We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but not great service...”
Review of Arenaa Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenaa Star Hotel
Ranked #197 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Arenaa Star is in a fantastic location with China town in easy walking distance. The hotel itself was very modern, neat and the rooms were very nice. Unfortunately the staff were not so great, in the restaurant after receiving the bill I had to wait 15 minutes for change. Also in the restaurant, despite trying to explain extremely hard, the waiter could not understand we wanted water and tried to say that it was Ramadan and we could not order it! Slightly odd considering the majority of KL welcomed us very nicely during this period.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Standard room was bad as water leaked from the bottom of bathroom door and flooded half of the room first we checked in. Got a free upgrade to twin room but the room had poor lighting. The only thing that's good was staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed in Arenaa Star for a few days in July whilst visiting KL. We booked the hotel a few weeks before our stay, and then were a more than a little nervous after seeing some very poor reviews posted here. However, we didn't encounter any problems at all during our stay- staff were friendly, the room was good, and air con was always functioning!
The hotel is located in the middle of KL, about a 10 minute walk from the central market area. It was near a handful of highly-rated restaurants, and we found it suited the bits that we wanted to do while we were in KL (e.g. visiting the tower).
We stayed in a deluxe double room on the 9th floor with a large corner window. The room was small compared to other hotels, but functioned well- air conditioning was good, the bathroom was excellent, and there were no problems at all with it. The room was cleaned to a high standard every day and the usual free toiletries were available.
Staff at the hotel were friendly, joking with us from when we first arrived. They answered any questions we had, and spoke English well enough for us to communicate with ease. We didn't use the restaurant at the hotel, so cannot comment there.
Overall, we found this hotel very good. Other reviews should definitely be taken into account, but don't necessarily be put off- our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a days stay in this hotel. The way it was described in the website attracted u a lot but reality was different. The moment we reached the hotel there was no one to take our luggage. However we managed to carry the same. In reaching reception we saw couple of Pakistani punjabi guys roaming here and there and there was a local adamend guy in the reception. No greetings !!! On checking in the room I was quite surprised as there were two deeper ate beds where we requested for a queen bed while booking. Our request was declined and the reception fellow asked another 50 RM which we denied paying.
Room description: room was ok but very very small. No windows although we got the stay at 1st floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Makukumar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had stayed in Hotel Arena star Luxury hotel, Kual Lumpur Malasia on 6 July 2014 and room given to us was good but Air Conditioning of the hotel was not working. My family could not sleep whole night due to this. Further, Hotel lobby, lift and lift area was also non AC which makes this hotel not a good choice.

Room Tip: Choose the room near pavilion mall in kaula lumpur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CAANKUSHJAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Let's start from the room. Smelly, dirty, dusty, small. Our safety box was completely broken. We couldn't put any valuable goods inside. The swimming pool is a dirty pond and the gym is dirty and no working. Staff is rude, don't speak English and they don't care at all about the guests hotel. Luxury? Please, let's say crap. Not to say anything about the design of the hotel..horrible. Plus they charged us more money to go to the airport. Bad experience. The only positive is the location.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Alessandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

terrible hotel
this hotel have a lot of possibilities but staff is terrible. dirty hotel. smell and horrible manteinance.
dirty used towels in rooms. used bed sheets in rooms
humidity smell.
fried smell restaurant and horrible buffet breakfast
2 elevators but always 1 not in use
good location but horrible experience...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jose maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.4 mi away
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
StarPoints Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#113 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Geo Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#57 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
863 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lumpur
Hotel Grand Continental Kuala Lu...
#139 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
ibis Styles Kuala Lumpur Fraser Business Park
0.3 mi away
Pacific Express Hotel
Pacific Express Hotel
#86 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
607 reviews
1.0 mi away
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
Q Hotel Kuala Lumpur
#199 of 347 in Kuala Lumpur
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenaa Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenaa Star Hotel

Address: No. 49-51 Jalan Hang Lekiu, Kuala Lumpur 50050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 347 Hotels in Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: £20 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenaa Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Arenaa Star Luxury Hotel Kuala Lumpur - the flagship of Arenaa Hotels Group! Take advantage on a wealth of extravagance and adorn yourself at our 247 guest rooms. Experience the excitement and the best array of hi- tech essential amenities. With a modern baroque interior where tradition is fused with avant-garde decor, each floor captures elements of stardom from entertainment & motion picture scenes. Located at the end of Jalan Hang Lekiu, the hotel is just a 5-minute walk to LRT Masjid Jamek train Station, Pudu Sentral UTC Terminal, Chinatown & Merdeka Square. The hip shopping strip of Bukit Bintang is an easy 5-minute free GoKL public shuttle ride from our doorstep. Conveniently accessible, the hotel is a perfect spot for travellers to explore & discover the city for tours, dining & shopping. Featuring free Wi-Fi access, a modern approach delicatessen and bar, car park, fitness area, meeting facilities and much more, our team is committed to craft a most enriching stay experience. We are delighted to welcome you and serve in fashionable, modern comfortable accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenaa Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing