We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - strange lifts though” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #2 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Kuopio, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent - strange lifts though”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Have stayed in about twenty KL hotels over the years and had the pleasure of trying the Grand Hyatt for the first time. The check-in by Ms Nina was excellent & most welcoming and the twin room she gave us very spacious, well-designed and airy. The positive first impression lasted until we checked out: very motivated and well-trained staff at all stations (special thanks to the lovely ladies & gentlemen at breakfast!), the gym & pool very good, the breakfast varied with excellent options and and .....the list would be very long. The farewell by Ms Nina was again very friendly and pleasant.

The only gripe is the strange lift system that some visitors may find bothersome. We got used to it very quickly.

In conclusion, this is the best hotel in Kuala Lumpur for our needs with solid quality and away from the noisy construction sites along Jalan Bukit Bintang. The covered walk was so easy to reach Pavilion Mall and the Bukit Bintang area at all times and coming back "home" in the evening was similarly easy and pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaavoTapani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear PaavoTapani, we are delighted to hear you have had a great experience with us and felt well cared for by the team, especially Nina. She will be thrilled and greatly motivated to hear this and will be sure to recognize her as with all the team! Such personal praise by our guests is perhaps not always known but has very emotional connection with them. Thank you for this recognition! We look forward to seeing you again on a return visit. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,743
    460
    108
    35
    27
See reviews for
516
707
124
713
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our family ( 3 ) stayed at the Grand Hyatt KL for 6 nights in July and it was our sons 21st Birthday on our arrival day 15th July. As a lot of people have said it seemed strange to travel up to the 38th floor to check in and everytime after you wanted to go anywhere it was always via the 38th floor.But you get used to it.
The hotel staff could not do enough for us, we were given complimentary access to the Grand Club floor and Fenda,Sherina, Fara and Didi along with all the other staff there looked after us like we were royalty, they are a credit to their hotel. All staff always greeted us with a smile and nothing was too much trouble. The pool area was excellent, never crowded and great service from the staff with ice cold water and the free popcorn. We will definitely stay at the Grand Hyatt next visit.
We had a great view of the Petronas Towers from our room 2304 and also the fountains display everynight.The Batu Caves is a must see and also the kings palace,we took a taxi (blue one) from the Grand Hyatt and the driver waited at for us at the caves until we were ready to go back and it only cost a tad over 100 ringet for the whole round trip. The shopping was also very good and we visited many different shopping malls, the air conditioned elevated walkway is the best way to get around. Chinatown and central markets are good if you don`t mind been hassled by the vendors.

Overall it was a great holiday made very special by the people at the Grand Hyatt and we will be back.

Room Tip: corner rooms with a view of the towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GERRYGCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear GERRTGCairns, Thank you for such an excellent endorsement – my colleagues - Fenda, Sherina, Fara and Didi at Grand Club are a wonderful team indeed and delighted to know and hear from you. All of us look forward to welcome you back! Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very nice stay in this hotel. All was perfect but comparing to other Hyatt hotel the room was little small. Nice fruits for free in the room. Very close to the center. I recommend this hotel specially for business trips but also to have relaxing time.
Super breackfast

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo_n_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Paolo_n_1969, Thank you very much for the kind words about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you find the hotel a convenient and relaxing place to stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Very elegant Hotel with lovely staff and impecable service., the best service I've encountered in K.L.
The room was very clean and with excellent views of the Petronas Towers.
We ate in both the ground floor restaurant and also in-room dining., both were of excellent standard. The breakfast on the 38th floor was also excellent with plenty of choice.
The only downer to our stay was that with both left with bad chest colds. I'm not sure if this as because of the air conditioning in the hotel which was quite chilly and we found it hard to navigate the temperature control in our room, or because of the bad air pollution (haze) that was surrounding K.L at the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear theweather, Sorry to hear you were unwell and hope you and your partner have fully recovered by now. Glad to know otherwise you were happy with your stay with us and hope we will continue to be your residence of choice when you return to Kuala Lumpur. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel during a business trip for 4 days and it was the best hotel experience I've ever had in a long time. Didn't realise that the lobby is on one of the top floors until I came out of the lift. The view from the lobby is breathtaking with an adjacent view of the Petronas towers.

The room is very modern and the best part of the room for me personally is the bathroom. The bathroom is very luxurious and I love the bathroom's glass windows. The windows change from transparent to translucent with a single touch of a button for privacy. The hotel is centrally located, with the exhibition center next to the hotel and within walking distance of the "supermalls".

Loved the breakfast and the variety of Western, Chinese and Malaysian dishes. Would love to take the family there one day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Cherry H, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and the kind compliments about the hotel. Our room design and that of the bathroom is truly unique and one of its kind in the city, am glad you have rated it excellent. Hopefully you will be back soon and get the opportunity to try the rest of our facilities i.e ESSA Spa here. Our team certainly look forward to be service then. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with large rooms with tea/coffee, fruit etc. best thing was an iron and ironing board, so no hassling the concierge. Breakfast was very good as were lunch and dinner. The only thing funny about the hotel is the layout. The lobby is on the top floor (38th floor). There is a high speed lift up. Then you have to walk around the corner to take a different lift down to your room! Meeting rooms and conference centre great and the staff are lovely. I will definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mmmmhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear mmmmhh, Many thanks for having stayed with us plus the kind words posted. Great to know you like our room plus its facilities as well as our Food & Beverage offerings. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service again hopefully very soon. Best Regards, Robert Dallimore General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a young family of 5 for 2 nights. My wife is diamond with Hyatt so we received an upgrade to a suite and had connecting rooms.

This is the best upgraded suite I have ever revived after almost 200 nights with Starwood as a platinum member. We were only upgraded to a basic suite but even this basic suite could pass for to end suites at other hotels. The bathroom is what sets these suites apart, sitting in the bowl tub doing wine with great a view of the towers. I can say this was the best urban hotel I have stayed in!

You need a room a higher floors, or room was on the 17th (the lowest floor) and or view was partially blocked by another hotel. So try and request the 36th floor if you can.

The club lounge provided additional views and offered a meeting room which can booked for an hour free. We used this room for or family during the nightly happy hour and in the morning breakfast. You can request eggs made to order during breakfast as well.

There are some minor details I was surprised to find with a new hotel. The mirrors in the bathrooms were loose and one odd the sinks wouldn't drain.

I think the hotel also needs to advertise events better. We checked out on Saturday and watched a clown walk by. Apparently, a clown provides entertainment on Saturday afternoons but we didn't know about it until we saw the clown walk by.

I usually stay at the le meridien at sentral because of ease of getting to klia and the value of the hotel. However, if I have the opportunity to upgrade to one of the GH KL suites for a room rate under $140 then Hyatt will get all my future business.

I looked forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: Get a suite, high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincoMcBrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHKualaLumpur, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear cincoMcBrides, Great to know you have enjoyed our spacious Grand Suite, favoured by many as its corners location offers excellent double views of the stunning skyline. The feedback regarding room maintenance as well as promotional Events are most appreciated, rest assured these areas would be further refined. We look forward to showing you further improvement in future and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Best regards, Robert Dallimore, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Shangri-La Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#4 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
Traders Hotel, Kuala Lumpur
#8 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Villa Samadhi
Villa Samadhi
#1 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.0 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#6 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
The Ritz-Carlton, Kuala Lumpur
#9 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur

Property: Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur
Address: 12 Jalan Pinang, Kuala Lumpur 50450, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the iconic Petronas Twin Towers and adjacent to Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre, Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur is a five-star luxury hotel that is strategically located in the heart of Golden Triangle shopping and entertainment district. The hotel is within walking distance to some of the city's premier destinations such as the Suria KLCC Shopping Mall, KLCC Park, Malaysian Philharmonic Orchestra, Pavilion Kuala Lumpur Shopping Centre, Bukit Bintang and many more. Features 412 guestrooms including 42 suites, three vibrant dining options, seven highly versatile meetings and events space, Essa Spa, 24-hour fitness centre and an outdoor freeform swimming pool surrounded with lush greenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing