We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all-round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #3 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I loved this hotel. The rooms are so well-designed with amazing views. Everything you need has been thought of. They even have a menu of things you might have forgotten to pack and can have to keep or to borrow. Stylish decor and a fab walk-in closet. It's nice to have a dedicated dressing table area with make-up mirror.
The only thing I didn't like was a 90-min delay checking in as my room wasn't ready at 3pm. However they allowed me a late-check out when I left, so it balanced out.
I loved the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Facing the twin towers would give the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingcellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear travellingcellist, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and the kind compliments about the hotel. A make- up mirror with dressing table is almost a forgotten necessity that our designers were thoughtful enough to include in all rooms. Thank you for the acknowledgment. We will check what happened there on the delayed check in, certainly we can improve on that. My apologies for that occurence. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 2,903 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wonderful experience for the family! Classy hotel as you would expected from a Grand Hyatt. Spacious room, comfy bed, loved the chic design and first time experience with the electric auto tint of the bathroom/shower room's glass. Just be careful with the extended wooden platform of the bed frame as we knocked ourselves twice. The kids went crazy when they received three jars of sweets containing marshmallows, M&Ms and gummy bears, delivered to the room in the evening!

The rooftop (half way up the building) pool was just as classy, not huge but very nice layout with the bar and individual canopies etc and you probably get some envy onlookers from the surrounding buildings. Dinner at JP Teres on the ground floor was good. The selections and quality of buffet breakfast on the 30th floor (if i recall correctly) was excellent but the service seems shorthanded and a little disorganised. We were seated with a beautiful view of the Twin Towers so that was good distraction.

The hotel is right next to the Convention Centre that you can also access an underground passage to Suria KLCC where the Twin Towers is, around 10min walk. Driving in Kuala Lumpur city can be a nightmare sometimes but the hotel's location is very straight forward and we had no problem locating it by GPS. Complimentary underground parking (very safe) for staying.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Gary Y, Many thanks for having stayed with us plus the kind words posted. It is especially nice to know your children enjoyed themselves. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future! Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed Here For 3 nights early June , I have booked 2 different rooms for my whole stay, 1 was for the first night a deluxe room with breakfast, got a nice upgrade to suite Thanks FARHANAH (^_~) , and when I went to check out and get the 2nd room that was a guest, again got an upgrade , was so happy when DESMOND told me that we don't want you to leave your room , enjoy your full stay in the suite, it really made me happy to end up my vacation with this kind of service, all in all the hotel was brand new all marble and shining , the suite was spacious with 2 LCD TV ,2 bathrooms, the view facing PETRONAS tower and its gardens and trader - royal chulan hotels , the breakfast had everything even Arabic food , location wise its between the PETRONAS and pavilion hotel , I will defiantly come here again, again ty so much desmond and farhanah ;)

Room Tip: PETRONAS tower view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuH_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear AuH_Traveler, Great to know you have enjoyed our 100 sq m Grand Suite which, being on the corners of the building, offer double views. Thank you for such an excellent endorsement – my colleagues are absolutely thrilled to hear that they have left such an impression during your visit. I will certainly pass on the compliments and highlight the exceptional efforts from Farhanna and Desmond at Front Desk. All of us look forward to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was my second stay in the Grand Hyatt in KL - one year on from the previous stay. All my previous comments hold good - attentive service, luxury feel, great outlook, nice bars and restaurants. If I have any complaint it would be that the central area surrounding the hotel is very busy and is often congested with traffic meaning taxi access to the hotel can be quite slow if hit during the busy period.....which is often. I suppose this is little wonder given the Grand Hyatt's excellent location close to the Convention Centre and Petronas Towers and shopping mall. Also going up to the reception (on 30-something floor) and then down to bedroom, while a novelty at first, can become a little tiresome after you've done it several times in the day. Overall a great hotel and I will most likely always stay in the Grand Hyatt when in KL.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear FairCityFrasie, Thank you for your continued support and happy to know you have had yet another great stay with us. Traffic congestion unfortunately occurs citywide during key peak hours and in the future KL is undertaking large scale infrastructural enhancement of the transportation system which should make a difference in the years ahead. Our team look forward to welcome you back and be of service in future. Best wishes, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Grand Hyatt KL. First off the hotel is immaculate with everything shiny and beautiful. The rooms are great, the bed is extremely comfy and all the facilities are first class.

A nice big office desk is provided as well so work can be done comfortably without any issues, and the free wi fi in room is a reasonable speed.

The initial confusion is the reception level is the highest point of the hotel so you have to go up to go down... but once you figure that out, so will be ok!

A great hotel, with no real faults, as a 5 star hotel should be.

Breakfast is unbelievable, lots of options and chefs to make your meal if you want something in particular, just wish they could make better coffee!!!!

Brilliant

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tom A, Your commendation of the hotel is most appreciated, thank you for the accolade. I am glad you along with many of our guests have enjoyed the guest room and THIRTY8 for its great offerings during breakfast. Noted your comment regarding our coffee and will further improve. Whilst we use an excellent brand of bean, a retraining effort is a must to ensure we get this consistent, thank you for your feedback. Our team look forward to welcome you back again Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the grand hyatt. Location is great if you want to visit the petronas towers fir example. Rooms are very spacious and nicely divided into sleeping area and bathroom area. We had even enough space to add a bed for my teenage son. I am a big fan of the Hyatt amenities , they are truly one of the best and the bed was heavenly. Just the right strength of mattress, beautiful soft bed linen and a well adjustable and quiet Aircon... I haven't slept so well for a long time. Only disadvantage, you need to go via the 39th floor sky lobby to your rooms, that feels pretty strange ...going up to go down again. Wifi worked well, breakfast buffet was nice. All in all, I know why the grand hyatt hotels are one of my favorites

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank doritg888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear doritg888, Thank you for being such a loyal fan of our Hyatt brand, we certainly appreciate this. It is great to know there are so many good points that you like about us ranging from our central location to our well thought out room design not to mention the impressive quality of our mattress and great F&B options. The positive reaffirmations are very much appreciated. Appreciate your feelings that the subsequent change of lifts is not ideal for you, the design is what it is and is certainly a talking point. The night-time cityscape scenes are especially stunning and creates a wonderful ambiance in the Hotel that is truly unique to our design. We look forward to welcome you back when you next visit KL. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel is absolutely beautiful - the rooms are unique with the bathroom located in the centre of the room with the option of amazing city views from your shower or you can be discreet with the flick of a switch. Ideal for those needing to work with a large desk and for those on leisure a beautiful lounge and ottoman. The women's floor was fantastic but don't get to excited, this is only with amenities - they are still working on the concept of making this exclusive to women - the Pilates mat in the room was a great touch especially after a long flight. The Breakfast buffet is a wonderful selection with freshly made bread available and for those needing their coffee hit, the option of espresso coffee as well. Only one criticism was the lifts - going up to go down was very confusing!

Room Tip: If female, request the women's room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracyannehuon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Tracyannehuon, Thank you for sharing your comments and glad you have had a most enjoyable stay. The privacy button for the bath room is also the first in the city and glad to know you enjoyed this feature. Thank you for your feedback about the buffet breakfast at THIRTY8 which is noted by many guests, thank you. The team will be very grateful and spur them on for sure. We look forward to many future opportunities to be of service again. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#5 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
7,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
10,033 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#13 of 348 in Kuala Lumpur
4,254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lanson Place Bukit Ceylon Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 348 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £109 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. Features 411 guestrooms including 42 suites, also showcased as having one of the largest entry-level guestrooms in the city. Highly versatile, host dynamic meetings and events at our seven event spaces. Experience interactive and authentic dining with our three vibrant restaurants featuring interactive show kitchens. Rejuvenate with traditional Malay healing and ramuan at Essa Spa, unwind at our outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded by tropical greenery or stay fit at the 24-hour fitness centre equipped with the latest strength and cardio equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing