We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Steak Place”
Review of Ril's

Ril's
Ranked #851 of 4,174 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A Good Steak Place”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had the tuna, steak and chicken casserole. All were wonderfully cooked and meat was so fresh. Offers a variety of wine as well. Although they do have water, but they offer bottled water and halfway through the meal, they will top up with regular water from their jug. I find that a little weird. Upstairs has a bar and they have a live band, which is good. But take note of what you've ordered as I've been charged twice for a beverage and it happened twice. I will only go back for the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank St3pK4ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    42
    13
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous steaks.....”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Went with colleagues for dinner and it was an excellent evening. The restaurant is modern in its decor but classic in style with white table cloth layout. The staff are knowledgable and friendly. Various dishes ordered and all very good. I went for the 400gm Aussie Sirloin and it was stunning. Perfectly cooked BBQ charred on the outside and warm and rare in the middle. The sides of deep fried leeks and spinach were excellent as we're the salads ordered. All in all excellent. It's not cheap but shouldn't be for the quality on offer.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Butman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Steaks with a price”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The locations of the restaurant are not easily found, difficult to find carpark nearby. we have to park our car some place further and quite a distance to walk from Petaling Street.

The restaurant is at second floor. The ground floor looks kinda messy and dirty, and you would thought you went to the wrong place. Nobody at the ground floor to address us until we walked up with the very steep staircase to the second floor.

It was totally a different scene at the second floor. Environment and table setting are so neat and romantic. A small lounge area on the left side and dining tables on the right side.

Steaks was cook perfectly and we like it very much. I still remember that feeling of the steak melting in my mouth. Lobster bisque are just so-so. Ril's tiga rasa scallops sounds excellent but also taste not as excited.

3 adults - we ordered 2 appetizers, 1 soups and 3 main courses, the total bill came up to abt RM500. With the discount voucher we bought from groupon, we get to enjoy the great food with more affordable price at abount Rm250 only.

Cons of the restaurant:
- Toilet are at ground floor only, Restaurant is at second floor. Not so convenient
- steep staircase which not suitable for elderly people or children
- pricey menu if without the discount voucher
- difficult to park nearby to the restaurant, a distance of walk required.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetMoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Tried it a second time”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I ate at Ril's some time ago, food was pretty good, service was pretty poor

this time a group of friends and I met upstairs in the bar - didn't even realise they had one as last time no one told us. Amazing little find and I certainly recommend it, there is an imported mixologist, friendly guy and with an obvious talent. The atmosphere upstairs was great a very warm and welcoming place, reminiscent of a major European venue, all the character and warmth and of course super cocktails.,. The only thing is, you'll be waiting forever if he doesn't rain a few more as, as we know, to make a hand crafted cocktail doesn't take 30 seconds, wonder if customers will get impatient, we did, but they were great

the food downstairs was also good again, but the service really just doesn't work. there are SO MANY staff (far too many) and they are obviously not being managed well and certainly not trained. They got everyone's order wrong, well the food right but gave it to the wrong people, over and over again, a simple system of writing a seat number on the order makes that virtually impossible

so how come such a great leader upstairs and a poor one downstairs

get it together guys and you can be one of the best experiences in Bangsar

overall worth visiting and certainly for drinks/cocktails

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBJ400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good but”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Paid cash and left a tip after dinner with family but was no "thank you nor good bye" said which left me dissapointed as my family and I had really enjoyed our meal. The owner is unpolite and doesn't smile ever. Management please take note.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inthemood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ril's also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Ril's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing