We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel is located in KLCC area, one of the business hubs of the city. The hotel is rather new with lots of modern and state-of-the-art amenities. The view to Twin Tower is also available. Rooms are quite spacious, clean and beautifully arranged. You will love to stay in this hotel, business or family trip it is good for all.

Room Tip: ask for twin tower view rooms, non-smoking rooms are also available and better to stay in upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faisal021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear faisal021187,
Terima kasih for sharing your feedback and recommending us. I am glad you have had an enjoyable stay and noticed the room spaciousness - our room sizes are amongst the largest in the city. My team and I look forward to be of service again soon.
Best regards, Robert Dallimore General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,992
    515
    119
    37
    28
See reviews for
598
808
141
798
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel has a great location, and is just five minutes walk from KLCC. An express elevator takes you to the lobby on 32nd floor. The rooms are modern and well furnished.

The breakfast buffet spread is really good, and the views from the restaurant are amazing. Almost at the same level as the Petronas Tower walkway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zyx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Zyx007
Many thanks for having stayed with us plus the kind words posted. Apart from being centrally located, most guests enjoy the uniqueness of checking in at our Sky Lobby situated on the highest level at 38M seconded by our specialty THIRTY8 restaurant just one floor down from Sky Lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is modern and well appointed with comfortable room and bed. We had a beautiful view of the twin towers, which are beautiful at night. The meeting rooms are large, beautiful and staffed with very friendly staff.


The only eccentric thing about the hotel is checking in on the 38th floor and going down to your rooms. I made the mistake of choosing down so many times I had to laugh.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Loveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Loveforfood

Appreciate the positive comments shared. We are sorry though that you found the dual lift system disorientating, perhaps for next visit, please allow us to show you an alternate way to reach Ground Floor from your guest room. Thank you for having stayed with us this time. Our team look forward to your return soon. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The experience starts at check in on the 40th floor. Individual desks,courteous and super slick check in, and the panoramic city views with the Petronas Towwers, centre stage only a few hundred yards away.
Room on the 30th floor was equally impressive with stunning views, sumptuous king size bed and every conceivable convenience, even a large walk-in wardrobe.
Breakfast buffet was extensive and excellent quality. all on the 39th floor with the same stunning views.
I could go on, but sufficient to say, the facilitie and location are absolutely first class and totally faultless!

Room Tip: Ask for 30th floor or as close as possible, view of the towers would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear DavidF
Thank you for the compliments about the hotel. Our team are absolutely thrilled to be considered as first class. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and perhaps give Essa spa a try next if this was not part of your experience earlier.
Best regards
Robert Dallimore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Best 5 star hotel I've been in for a while.. Great location.. Great service.. Great price.. Nothing to complain about. Swimming pool is great too. It is a short walk to suria and pavilion shopping centre and the petronas twin tower.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank suhartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Suhartini
What a glowing posting – thank you so much on behalf of my team. Your kind support is very much valued and we look forward to be of service again hopefully in the near future.
Best wishes
Robert Dallimore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Can't believe but instead of a King Delux Room that I booked, upon check in was told that it's not available and was downgraded into a basic twin! Room. If I wanted to have two beds in my room, I would've booked those, but I didn't. And I booked a much larger room, in which I have stayed before, so I know exactly how inferior this change is.

Absolutely unacceptable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, Director of Rooms at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Igor S,
Thank you for your feedback. It is disappointing to read of your experience and the initial non availability of the non guaranteed smoking room type due to the sell out situation. If you would like to share any further details please contact me directly at dharmik.kumar@hyatt.com. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Dharmik
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Ever since we heard the Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur was going to open we wanted to stay there.

Our chance came when we planned our Malaysia trip. We stayed four nights on points.

We had just returned from Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Borneo, and were near the end of our vacation.

The Grand Hyatt is located near the KLCC and in the Menara Darussalam, a thirty nine story high skyscraper. The owner is the Brunei Investment Agency, hence the name of the building. Which is controlled by the Sultan of Brunei.

On the ground level is a huge lobby with the concierge desk and the JP teres, serving Malay and international meals.

We received a warm welcome from the concierge. He also brought us to the elevators and advised us that the reception was located on the 39th floor.

The first thing we noticed when the elevator doors opened was the stunning views over Kuala Lumpur including the Petronas Twin Towers. We were roughly the same height as the twin bridge of the Petronas Towers.

The reception was to the left. Check in was friendly and efficient.

Our room was located on the 32nd floor. We had to take a different lift to access our floor. It might be a bit unusual, but we had already experience with the same system at the Park Hyatt Tokyo and Park Hyatt Seoul.

Sometimes it can be a nuisance, like on a few occasions we wanted to go up to the lobby, but had to go down to the second floor spa with a few stops in between to finally reach our desired destination. Overall being secure weighs out the inconvenience, though.

The room was large and modern with dark furniture and had views over the KL Tower. The bath room was integrated into the room. There was a walk in closet, a Japanese wet room and a separate room for the toilet. The sink was to the right side behind the bed. There was also a small nook with a mirror, small desk and chair for applying make up.

We loved the June Jacobs Spa amenities.

The Japanese wet room was enclosed in glass, so one could watch TV or look over the city. Privacy was also provided, when using a switch the glass turned opaque.

We also had a writing desk, large TV with a wide selection of regional and international channels, a mini bar with Sunraysia juices, a sofa and coffee table. Since we had booked a Grand Club Room we also received free chocolates as welcome gift and 2 free items of laundry for the entire stay. It wasn't as generous as the DoubleTree by Hilton (see also review), but still welcome. We had more than two items to launder, but since the cost wasn't too high, we gave more and paid 66 MYR (ca. 14.80 Euro or ca. 20.10 USD) for the four additional pieces.

There was also 24 hour room service and the "Hyatt has it" service, in case you have forgotten something or didn't care to bring it with you, like a yoga mat, tea kettle, razor, mouth wash and other things. They are either free, can be borrowed or bought.

Overall the room was very comfortable, luxurious and of thoughtful design.

We also had Grand Club lounge access, which is one of the largest we have seen so far and located on the 37th floor. There are different areas; one was set up restaurant style, the other like a lounge.

There were newspapers and magazines. A meeting room is adjacent to the lounge and can be used by Club lounge guests. There was never a problem finding a seat.

Only seats at the windows could be in hot demand, because they also had views over the Petronas Twin Towers and the KLCC Park. We watched the fountain show numerous times from the club lounge.

The food selection was so large we had no problems making a meal out of it during happy hour. There were Asian specialties and Western dishes. The desserts were a highlight for us. We enjoyed the chocolate mousse, the mini tartlets (every day changing) and berry compote very much. We also like the live Jazz music drifting down from the restaurant Thirt8.

We could have had breakfast at Thirt8 on the 38th floor, but again the breakfast in the Club Lounge was large and varied and we liked the quiet. At the end of our stay the staff did know what kind of beverage we wanted.

There was also the Poolside Restaurant and fitness center.

Every member of staff was courteous, efficient and friendly.

We went to the JP teres even before we stayed at the hotel, because we were checking out how to get to the hotel from the Suria KLCC. The ceilings were really high and there were a few open air kitchens. The waitresses and waiters wore jeans uniforms, which looked attractive and casual. We had the chance to follow the preparation of roti.

We ordered Teh Tarik (local milk tea), a water melon juice, chicken curry toast and Bebola Ayam, chicken balls with dip.

The toast slices were larger than usual and the portion of chicken balls was generous. All was delicious. The value was reasonable with 71.90 MYR (ca. 16 Euro or 21.80 USD).

During the last few days of our trip including the Grand Hyatt stay I was having a cold with fever, so I stopped taking notes, not feeling well enough to do so. Sorry, if I can't give more detailed information about in room dining prices, but I remember we had sandwiches, Malaysian chicken soup (very large) and ice cream. Everything was delicious and prices seemed to have been in accordance with the other hotels we stayed at. If it would have been much more expensive or less, I would recall it.

We received late check out at 2 PM without problem. The check out was efficient and a taxi was organized to bring us to the Villa Samadhi, a Secret Retreat member.

Interesting enough the lady at reception had heard of the Villa Samadhi, while the door man wasn't aware.

We can recommend the Grand Hyatt highly. The staff is genuinely interested in the well being of the guests and what they are up to while staying there. The value is good, no matter if paying cash or with points.

Would we stay at this hotel again? YES!
Would recommend this hotel to a friend? YES!

Room Tip: Views towards the Petronas Towers are preferred incl. Club rooms with Club Lounge access which bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyers007Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Flyer007Dublin,
I am happy you have had a wonderful experience with us and thank you most sincerely for highly recommending us. Your detailed and positive notes are very much appreciated. Our team at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur look forward to be of service again.
Best regards,
Robert Dallimore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.5 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
9,808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
7,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
775 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel Kuala Lumpur
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 346 in Kuala Lumpur
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Property: Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 346 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel that is strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. The hotel is within walking distance to some of the city's premier destinations such as the Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, KLCC Park, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Pavilion Kuala Lumpur Shopping Centre, Bukit Bintang and many more. Features 412 guestrooms including 42 suites, three vibrant dining options, seven highly versatile meetings and events space, Essa Spa, 24-hour fitness centre and an outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded with lush greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing