We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service can be improved”
Review of Wadi Hadramawt

Wadi Hadramawt
Ranked #82 of 4,128 Restaurants in Kuala Lumpur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Where Authentic Yemeni cuisine is served to You with superb hospitality. Our Vision To strive to be the best and to remain unique in our presentation of Yemeni culture.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Good food, service can be improved”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had our lunch for 6 at Wadi today. We prebooked all items via email to save time on ordering. Upon arrival our group was split between 2 floors as the waiters don't really know where our table was reserved. Food arrived erratically. However, their food was excellent. Well prepared, tasty and portions are worth the money we paid. Parking during rush hours can be difficult, otherwise a place worth revisiting for their authentic Yemeni food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    40
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, nice service”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

So this restaurant is a little hard to find, although the sign at the road can't be missed. It's located on a parking of a cars sales joint. The place itself is nice but not spectacular. You can dine outside which is nice on hot evenings, but you'll be sitting next to the car parking, so keep looking inside the restaurant for nicer views. Inside is brightly lit but still cosy.
Plain simple, the food is great. They serve Arabic kitchen. Food is fresh and quickly served. The menu consists of appetizers and mains, but are all served at once (normal for Malaysia). Portions of plates are quite large. We had 2 starters and 2 mains and some bread, which we didn't finish, so we could try some desert also (masoob, which is really filling but of great flavor)
Service is good. Personnel is very nice, though English language skills are limited. For me that adds to the charm tough.
For me highly recommended, our best dinner experience in KL

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This restaurant is "hidden" in a car yard on Jalan Ampang! Make sure you don't miss it as the food is fantastic and the service excellent. I've never eaten Yemeni, but found the food to be beautifully spiced and there was more than enough to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avonleanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Excellent - will definitely go back”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The food was so good, and the prices quite reasonable too! We were glad to get out of the Bukit Bintang hustle for dinner and had no hassles getting a taxi to/from the restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Traditional Yemeni food!”
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

Delicious. I come here at least once a week. If you make it here try the ogda lamb or the fasha. The best flat bread out too. Majed is the friendliest waiter if you are fortunate enough to have him serve you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pipped_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wadi Hadramawt also viewed

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan
 

Been to Wadi Hadramawt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing