet grand and one should feel above all, welcomed.

Here on this new hotel concept it seems that a group of designers, consultants might have tried out a new experiment, one then asks oneself, Why, for what purpose? Something went wrong, seriously.

The main entrance resembles more like a mausoleum, cold and not inviting at all. Sad.

The basement "Asian" Restaurant is a farce.

Then one has to lift shuttle to the 38th for check in, the view is the only thing at the check in that makes an impact, the rest shines through ill thought through 'guest flow' thought. The bar up there is inferior to the First Class Zurich Main Railway Station Bar (upstairs). Worst of all, the barman behind an skimpy looking IKEA type round wood structure looked a bit lost.

When asked if one can have a drink and a smoke, he did not know where to look and a soft spoken "Smoking not allowed, only downstairs at the pool level" was audible.

So put your bloody marry on to the bar after taking a sip, take the elevators all the way down, go via wellness to the open air pool area and light a cigarette, or that well deserved Cohiba. After smoking try to reunite with your drink on the 38th, lift shuttle back up there all the way, far upstairs.

It is one of the oldest secrets of Hotel management. A five star Hotel needs not only a classic Bar & Grill (like the Savoy in London) but if permitted by a nations laws, allow smokes at the bar. Cigarette and Drinks are siblings and important for the cash flow revenues of The Bar.

NB: The Grand Hyatt in Singapore got that one right in a nation where smokers do have a tough life by law. There you find a nice fumoir with comfortable leather lounge furniture for smokers at the bar. and the friendly and efficient bar staff will take your orders and make sure you have that drink in time to enjoy with your smokes.

The Grand Hyatt KL is perhaps the dullest uninspiring new 5 star "Grand" Hotel architecture and interior design I have ever seen - worldwide. It actually hurts because all this has cost money to install. I did not even want to see the rooms priced at RM 660 a night (!)

Last but not least, the so important F&B arrangements one does not need to rate as a failure but perhaps worst defined like so: A permanent lack of understanding of the Hotel Guest and not understanding the anatomy of a 5 star Hotel with the additive "Grand".

This steel glass hotel tower is architecturally as exciting as a carton of fresh Milk, boring at best.

In summary. All this begs for one final question: How did they (the Hoteliers, Architects, the planners) pull this one off? Forgive my pun......

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
7,336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
10,073 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 349 in Kuala Lumpur
4,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 349 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £112 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. Features 411 guestrooms including 42 suites, also showcased as having one of the largest entry-level guestrooms in the city. Highly versatile, host dynamic meetings and events at our seven event spaces. Experience interactive and authentic dining with our three vibrant restaurants featuring interactive show kitchens. Rejuvenate with traditional Malay healing and ramuan at Essa Spa, unwind at our outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded by tropical greenery or stay fit at the 24-hour fitness centre equipped with the latest strength and cardio equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing