We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a get-in-the-city stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grid 9 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grid 9 Hotel
Ranked #68 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It was a get-in-the-city stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I live and work in Klang Valley.
Was there to have the backpacking feel.
Booked the Super Pods an hour before arrival at 12 midnight. Upon check-in it was fully booked.
Got upgraded to a single bed.
Syiok-ar. Just missed the backpacking experience as it was a single room.

Nice place to rest & got to sleep-in almost the whole day.

No assigned parking. Glad I was there over weekend and theres <10 lots right outside if you drive arrival after 9pm.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christallohps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Christallohps,

We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Owen Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    266
    99
    25
    20
See reviews for
34
173
171
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Rooms were very reasonably priced, clean and had tv which was also good given the price. Breakfast not included but was good value and tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful and the location is good because it's very near the tram line and within walking distance of Chinatown. One drawback was that our room had no window, which I would prefer for the sake of safety, and feeling of spaciousness. If you requested a room with a window- problem solved. Nothing fancy, but clean and functional. You could do an awful lot worse for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Éilis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Owen Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel within the reaso it's the cheapest one in many of other hotels in Kuala Lumpur. Rooms are tiny, but enough with all everything you need for a night stay. The location is also very good - few minutes of walking to monorail station. Staff is very friendly, free wi-fi, and nice cafe with breakfasts. Come and stay in a short period of 2 -4 nights is okay, but not sure for a long period of 1 or 2 weeks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harris268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review, 15 September 2014
Dear Harris268,

We are so grateful that you were recently our guest and thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Owen Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked grid 9 after reading how great the location is and all the positive reviews. Yes there is a station near by and yes the rooms are clean (ish) and have beds and a bathroom but apart from that there are not many more positives . The walk to chinatown (or anywhere) involved walking beside a crazy busy road,over a dark bridge and then down roads that the alot
of homeless people were sleeping and wandering on. I wiuld havr turned around instantly had I been alone. The rooms are cramped,clostraphobic and smell damp with only a small lift and no stairs to get to it. The receptionist was clearly new so we didnt mind the 30min check in time too much. To end on a positive The free computers were a bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lulur520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear lulur520,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Our rooms are designed to be compact yet comfortable, providing the necessities required for our guests while keeping it at an affordable price.
With regards to the room, recently we have modified our extractor fan to be functioning for 24 hours so that it keeps the room ventilated. We are still monitoring the progress and feedback from our guests. I also noted that there was a delay in checking-in for you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience may have caused you.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warm regards,

Owen Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel as it looks the cheapest in Kuala Lumpur. Rooms are tiny, but everything you need is there. And location is perfect - just near monorail station. Staff is very friendly, free wi-fi, and nice cafe with breakfasts. Not sure if it's ok for long period, but for 2-3 nights is perfect.
Note: you may hear your neighbours as walls are thin

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Katty91,

Thank you for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. It’s glad to hear our hotel location and foods were to your liking. On a separate note, we have noted your comment about the wall. Once again, thank you for review. Hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Owen Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I dont write harsh reviews of anything, infact I dont even write great reviews of some marvellous hotels I had stayed in so far during my many trips, I had promised to write a great review of a hotel I stayed at Kampot, Cambodia, which is yet to materialize, sorry!! But I must be hasty to forewarn wannabe travellers of stay experience at Grid 9, KL so that some may avoid our fate of staying in a hotel with claustrophobic rooms with dark, in dusty smelling hallways and no stairways to speak of. I booked the through an online portal for a one day stay with family, near city centre, KL. I shortlisted hotels with 3 star rating and booked the room at Grid 9 which tantalizingly proclaimed "Queen sized beds, with TV". Expecting the minimum standard befitting its star rating, and paying not a cheap rate, I booked two rooms. i was too trusty and reviews were not bad (will come back to it the secret of great reviews soon).

Our ordeal started well before we reached the hotel. One thing, the road "Maharajalela" and the hotel was unfamiliar to many of the shop owners and locals that we asked for directions. We were at Pudu Centre, not very far from the hotel, so the unfamiliarity with the hotel quite close by was perplexing once we found out the hotel location. When we alighted from taxi, small looking part of a long building with glass facade with name Grid 9 in fancy iconography greeted us. On one side of the hotel was a vacant lot which was a graveyard for rotting cars and other motor vehicles. We had stayed in roomy hotels with own big property and pools, gym and other facilities so far, so staying in a hotel just close to road was bit depressing. But agreed, city hotels cant have great luxury of space. We walked up the stairway to mezzanine floor to be greeted by one of the most unfriendliest receptionist we have ever met. The room booking order that she had in her possession had "rooms with no windows" written prominently, which i swear was not an option that I consciously selected at the time of booking. Infact, this was noticed only at her telling us of the specifics of the room. Still i thought, its a mistake from my side to have overlooked this fact. All rooms have AC and hopefully, no windows wont be quite not an issue, we all thought.

The hallways reeked of dusty smell reminiscent of ghost houses where no one stays. The smell seeped into the room through the Air con, and upon opening the room or first time, the smell of dust and decay was too much to bear. To compound our misery, we were aghast and petrified (i really mean the last word) upon seeing our rooms. They are not even fit to be called double occupancy rooms. Lets start with the room area. If you think your hostel single rooms were small, think again, for this "double room with queen sized bed" will beat 50% of hostel single rooms for lack of space. Infact, the family members all could not even stand clearly in the first room without bumping to each other while normal talking or gesticulating. I have a paranoia for small rooms, call me claustrophobic..so this was the start of nightmare for me. We played martys as who will stay in the room with two others (there were 5 of us and had booked two rooms for all - rooms were proclaimed to be fit for upto 3 persons staying. If this is not audacious bragging with zero substance, I will be damned). The bathroom towels were not washed properly. Nor do i think the floor was wiped before handing over the room to us. So I will give zero rating to room service.

We rushed back to the receptionist and told about the smallness of the rooms and lack of proper ventilation in the hallways. The room is as closed and claustrophobic as it can get. She "graciously" was willing to accommodate the extra one person in a single room, which on our query was admitted to be even smaller and a scary proposition than the double room. I mean, the receptionist is downight unfriendly and does not feel an iota of emotion telling us to demand a deposit a 100 MYR deposit for two rooms. Now I suspect, this has to be be caution deposit they need so that disgruntled customers damage the room property in rage upon staying there and leaving without paying. Nice job guys!

We checked the travel websites and found that many rooms were available for the night. We were also willing to pay penalty to shift to a window room, but the lady was unrelenting. And in anycase, we had then decided to not giving the damn hotel owners a penny of ours any further. So we soldiered on and got in the room. Another signifiant thing I check upon entering a hotel is its safety features. Yes, the hotel had two stariways as fir escape routes. But one stair way was locked and the other was found to be locked the ground level. So we realized to our horror that the only escape route for all the people staying in the hotel is just the single lift, which takes forever to make its shuddering journey from "G" to "1", "2" and "3". I warn you, such lax safety features make this hotel a disaster in waiting.

There is no complimentary breakfast. The floors and cement plasters and paints, windows all show unfinished looks and it is as if the hotel was built in a hurry. I am pretty sure, they converted a part of office building to a hotel with no planning at all..

Now the secret of reviews are those European couple who stays here and will mostly be out for the day and night and comes here in a daze to sleep. They will find the hotel perfect for their needs and can rate is as high as 5.

But for any families and business men, dont think of staying in here, specially the windowless rooms, for this is akin to stay in a prison cell.

Room Tip: Dont stay here if you plan to stay as family. Stoned couples, pls select the Window room, so atleast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Hari_Warrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Hari_Warrier,

We regretted that we have not met your expectations. With regards to the location, if you are travelling with monorail, we are located just next to the Maharajalela monorail which generally can be quite easy to look out for.

Referring to your comment about the fire exits, we do have two fire stair ways on each floor which will lead you to the ground level (outside) and this complies with the fire safety legislation. For your information, the fire doors will only be released when the fire alarm goes off otherwise it will remain closed at all times due to safety reason. We are also surprised to hear of our hallways lack of ventilation as we do have extractor fan in front of the lift on every floor. In addition, our windows on the floors are occasionally open for better air quality.

Pertaining to your bookings, we have since taken an immediate action by cross checking our third party online agent. The website states clearly that it’s “Standard Queen (No Window)”. The rooms that you booked were indeed for this category. Perhaps due to your busy schedule, you may overlook on this.

As for the arrival, we will usually collect room deposit and we believe it’s quite common for hotels to collect deposits; even international hotels are practising it. The deposit that we collected is refundable should you not utilise the credit on any miscellaneous bills, for example food and beverages.

On a separate note, it’s great to hear that we are being compared with 3 stars hotels and big properties. But well, we are actually more to boutique and flash packer hotel style. Our rooms are designed to be compact yet comfortable, providing the necessities required for our guests while keeping it at an affordable price.

Nevertheless, thank you for sharing your review on the Tripadvisor. We sincerely regret that you have not had a pleasant stay and have taken note on the points that you highlighted.

Warm regards,

Owen Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel grid 9 is the perfect place for you if:
1:you are claustrophobic
2:you want to experience inhospitality at its maximum
3:you want to be stuck in a dingy room with no windows thus losing sense of time

I stayed with my family in this hotel for 1 night in this hotel on 14 June. We had booked the rooms online. Beginning itself was tough as is it was hard to locate this hotel and no one knew about this place. We had booked 2 rooms for 5 people but there was more in for us... What they called a room had a queen size bed(Thank God) a side table and a chair , a flat screen tv. No windows , roof of the room really low it was suffocating and claustrophobic inside. There was no space to move around. Even the corridors had no air passage and smell of dust prevailed .. We approached the staff and their response was hilarious... In the booking confirmation they had mentioned that the rooms would not have windows... The funny thing is you have to specifically ask for rooms with windows in this hotel... During the process of reservation they do not mention that half of their rooms do not have windows and once you confirm reservation after payment they say that the booked room does not have window...

On top of it after paying through nose they charge 50 ringgits as caution deposit for their den ,no complimentary breakfast and when asked for an adaptor for charging it was available only on payment and not on loan. We had stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels previously and even they didn't have such idiotic rules...

The rating of a hotel is not completely based on the physical amenities but more on how the hotel staff interact with the guests. We could have overlooked the lack of space and other discomfort if only the staff had the patience and sensitivity to listen to our grievance.

And to top it we had ample supportive evidence of our experience in this last visual of a family in the adjoining room(????) sleeping with their doors wide open to beat the suffocation.

We wonder how on earth this remarkable den could bag 33rd position among hotels in KL.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Meenalm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gridnine o, General Manager at Grid 9 Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Meenalm35,

We regretted that we have not met your expectations. With regards to the location, if you are travelling with monorail, we are located just next to the Maharajalela monorail which generally can be quite easily to look out for.

Pertaining to your bookings, we have since taken an immediate action by cross checking our third party online agent. The website states clearly that it’s “Standard Queen (No Window)”. The rooms that you booked were indeed for this category. Perhaps due to your busy schedule, you may overlook on this.

As for the arrival, we will usually collect room deposit and we believe it’s quite common for hotels to collect deposits; even international hotels are practising it. The deposit that we collected is refundable should you not utilise the credit on any miscellaneous bills, for example food and beverages.

Referring to your comment about doors were wide open, our guests were actually opened up the doors for easy access to another room as they are a group of friends travelling together with few rooms on the same floor. Just for your information, all of our rooms come with absorb fan to ensure the room is ventilated with fresh air.

On a separate note, it’s great to hear that we are being compared with 3 stars hotels and big properties. But well, we are actually more to boutique and flash packer hotel style. Our rooms are designed to be compact yet comfortable, providing the necessities required for our guests while keeping it at an affordable price.

Nevertheless, thank you for sharing your review on the Tripadvisor. We sincerely regret that you have not had a pleasant stay and have taken note on the points that you highlighted.

Warm regards,

Owen Lim
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
2.5 mi away
V Garden Hotel
V Garden Hotel
#100 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ceria Hotel
Ceria Hotel
#69 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
Swiss Inn Kuala Lumpur
#49 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Citin Seacare Hotel Pudu Kuala Lumpur
1.1 mi away
U Pac Hotel
U Pac Hotel
#73 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amigo Hotel
Amigo Hotel
#87 of 340 in Kuala Lumpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grid 9 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grid 9 Hotel

Property: Grid 9 Hotel
Address: No. 9 Jalan Maharajalela, Kuala Lumpur 50150, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 340 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Grid 9 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We built Grid 9 with a vision to create a social experience unlike any other hotel. Inspired by the design of a grid, we want the paths of our guests to intersect, forming a network of globetrotters around the world. More than just a hotel or a flashpacker, we are a hybrid of both. From our pods to our rooms, from our lounge to our gastropub, the Grid 9 experience is what differentiates us from the pack.Located in the heart of KL, we are a 10 minute walk to Chinatown and right next to the Jalan Maharajalela monorail station.P.S. The wifi is free =) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grid 9 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing