We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, new rooms...but with teething problems”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here again and the location is great with the park opposite and twin towers view and nearby. All the malls are easy to get to including Pavillion/Bukit Bintang over the skywalk. Worth staying in but there are teething problems. The main issue is the service which really varies and should be more consistent. For instance during breakfast getting attention from the staff was difficult as they were all congregating and having chats by the till. The same can be said at check in and elsewhere - the service can be great or otherwise. The spa was not working...bad sign for a new hotel. And the cleanliness in the rooms varies...some are ok others not clean as they should be. Still a good place to stay but needs to up its game....it is only a year or so old, but it is still a Grand Hyatt charging top end prices competing with Mandarin Oriental next door. Room service was excellent!

Room Tip: try not to get the road view or low level floors as the elevator system would mean it would take you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequentflyer786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Frequentflyer786,
Appreciate the honest feedback about your experience at our hotel. They are most certainly valuable as it is through such avenues can we further improve and refine our service delivery and product moving forth. I will address these points with our team, and look forward to showing you improved service on your next visit. We hope to see you back soon. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 2,990 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is not the first time staying at Grand Hyatt but this one at Kuala Lumpur really beats the best services. We arrived very late and had late supper at the ground floor restaurant. Food was okay over all, but the services was excellent. Every staff carried smile even we stayed past midnight. Staff on morning shift at the Thirty8 are also well trained. They remember your preference and take good care of you the rest of your stay. Very caring services!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnisaTong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Anissa
Our mission at Hyatt is to provide authentic hospitality hence the care element has always been advocated amongst our team here. Your reaffirmation of our service standards reflects that we are on the right track. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to future opportunities to be of service. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel is located in KLCC area, one of the business hubs of the city. The hotel is rather new with lots of modern and state-of-the-art amenities. The view to Twin Tower is also available. Rooms are quite spacious, clean and beautifully arranged. You will love to stay in this hotel, business or family trip it is good for all.

Room Tip: ask for twin tower view rooms, non-smoking rooms are also available and better to stay in upper floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank faisal021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear faisal021187,
Terima kasih for sharing your feedback and recommending us. I am glad you have had an enjoyable stay and noticed the room spaciousness - our room sizes are amongst the largest in the city. My team and I look forward to be of service again soon.
Best regards, Robert Dallimore General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel has a great location, and is just five minutes walk from KLCC. An express elevator takes you to the lobby on 32nd floor. The rooms are modern and well furnished.

The breakfast buffet spread is really good, and the views from the restaurant are amazing. Almost at the same level as the Petronas Tower walkway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zyx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Zyx007
Many thanks for having stayed with us plus the kind words posted. Apart from being centrally located, most guests enjoy the uniqueness of checking in at our Sky Lobby situated on the highest level at 38M seconded by our specialty THIRTY8 restaurant just one floor down from Sky Lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel is modern and well appointed with comfortable room and bed. We had a beautiful view of the twin towers, which are beautiful at night. The meeting rooms are large, beautiful and staffed with very friendly staff.


The only eccentric thing about the hotel is checking in on the 38th floor and going down to your rooms. I made the mistake of choosing down so many times I had to laugh.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Loveforfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear Loveforfood

Appreciate the positive comments shared. We are sorry though that you found the dual lift system disorientating, perhaps for next visit, please allow us to show you an alternate way to reach Ground Floor from your guest room. Thank you for having stayed with us this time. Our team look forward to your return soon. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The experience starts at check in on the 40th floor. Individual desks,courteous and super slick check in, and the panoramic city views with the Petronas Towwers, centre stage only a few hundred yards away.
Room on the 30th floor was equally impressive with stunning views, sumptuous king size bed and every conceivable convenience, even a large walk-in wardrobe.
Breakfast buffet was extensive and excellent quality. all on the 39th floor with the same stunning views.
I could go on, but sufficient to say, the facilitie and location are absolutely first class and totally faultless!

Room Tip: Ask for 30th floor or as close as possible, view of the towers would be a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear DavidF
Thank you for the compliments about the hotel. Our team are absolutely thrilled to be considered as first class. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and perhaps give Essa spa a try next if this was not part of your experience earlier.
Best regards
Robert Dallimore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Best 5 star hotel I've been in for a while.. Great location.. Great service.. Great price.. Nothing to complain about. Swimming pool is great too. It is a short walk to suria and pavilion shopping centre and the petronas twin tower.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank suhartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Suhartini
What a glowing posting – thank you so much on behalf of my team. Your kind support is very much valued and we look forward to be of service again hopefully in the near future.
Best wishes
Robert Dallimore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
7,407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
10,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
978 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#14 of 350 in Kuala Lumpur
4,405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £109 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. Features 411 guestrooms including 42 suites, also showcased as having one of the largest entry-level guestrooms in the city. Highly versatile, host dynamic meetings and events at our seven event spaces. Experience interactive and authentic dining with our three vibrant restaurants featuring interactive show kitchens. Rejuvenate with traditional Malay healing and ramuan at Essa Spa, unwind at our outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded by tropical greenery or stay fit at the 24-hour fitness centre equipped with the latest strength and cardio equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing