We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GDS Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Ranked #219 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

If you are looking for a nice clean and quiet place to sleep in a non touristic area, you should stay in the GDS hotel. This small and friendly hotel has everything you need. A clean bed, nice shower and every day clean towels. Air conditioning, a fan and wifi and TV. The staff is very helpful. It is a few minutes walk from Chow Kit monorail station. In this area you are among the locals. There are plenty restaurants where you can have a nice meal for a real nice price. Still your location is central in a few minutes you are in the heart of the city. Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Semarang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Only one night staying here but we booked 3 rooms because we traveled in a group. I can not say we don't expect what we get with the price we paid for it which was around 20 USD a night. They got the basic stuff right like a clean room, enough space to move around, reasonably fast wifi, air conditioning, and hot water. Location is pretty good with bus stop and MRT station just 100 meter away. The bigger Ipoh road is just behind the hotel as well if you need to get groceries or get some food other than the pretty good seafood spot just across this hotel. Overall we had our shares of some unpleasant hotels and this one is actually quite okay.

Room Tip: I need internet connection badly so i need to be close to the wifi modem they hung near my room. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hendrik0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for six nights which was too many but we couldn't get our money back from booking on agoda. The rooms were clean enough. We had to ask for new pillowcases once but other than that it was clean. It was in a good location near the titiwangsa station. The service was terrible though. We had to wait three days for laundry and no one could answer any questions we had about KL. they couldn't even give us a map. The taxi driver also had a lot of trouble finding it so make sure you write down the phone number so you can call for directions.

If you just need a place to sleep this place is good but otherwise give it a miss.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onelife14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights while in Kuala Lumpur, not bad price with wifi and aircon and now and close to monorail but;
- key cards always stop opening room doors and have to be reactivated
- washing we paid to have done took 3 days to get back
- very small rooms
- Room was a bit dirty when we came but they clean them every day which is good, new towels etc
- Counter staff are not very helpful, couldn't even tell me where to find a postage box or even give us a map or anything when we got here
-Aircon sprayed out water intermittently and the shower wouldn't drain

Despite this it is still ok, cheap and basic, don't book through agoda travel they won't let you change booking, book with GDS themselves or perhaps booking.com

If you are in this area though get a concession pass on the monorail and get over to Chinatown (maharajalela stop) then walk down the street a bit, awesome cheap markets and cheap food spots here, 1/3 price of western looking food outlets

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed there for a night and took the family room. Room was big and spacious but unfortunately it was just beside the train track. It will wake you up once their service starts at 5am! Rooms that are not facing the track might be better.

Their staff was nice and friendly. Thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudgetHotelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The hotel was very close to Titiwangsa station (less than 5 minute walk) and from there it is very easy to get around the city. It was such a pleasant stay, that we returned for our last night in KL before our flight. Rooms were not overly big, but they were clean! Hot water in the shower worked wonderfully, as did the air con in the room - we had to turn it down it worked so well! Wifi also worked great throughout the entire hotel. Front desk staff were very pleasant and always willing to help us - whether it was planning a day trip on public transit or getting around the city. They held our bags for us all day too as we checked in very early and our room was not yet ready. Our only negative was the noise at night. There is a karaoke bar very near the hotel that makes A lot of noise at night. The second time we stayed, we requested a room near the back of the hotel and the noise was significantly less. There is also street noise (constant trains), which didn't bother us, but may be an issue for some. Overall it was a great stay and a great, inexpensive hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tata54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.1 mi away
LEO Palace 1 Hotel
LEO Palace 1 Hotel
#266 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Ruiz Boutique Hotel
Le Ruiz Boutique Hotel
#171 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
3.7 mi away
d'Garden Hotel
d'Garden Hotel
#281 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Sun Inns Hotel Kepong
Sun Inns Hotel Kepong
#264 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibiz Hotel
Ibiz Hotel
#282 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel China Town 2
Hotel China Town 2
#188 of 342 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GDS Hotel Kuala Lumpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GDS Hotel Kuala Lumpur

Property: GDS Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Address: No 96 Jalan Datuk Haji Eus | off Off Jalan Ipoh, Kuala Lumpur 50400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 342 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GDS Hotel Kuala Lumpur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your GDS Hotel Kuala Lumpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing